We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing inside outside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)

Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)
Andrassy ut 22, Budapest VI, Hungary
1-331-2550, 1-332-8197
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$36*
and up
Budapest Tour with Optional Danube River Cruise
Ranked #13 of 405 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This magnificent new-Renaissance style structure, completed in 1884 and modeled after the Vienna Opera House, is home to both the State Opera and the State Ballet.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing inside outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This building make you to say waooooo the artistic value very high,very we'll maintain beautiful paints statues unic in this category. Who ever have chance should go to visit this memorable building

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,922
    797
    152
    37
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We went to see The Flying Dutchman.....wouldn't see it again but it was nice to see the opera house.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I visited during our wedding anniversary trip, and bought tickets (online a few weeks before) for Erkel's "Bank Ban." The building is magnificent, our only complaint being that as we only had cheap seats we didn't get to walk up the grand staircase! The view from our seats was good, despite them being the cheapest opera seats I have ever purchased, and the auditorium was opulent to say the least. The performance itself was excellent, the music and singing of top quality, and the English surtitles kept up with the performance and were much better spelled than those used by the BBC! I'd recommend a visit here to any opera lover.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

A free tour is held every day at 3pm and 4pm; a great way to get some extra info and trivia. Be warned though,they charge you extra to be able to take photos in the building. Which is extremely silly in my opinion.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Very Special Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We are not opera buffs, but decided we could either take a tour of The State Opera House, or alternatively actually attend a performance and soak up the atmosphere. There are guided tours between 3 and 4 o'clock we believe, but we chose to enjoy a performance at the State Opera House. Firstly, the building will not disappoint, even externally the decoration is truly magnificent and the interior of the building is most certainly worth a visit. Sitting inside our gilded box on the fourth level we had an excellent view of the stage although we felt sorry for the three people who sat behind us as their view must have been quite restricted. All the seats are allocated, so perhaps they paid less than we had done for our front seats. Before the performance we simply marvelled at the beauty of this fabulous building, our camera never stopped clicking. During the performance photography is not allowed! The performance of "The Flying Dutchman" was well received and the total experience was one we will treasure. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the seats are somewhat uncomfortable, but we felt the experience was well worth both the reasonable cost and the temporary discomfort.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz) also viewed

 

Been to Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.