We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika)

St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika)
| Pest, Budapest 1000, Hungary
1-317-2859
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Budapest City Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built between 1851 and 1905, this large parish church accommodates 8,500 people and features a magnificent 300-foot, neo-Renaissance dome.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stupendous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful piece of architecture and close to my hotel. We walked by it twice every day and enjoyed the basilica as well as the square around it - a beehive of activity with people milling around, musicians in the evenings, a wedding on Saturday, lots of open air restaurants - a great atmosphere

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,512
    1,333
    275
    42
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Magnificent Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A must see. Right in the heart of Pest. Knowing that St. Stephens' finger is in a box and seeing pictures of it is a bit spooky.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Calm & Peaceful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited on a Saturday and a wedding was happening in the church and thus the main section of the Church was cordoned off. We could see from the Aisles only.
The Church is a beautiful piece of architecture and history.
The painted glasses are beautiful and so the all the are sculptures are gorgeous. The ceiling is also very very beautifully painted as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Coming from an Atheist who loves to visit the classical European churches, this is one not to be missed. What was even more amazing was that we unknowingly stopped by during mass and there were singing. It was pretty special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A must see church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

St. Stephen's is a must see attraction when visiting Budapest, and we wandered in here on the last day we were in town. As far as churches go, and we were in many on this trip, St. Stephen's is a little different from an architectural standpoint. Most churches have long aisles, this one is squarish. The ceiling ornamentation is beautiful and it's definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika) also viewed

 

Been to St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.