We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)

Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)
Andrassy ut 22, Budapest VI, Hungary
1-331-2550, 1-332-8197
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 255 attractions in Budapest
Type: Operas, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This magnificent new-Renaissance style structure, completed in 1884 and modeled after the Vienna Opera House, is home to both the State Opera and the State Ballet.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You can't expect nothing special if you compare this opera house with other cities' opera houses, like all in Hungary are written in Magyar so you are really lost because nobody will help you.-

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,345
    575
    105
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frieth, Oxon. UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An artistic treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited the opera to see a performance of Ariadne auf Naxos (booked tickets from home before our holiday).

Splendid House, richly addorned and a pleasure to visit. Ticket prices SO cheap - the Hungarians seem happy to subsidise the arts - and an exceptional performance.

Particularly impressive was the dual language concert programme - a tome in Magyar and English - which would be the envy of many an opera house. All for £2.50

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful and a must see for Budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A beautiful site, elaborate furnishings. Certainly worth the time to visit inside. But if you're planning to catch a show there, then I would skip the tour. Didn't find the tour all that interesting and nothing that was said that cannot be read online. We did the tour to get an inside peak. Opera ticket prices also seem be a much better value than Vienna, at a much nicer setting. But I didn't actually catch a show so can't vouch for the show itself.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“spectacular building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

well worth a visit. you pay to go inside but even if you don't it is worth poking your head in the front heavy doors just to see the foyer. remarkable building

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Guided tours are twice a day at 3 and 4 pm. A very impressive building inside and a friend told me it was more impressive than the one in Milan. We purchased our tickets at the hotel, so we were unaware that you have to pay extra to take photos ( you are given,a wrist band) or to listen to the small recital ( another,wrist band ) Tours are in many languages and often you have to wait to the group in front has finished but considering the large groups there was little noise from each of them. I am glad I did it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz) also viewed

 

Been to Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz) to your Saves list