We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parliament (Orszaghaz)

Parliament (Orszaghaz)
1055 Budapest Kossuth Lajos Ter 1-3, Magyarorszag, Budapest 1055, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
36 1 441 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$55*
and up
Small-Group Budapest History Walking Tour...
Ranked #10 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
Type: Architectural Buildings, Government Buildings, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The domed neo-Gothic structre was inspired by the British House of Parliament and serves as both a vibrant government center and a proud city landmark on the banks of the Danube.
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

While it is the third largest parliament, I was not as impressed as I hoped I would be. The tour was a lot of money for just 30 minutes and three rooms. You start through the grand staircase (nice) and then see the crown jewels (no pictures). You move into one more room, then see where they hold sessions. I would have liked to see a bit more. It is not the nicest parliament I have been in.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,248
    1,354
    377
    89
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Desperate to see this building, unfortunately good not get near as the outdoor area is being re-paved - very disappointing

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Magnificent building inside and out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The parliament building is in my opinion the showpiece of Budapest architecture (along with the inside of St Stephens). We took a English guided tour and were duly impressed with the inside of the building, it's magnificence and grandeur from carpets, steps, marble columns, domes, hallways, cigar holders, parliament sitting room and size. Only downside is that the tour is quite short (less than 45 minutes) and the cost relatively quite steep (3500F) and access is limited to the northern end of the building although both sides are mirror images.

Pretty spectacular.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Awesome building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I just love this building!!! The architecture is amazing! This building is a must see if you're in Budapest. I took a guided tour and would highly recommend this so you can get the historical infos. Wow!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“parliament”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

again fantastic architechture and looks even more fantastic when lit up in the evening.building kept very clean and of course very interesting history

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parliament (Orszaghaz) also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Parliament (Orszaghaz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parliament (Orszaghaz), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.