We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vorosmarty Square (Vorosmarty ter)

Vorosmarty Square (Vorosmarty ter)
Vorosmarty ter, Budapest, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$73*
and up
Budapest Segway Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #69 of 424 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Budapest's most upscale areas offers fashionable shops and numerous cafes and restaurants serving Hungarian and international cuisine.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A nice little square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a nice little square which marks the start of Vaci Ucta. There is the usual touristy places on the square but the only place that stands out is Gerbaud. Be warned this pastry house is expensive but still worth a try and then compare as you find cheaper places on your wanderings. There isn't a lot more to do here other than sitting on the statue steps and watch people go by.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    117
    40
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Budapest is such a wonderful city with so much to see... don't spend more than a passing moment in this square. Its full of overpriced mediocre restaurants and chain stores. If you want to experience the real Budapest, head to any of the surrounding districts ( I personally love the feel of the 7th district/ Jewish quarter)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
512 reviews
368 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Busiest Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Their famous pastry shop- Gerbaud House- whose yummy delights have thrilled my wife, owned by a Swiss family, this place boasting with their luxury stores, antique shops. Take a rest and photo shoots a minute or two in the monument of Vorosmarty sorrounded by people from all walks of life.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“full of life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a very touristy area so cafes etc are overpriced, (Hard Rock cafe is here but most eat outside so without the 'rock' experience) but there is a good atmosphere and it's fun to eat an ice cream and watch the world go by. In the evening there are sellers of little helicopter-like toys that are pinged high into the air with a rubber band that descend with bright LED lights: if you say 'no thank you' they do not pester you. My son wanted to go on the bicycle rickshaw ride so we promised him he could as his final treat: knowing what a short trip you get in London and how expensive it can be. My husband stayed in the square to lesson the load and I was very pleasantly surprised. It cost about £15 for the 2 of us and we were taken on a 40 minute tour to the market hall, main synagogue, alonga bit of the river, across the front of the National Museum etc, weaving down narrow alleys, with a running commentary from our cyclist. It was informative and good fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strombeek-Bever, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This square is great for everyone who wants to experience a hungarian vibe! there are a lot of stands that sell local products at a very fair price and when we went there in july there were small concerts every evening (mainly jazz music) very nice to relax after a day of visiting the city!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vorosmarty Square (Vorosmarty ter) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Vorosmarty Square (Vorosmarty ter)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vorosmarty Square (Vorosmarty ter), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.