We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard-core communist history fans may find worth the trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Memento Park

Memento Park
Balatoni ut - Szabadkai utca sarok, Magyarorszag, Budapest 1223, Hungary
1 424 7500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$47*
and up
Private Walking Tour: Budapest Communist History...
Ranked #117 of 422 things to do in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The final resting place for fallen Communist statues, including those of Lenin, Marx and Engels, plus memorial plaques that were removed after the downfall of the Communist regime.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hard-core communist history fans may find worth the trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recommend for those hard-core communist history fans. I would not recommend the park, especially to those with small kids. It is off the beaten path and the facilities and information on the monuments is minimal.
Over all I found it disappointing. There is no historic information or explanations on any of the monuments - just name and year. In order to get any detail history, you have to buy the printed guide or take the paid tour. The tour is OK, but you will only get a fraction of the info on some of the major monuments. Our guide was all over the park and only talked about a few of the larger monuments. In my opinion there was no order to the tour and we jumped around the Park.
The least expensive way to get there is via public transportation. We followed Rick Steves’ recommendations and took the 47 Tram to the 150 bus. (FYI – When you get off the Tram, go to the bus stop near the Penguin Bar on the North side of the intersection) It only took about 45 - 55 minutes each way.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MementoPark, Manager at Memento Park, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Dan L

Thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor, we regret to hear that your time spent at Memento Park did not meet your expectations.
Information provided by the park can be found in the barrack through the photo exhibition as well as a film that most our visitors enjoy a lot.
Our guides unfortunately do not have the chance to talk about all 42 memorials around the park so they normally pick the most interesting and largest ones within the 50 mins long guided tour.
Also thank you for recommending a route to others, just to mention the 150 bus is available from Allee shopping centre (final stop on the number 4 tram) but like you said it does have a stop at Kosztolanyi Dezso ter too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    194
    102
    55
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very interesting, but expensive for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

If you like learning about the history of a place or find communism in general interesting, you'll love memento park! If you don't, don't bother going!

The statues are great, most of them are huge and really overbaring, and I can imagine they were very intimidating in their original placements! It's also great fun mimicking the statues poses and taking pics! However, there is very little info on the plaques next to the statues, meaning you have to either purchase a guidebook for 1500 huf (around £5) or take a live guided tour for 1200 huf (around £4), which we felt was a bit much, especially when we'd just paid 3500 huf (around £11.50) each for a student ticket (a normal adult ticket and bus price is 4500 huf) for the bus to the park and the entry ticket. So it's a shame the park want more money out of you to learn more about what you've just paid to go and see anyway! But, having said that, the park is great with quite an eerie, sombre atmosphere.

The hut with the exhibition in it was also very good, but we didn't get to see it properly as the bus was leaving early, which I didn't think was great either, as we'd been told 1 and it left the park at about 12:45, due to it being cold! :-/

Go here if you want to learn about hungary's communist era, don't go just for a jolly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MementoPark, Manager at Memento Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear swish2k

Thank you for your positive feedback we appreciate that you took your time and shared your thoughts with others.
Regarding the bus return time to the city, due to the cold weather recently we have made our direct bus available to be board 15 minutes prior departure. You may have got the impression that the bus is leaving early because some passengers preferred waiting on the warmer bus but we do in fact encourage people to take their time and enjoy the park until the 1pm return time.
We do hope that we can welcome you back again soon perhaps on a sunny, more pleasant day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Take the time to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

While I had my expectations of the place, I was still positively surprised. Did not take the tour, but bought the little guide-book (and actually read it while going through the park) and I think it was interesting and added to the experience.
The communist hotline phone was also great.

I liked the fact that the park didn't feel like tourist commie kitch thingy, but it wasn't anti propaganda either. I thought it was very well and thoughtfully put together showing piece of Hungarian (and European) history in an interesting way.

Took the no. 150 bus there and would definitely recommend taking the regular bus and seeing some interesting neighbourhoods on the way. If you are nervous about taking the bus, bkv.hu has a very good website (in English as well), where you can check the route and stops on a map and even print it if you'd like.

If you have the time go see this park.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Whilst there is a bus that goes to the park (it's a fair way out of town) we found it quicker and not very expensive to take a taxi (HUF3500 each way). The park displays a lot of the old communist statues that have been removed from the centre of Budapest and are quite impressive. The park is not very big and you can see everything comfortably in an hour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to get to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Only accessible using the transport system. It can be a trek with no signage to say say you have arrived. However it is well worth the time to visit it. Statues of Lenin, Marx and Stalin and Soviet statues commemerating their 'greatness'.

There is also a small auditorium on sote showing training videos from the AVH the Communist secret police

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MementoPark, Manager at Memento Park, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear VishantP

Thank you for your rating and sharing your positive experience with others.
We normally suggest people to take the number 150 BKV bus from Allee shopping centre towards Memento Park there is a speaker that indicates when the bus reaches Memento Park stop.
And there are other ways to get to us for example our direct bus from the city centre,
We are still happy that you found your way to us and enjoyed your time at the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Memento Park also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Memento Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memento Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.