We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a gem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)

Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)
Andrassy ut 22, Budapest VI, Hungary
1-331-2550, 1-332-8197
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 281 Attractions in Budapest
Type: Operas, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This magnificent new-Renaissance style structure, completed in 1884 and modeled after the Vienna Opera House, is home to both the State Opera and the State Ballet.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“This is a gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The opera house looks like a miniature of others in Europe: lots of gold trim, ornate chandeliers, painted ceiling. Madame Butterfly was beautifully sung, although the staging was perhaps excessively simple and plain. The reason for four stars rather than five is that the seats are a little too hard and cramped for comfort.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,428
    612
    113
    31
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We saw a couple of months ago that Madame Butterfly would be on whilst we were in Budapest, and looked at on-line booking and saw plenty of seats available. Decided to wait until we arrived before buying tickets, but then took another look just 3 days before we left home and, panic stations, saw only a handful of seats left. So we booked online (self printed ticket) for the huge sum of 500HUF each (my credit card has been charged €3.40 in total!!) At that price we were expecting a large pillar in front of us, but at least it wouldn't affect hearing the opera.

We had to enter through a side door, and climb seemingly endless flights of stone steps (rather austere in fact) before reaching a bar area and entry into the auditorium itself.

Wow! - such a contrast to the stairway,so breathtaking with gold decorations everywhere.

We were on the top circle and our seats were on the top row to the side. No pillar obscuring the view, but we could only see a third of the stage or just over half if we stood up. There were however large Video screens either side of the stage.

A thoroughly enjoyable performance and experience all for less than £3!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Specil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have never taken in opera in the past. I don't know that I will again. But the opera house is something so fantastic, it was worth the visit just for the experience. Opera in Italian with Hungarian written banner. But we loved it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“It worths a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was amazed by the surrounding of the Opera.It was big,it had a lot of gold :) It really worths going there and watching a performance.I watched "Madama Butterfly"!The ticket is very cheap.I paid 1300 HUF,about 5euros and I could see very good from my seat!

About Budapest,you can also read my critics about the Bo18 Hotel Superior and the Museum of Ethnography.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Saw the ballet here.It was such good value.£23 each.Fantastic night.Beautiful surroundings and the performance was superb.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz) also viewed

 

Been to Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.