We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 328 Hotels in Budapest
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We went to the four seasons in Milan, Lanai, Los Angeles and now Budapest, it is as usual a great moment in our vacations.
This time in Budapest we stayed 4 nights, and for the first time we did not have to "check in" but were directly taken to our rooms, (connecting). The two beds room was bigger than ours, but we spent most of our time outside visiting the town or at the spa, so it was no big deal. The service is always perfect, the breakfast great, included in the room price, and frankly, 350 euros a night for that kind of luxury is nothing!
The spa is very nice, quiet, and the service is also perfect. Fresh and hot drinks, special pool shoes and robe, the sauna is big, and there is music in the pool! The children were amazed!
We used the concierge service quite a lot, getting lots of good advice most of the time. Just one place was not what we were looking for, music and food wise, but I guess it happens sometimes!
We also organized a "shuttle" from and to the airport, and it saved some time.
We will go back anytime!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
I would like to thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I was delighted to read that you and your family had a great time at our Hotel. I really appreciate your kind words about the high level of service and the quality of our breakfast offerings, I am very happy that you enjoyed our Spa as well. However, I was concerned to learn that one of our outside restaurant recommendations did not fully meet your expectations, please do not hesitate to contact me personally with further details of your experience at yves.giacometti@fourseasons.com, if you would like us to follow up on that matter.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace in the future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    99
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
159
488
52
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Budapest is a wonderful city and our visit was made that much more memorable by a stay at this fabulous hotel. It's in a great, central location and is one of the most beautiful buildings in the city. The room was wonderfully appointed and the bathroom was especially deluxe. It's classic luxury, but the Ipod docking station was a nice, modern touch. My husband used the spa and said it was fantastic. The breakfast at the ground floor restaurant offered everything one could hope for...and more! The baked goods were some of the best we had in our whole stay in Eastern Europe. If you can get included in your stay, do it! The concierge totally "got" what we were about and what we wanted in restaurants and steered us in the right direction.
High marks for the Gresham Palace!!

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the Danube, do it, although you may pay a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
I was impressed by your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. It was great to read that you appreciated the location and the architecture of the Palace. Thank you also for mentioning your delightful dining experience in Gresham Restaurant, the personalized services of our Concierge as well as your husband’s enjoyable visit to the Spa. It will be a great pleasure to share your kind remarks with the staff.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the Four Seasons for 4 nights. What a wonderful experience. We upgraded to a room with a view of the Danube, Capital District, and Fishermans Bastion. The Buda side is lit beautifully at night - gorgeous view - we were glad we upgraded so we could enjoy it every evening. The service at the Four Seasons is wonderful. The breakfast waiters knew our name, our choice of beverage, etc. We spent our last morning calculating if we afford to just move in and live there. It was fantastic.

We used the concierge to plan our excursions - TIP - If you want a guide, say you don't want a car. Our guides, provided by the hotel, had us use their own vehicles for touring. We paid the guides directly and in cash - but we saved the 50 euro/hour the hotel wanted to charge us for the use of a hotel car. In terms of restaurants, we wanted updated Hungarian - the concierge found us wonderful places each time.

We are not spa users - so we did not use the spa.

Wonderful hotel. You will love this hotel.

Room Tip: Consider an upgrade to a room with a view of the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
I would like to thank you for your generous feedback regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I am extremely happy that you were fond of the magnificent view from your room and that you thoroughly enjoyed all that Budapest and the Four Seasons has to offer. Thank you very much for pointing out the caring service you received in our restaurant and the fine recommendations of our Concierge that were spot-on.

I truly hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Truly amazing hotel. Service, rooms, staff, food, location, everything. I can't think of a way this hotel could disappoint.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have excellent view on the chain bridge over the river Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
I would like to thank you for your generous feedback regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I am glad that you found the hotel and the service to be amazing.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

For a city hotel, this is the simply the best. Not only does this hotel offer great service, but does so in the most unique historical building. Of course, the view can't be beat either. Budapest is such a interesting city to explore and having the 4 Seasons as your home base only enhances the experience. The area around the hotel is great to walk around as well with wonderful shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace in May 2011. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time spent in Budapest and the Four Seasons.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I've just returned from an extensive business trip in Budapest.

We used the Gresham Palace to host an event, which included colleagues, media associates and business partners.

Firstly, the hotel is stunning. Second, the service was exemplary - from friendly welcomes to each and every part of the hotel, to the response times, to the efficiency - first class and a pleasure to experience.

The quality of the food was excellent. But if you're in a fish and chips or pizza mood.....this isn't the place - go out, there's no shortage of good eating and drinking houses.

Directly opposite one of the bridges over the Danube, the hotel is ideally positioned for exploring the surrounding areas, whether it be the city or easy access to the old town via the funicular railway on the opposite bank.

A wonderful experience, and in relation to the countless hotels I've used over the years, this one is listed high in my top ten.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
I was extremely happy to read your feedback regarding your event recently hosted by Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I am glad that we managed to contribute to the success of the event and that you enjoyed all our Hotel and Budapest has to offer. Thank you for pointing out the excellent location, the high level of service and the quality of the food provided, I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with the staff.

I hope that you will choose the Gresham Palace again for hosting your events in the future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Four Seasons is exceptionally well located near the Chain Bridge with magnificent views. The staff is extremely friendly and the palace is restored in its old glory.
ROOMS : the Danube at your feet and viewings of the hills of Buda : wow

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Danube are worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace last year. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed the magnificent views from the Hotel and that you were pleased with the high level of service provided by our staff.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#1 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.