We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Day Brunch - fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Brunch - fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011 via mobile

We did not stay at the Four Seasons, but we ate an INCREDIBlE Christmas Day Brunch here.

The hotel is in a fantastic central location and is in a great spot to get to all sights.

The lobby is gorgeous and grand with a beautifully decorated Christmas tree.

For 16,000 Ft or 50 euros we enjoyed the most amazing brunch.

We arrived at the start, 11am and stayed the full 4 hours until 3pm.
We had an excellent table by the window with a view of the river.

There was an abundance of beautiful food. Meats, seafood, soups, eggs, omelets and the list goes on.
Unlimited soft drink, fresh oj, champagne were all included in the set price.
A kids corner and Santa were good entertainment too.
There was a very good brass band who played the entirety of the day.

The staff did a great job and our waiter went above and beyond to accommodate for our needs.

We couldn't recommend the brunch more highly for you special Christmas day meal.

**we ate at the Intercontinental buffet Christmas Eve dinner the night before for 30euros each and were very disappointed. Don't waist your time there - spend the extra and get amazing here!**

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
I would like to thank you for sharing your generous feedback on Tripadvisor regarding the Christmas Day Brunch at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace.
I was extremely happy to read that you were fully satisfied with the brunch and that you found the food to be beautiful and the staff accommodating.
There is nothing more motivating than to read feedback like yours, I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with Mr. Andrea Colla, Assistant Director of Food & Beverage and the rest of the team.

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    103
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
163
495
53
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We checked into the Gresham and were immediately impressed with the lobby and the staff.
Our room was large and most comfortable. But we were overwhelmed with our view over the Rhine looking straight on to the Chain Bridge..

The Location, the service and the lovely bar makes Gresham Palace woth a trip tp Budapest.

Room Tip: Ask for view over the Rhine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
I would like to thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest in October, 2011. We were delighted to read that you were pleased with the facilities, the service and the prime location of our Hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace in the future.
Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

It is a beautiful hotel, ideally located with excellent food and an even better Concierge staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your remark regarding your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace in November, 2011. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food and the services provided by our Concierge staff outstanding.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the Gresham Palace as part of 25th wedding anniversary trip including orient express. Excellent location next to the chain bridge, the view of the hotel from the other side of the bridge is spectacular. The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated, staff very attentive, the meal we had in the restaurant was delicious, all round I would say worth spending out for the luxury.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace this June. We appreciate that you gave us the opportunity to contribute to your 25th anniversary celebrations. I was delighted to see that you were pleased with our facilities and services; particularly your room, your restaurant experience and the service provided by our staff, I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with them.
Kindest regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This was a very special trip - 30th anniversary - so we wanted the best. The service was exceptional from start to finish. 5th floor rooms have a tiny balcony that affords a view of the Buda castle which is directly across the river from hotel. A superb location - stunning food in the restaurant, staff as friendly helpful and courteous as I have ever experienced. This has to be just the best hotel in Budapest on every level - location, restaurant, service, spa everything. Four seasons quality all over. Thank you to all the staff we had a very special 5-day stay. Oh and the bed was the most comfortable and sumptuous - a delight!

Room Tip: Everyone still smokes in Budapest - so they currently have smoking rooms - it changes next year. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
I would like to thank you for your generous feedback regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest. I was delighted to read that we managed to contribute to your happiness on your 30th anniversary. I am glad that you were pleased with the Hotel location, your dining experience and the staff that you found friendly, helpful and courteous. There is nothing more motivating to us than to read comments like yours, I will take great pleasure in sharing your kind words with all of our employees.

Kindest regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

After 4 nights at the Gresham, I struggled with what rating to give to my review. As beautiful and centrally located as it is - and yes, the staff has been amazing, I really was disappointed by the overall "value" that this Four Seasons provided. Maybe I am spoiled by the Penn and the Park Hyatt, but I was simply not that impressed - disappointed is the best word that I can use especially given the raving reviews on TripAdvisor. To be fair, let me begin with the "good" which have been stated many times on TripAdvisor:
1. The building is simply amazing. Lovely design, looks dead-center at the chain bridge and centrally located.
2. Service is what one expects of the Four Seasons....outstanding
3. Restaurant food is atually very good (we ate there 3 nights) - prices are not cheapt however we felt it to be an overall good experience (and easy and not so heavy as much of the local fare).
4. Spa facilities are wonderful
5. View from the river facing rooms are great - HOWEVER - if you are sound sensitive, you can hear the street traffic especially on the lower floors (we actually moved from the 4th floor view room to an inside room as the street sound was too much for us).

The "not so great";
1. Our room (£400/NIGHT) was about 350 sf;
2. Our TV was the size of a computer monitor
3. THE ROOM was a basic "box" room with plain walls
4. Internet access was about £12/day every day.....
5. As is typical in most hotels that we visit, there is usually a coffee maker in-room and/or tea service in the lobby....nothing at Greshem.
6. Turn down had no treat - no chocolate or anything
7. Bathroom shampoo/soap -- nothing special

Although these items may seem insignificant, when I pay top prices and I stay at a Four Seasons, I tend to expect all the "extras". When they are lacking or missing -- it does get noticed!

My suggestion is to stay in a standard room.....don't pay the higher prices for a room with a view (as the windows are small and the street is loud).......or maybe consider a small hotel - which is likely what we will do next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace for your recent visit to Budapest. I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to share your experience and your general impression of our Hotel in detail. We understand your time is valuable and it means a lot to us when our guests provide us with feedback.
I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel building amazing and that you were pleased with your dining experience as well as the Spa. Thank you for mentioning that you received outstanding service from our staff. I was concerned to learn that your room with a Danube view did not provide the peaceful relaxation that you were looking for. Unfortunately, we were facing some challenges during the renovations of this historical building. Restrictions applied to any modification of the original features and spaces, however the graceful result usually compensates for the few shortcomings in the eyes of most of our guests. I am truly sorry that you did not feel that you were getting the right value for your money. Our goal is to ensure that each one of our guests leaves with a feeling of satisfaction from their visit; we failed to meet your expectations and for that I do apologize. You may rest assured that your comments regarding the size of the television, the cost of the internet use and the amenities were well noted and that these areas will be carefully examined, as your comments offer us a valuable opportunity to monitor and continually improve our facilities and services.
Thank you again for your feedback and I sincerely hope that you will grant us another opportunity to welcome you back to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace should you travel to Budapest any time in the future.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here two nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a spectacular building and rooms are very comfortable. Beds perfect, luxurious bathroom amenities. Only issue for us was our room was FAR away from elevator. My wifebhas bad knee so this was a little tough. Restaurant manager was outstanding, with personalized recommendations. A great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room near elevators - this will most likely put you in the front of hotel. (view outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest. I was glad to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and that you found your room to be very comfortable and the staff excellent. However, I was concerned to read that because your room was far from the elevator, your wife had to experience difficulties due to her bad knee. Please do not hesitate to notify me personally at yves.giacometti@fourseasons.com should the condition of your wife’s knee be a long-lasting one so we can note this fact and allocate the most convenient room possible for you and your wife in the future.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#1 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.