We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel In Budapest and Beyond...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel In Budapest and Beyond...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I absolutely love this hotel!

Without a doubt, The Four Seasons Budapest is one of my favorite hotels in the world.

The hotel itself is simply stunning. The location is second to none. And the legendary Four Seasons service is on overdrive at this world-class hotel.

Resting on the East Bank (Pest Side) of the Danube River, this hotel enjoys some of the most iconic views of Budapest. A balcony in my room was a fantastic feature for taking in the Budapest landscape.

The hotel sets a spectacular backdrop of old world Budapest, but brings to the experience the conveniences of today. I will warn you, however, the internet service is pathetic at best if you use a Mac.

I have chosen to overlook the internet connectivity issues because this hotel is so spectacular. I also visited The Corinthia Hotel Budapest (because I wanted to compare the two), and although I am a huge fan of The Corinthia brand (and the Budapest hotel is a true 5 Diamond property), I still would choose to stay at The Four Seasons Budapest based upon location alone.

You will not be disappointed in this hotel.

Excellence At Every Turn....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I am delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. I am so glad that you were fascinated by our beautiful Palace, especially with its location and décor and that you enjoyed this unique combination of historic elegance and modern comfort.

The transformation of this Palace into a Four Seasons Hotel was a tremendous task and the result is truly breathtaking, indeed.

We have also taken good note of your comment regarding the difficulties of using the internet service on a Mac devise at our property. Thank you for bringing this up to our attention and we are looking into it.

We look forward welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    136
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
224
658
66
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Gresham. The location is great for getting around, the staff is very helpful and friendly. The hotel is beautiful and everything you would expect. We had a massage and thought it was very reasonably priced compared to other Four Seasons we had stayed at.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the Danube are beautiful if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I am extremely happy to read you praising words of our hotel’s facilities, services and staff!

I hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace very soon.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel surpassed even our high expectations for a Four Seasons. Our suite with a perfect view of the Chain Bridge was lovely and quite efficient. The staff was excellent! The Restaurant manager, the Concierge, the Front Desk, the housekeepers, bellman - all were friendly and helpful. By the end of our four days, we both commented that this truly was the best hotel experience we have had. Our thanks to Gresham Palace for a very special stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
It is great to learn that you had a truly memorable experience with us and that is mainly owing to our employee’s friendliness and helpfulness. I would like to thank you for your passionate commending words in relation to our staff, I will take a great pride sharing your feedback with all of them, as nothing is more motivating than receiving such acknowledgement of their service passion.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neusiedl am See, Austria
Level Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had been travelling quite a lot in palaces, this is one of the best of all!
Nice, cosy furnisked rooms, great amenties in the nice and large bathroom... everything is there to please. Also well located, it is within walking distance from almost everything.
Expensive? It is. So what? It's a five star palace!

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing the Chain Bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am extremely happy to read you praising words of our hotel’s facilities and services!

We hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace very soon.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My recent stay at the Gresham was fantastic. The hotel is a jewel and the view over the chain bridge is lovely. Staff is Four Seasons, never a no! The room was clean, modern and quiet. I did not have a spa treatment but did use the facilities. They are small but well thought out and there is a small indoor pool. Breakfasts were very good, including an omelette with foie gras which was decadent and delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
It is great to read your comments posted on Tripadvisor public website about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you liked the architecture and the interior designs of the Palace, as well as you were amazed by the view over the Chain bridge.

Thank you also for highlighting our gifted staff, we have long known that they are our most important asset.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed four nights at this hotel, and can say it was one of the most delightful hotels we have ever stayed in. The lobby and common areas are just gorgeous. The room was spacious, the bathroom was large, the bed was comfortable and the amenities were terrific. The staff was outstanding -- the concierge helped us book at number of reservations and tours, and could not have been more pleasant. The location cannot be beat -- walking distance to pretty much any place you would want to go in Pest or in Buda near the river. Definite 5 stars!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your generous feedback. I was delighted to read your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Equally pleasing is your comment about the staff, especially our Concierges, whose friendliness and willingness to assist is an integral component of our guest experience. I will certainly share your praising words with all of them.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Wow , what a beautiful place this is a real palace! Everything was great had a room facing Chain bridge with outdoor space! It felt great looking at the river and across to Buda! Service is what I come to expect from these type of hotels and everybody was with smiles! I visited a few other chain hotels that had casinos , like the inter-cont. and you see the difference , you know why you are spending the extra cash! Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your generous remark regarding the facilities and services at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you felt that you have received a good value for your money in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,860 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.