We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very worthwhile visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Ethnography (Neprajzi Muzeum)

Museum of Ethnography (Neprajzi Muzeum)
Kossuth Lajos ter 12, Budapest 1055, Hungary
1 4732400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$20*
and up
Ranked #57 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This elegant building, with marble staircases and spacious galleries, serves as a museum focusing on the way of life, culture and art of the Hungarian peasantry.
Ireland
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
279 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was another marvellous excursion, to a great museum situated in the lovely multi-style building. The richly ornate decoration of the great Grand Hall, where concerts take place, and of the sweeping staircase is most impressive.

There is a vast rich range of exhibits that vividly illustrate Hungarian rural life from pre-history to modern times. We found the marvellous artefacts and exhibits of Farm Life, such as haymaking, rakes & other implements and butter making particularly evocative. On the Sunday we were there, only a small number of visitors were present, which was great, allowing us to move unhurriedly along the displays.

We also strolled around the temporary exhibitions on the second floor, which were quite engaging.

We recommend this widespread and fascinating museum as a as a great portrayal of a country’s social development.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This photo shows the Opera house not he Neprajzi Muzeum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The photo shows the Hungarian State Opera house, which is 5 star not only 4. I rated 4 star the Neprajzi múzeum not the Opera house.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An under-the-radar museum in an over-the-top building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I'm glad we stopped here early in our visit to establish a sense of the history of the country. The displays were interesting, but sometimes a bit confusing -- the English translations are a little sparse at times. Just getting to the display is a little confusing, because the building is so large (and amazing) it is easy to miss the directions. Your ticket gives you the wi-fi password, but service is spotty. Duck into the little cafe on your way out to grab a reasonably priced beverage.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We did not research this museum before going and just took our chances. We were both so pleased. This museum was extremely interesting. It told the story of the history of Hungary through cultural pieces that range from birth to death in the life of Hungarians. The knowledge gained from this museum enhanced the rest of our visit in Budapest. We saw evidence throughout the city and were able to see the city with more knowledge of what we were looking at. I wish we would have gone here at the beginning of our visit instead of near the end. I highly recommend the Neprajzi Muzeum.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Smoky peasant huts in an opulent building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Smoky peasant huts in an opulent building

Come here to learn how the peasantry evolved from tiny villages to communities to small towns and how they dressed, lived, worked and played. Filled full of recreated homes and work sites, the costumes are authentic and you can almost smell the wood smoke that filled their huts. Most of the exhibits have informative English postings. But perhaps the real “star” of this museum is the building itself. With massive marble Corinthian columns, decorated ceilings and floors, light fixtures that sparkle and staircases to walk it looks like an over the top renaissance palace. We spent hours wandering about the exhibits and breathing in the architecture. And we literally had the place to ourselves---seriously. It also has a small café and clean bathrooms!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Ethnography (Neprajzi Muzeum) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Ethnography (Neprajzi Muzeum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Ethnography (Neprajzi Muzeum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.