We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Ethnography (Neprajzi Muzeum)

Museum of Ethnography (Neprajzi Muzeum)
Kossuth Lajos ter 12, Budapest 1055, Hungary
1 4732400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$20*
and up
Ranked #57 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This elegant building, with marble staircases and spacious galleries, serves as a museum focusing on the way of life, culture and art of the Hungarian peasantry.
New York City, New York, Usa
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“An Amazing Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This museum was an absolute treasure trove. I went back two days in a row because the exhibits of life in Hungary, both in the villages and city life, through the ages were so well done. I feel a tourist can only begin to understand a country if one understands the history of how the people lived. The museum does a fabulous job of bringing this to life. The exhibits include national costumes, farming, city life, childhood, religious ceremonies,and
weaving and crafts. They are very well presented. The museum has a really lovely gift shop with some (I wish there had been more) crafts by Hungarian crafts people, along with great postcards, and books. There is a tiny basement café with a limited menu. There is also a inter-active map at the entrance which helps one find all the exhibits.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful building... Interesting culture ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Although lacking English translation in places I thought it was well worth the visit. As i prepared to climb the stairs to the 1st floor a harmonious sound echoed through the building. It was a group of children playing recorders and performing a small play. I stood at the top of the stairs for the full performance. It was charming and the acoustics in the building fabulous. The stained glass windows are simple but lovely and the interior architecture well worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“very interesting and the interior of building is worth looking at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I love national costumes and there were plenty to see here. The building is huge with lots of closed doors but still plenty to enjoy, although we did not see anyone working there except the odd patrolling security guard.

it is cheap to go in 1000forint or 1400 if you want to see it all, but to be honest nobody checks what you visit so just pay the lowest price. There are loads of free loos around the building so do not be tempted to pay for the one by the ticket office.

The shop is limited and disappointing as I had hoped to get a book on the costumes etc but nothing was in English. Quite a lot of information around the museum is in English. There was a very interesting video which lasted over an hour but there was only one stool to sit on and the sound was on a low volume and in Hungarian. I did not mind as it showed loads of costumes and how they were made and it showed the very long and delicate process of the people getting dressed in the various layers.

The museum has a sweet coffee shop which is well priced and has some nice cakes too.

We spent over two hours inside the museum but it depends on how interested you are in costumes and different ways of life as to how long you need in this museum.

Oh you need to put your bags in a locker for 100 forint but you get it back when you get your things out.

Well worth the entry fee.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linesville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“THIS is worth the time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a great experience. The Museum of Ethnography sums up centuries of Hungarian/Slovak culture, dress, and customs. The added bonus was the "neighbor's exhibit" of Croatian folk culture. Right across from Parliament, don't miss it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“A little bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Don't bother going into the exhibition, unless you have a massive interest into Hungarian agricultural history. However, the the main hall is a must see and you can pay about 300 huf to just see this.

The permanent exhibition was good, but the temporary exhibition about a Hungarian film maker did not have translations, so we could get any value from it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Ethnography (Neprajzi Muzeum) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Ethnography (Neprajzi Muzeum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Ethnography (Neprajzi Muzeum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.