We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)
Andrassy ut 22, Budapest VI, Hungary
1-331-2550, 1-332-8197
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$821*
and up
6-Night Independent Rail Experience: Prague...
Ranked #13 of 424 things to do in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This magnificent new-Renaissance style structure, completed in 1884 and modeled after the Vienna Opera House, is home to both the State Opera and the State Ballet.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Beautiful theatre - great orchestra. Booked affordable stalls seats for Tosca the day before the performance. Highly reccomended

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,149
    911
    187
    43
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went to see Onegin (ballet) during our weekend here.

Wow, what can I say? The building is stunning! We got great seats for a fraction of a London price. The bar was beautiful and we could go out on to the balcony in our intervals.

A truly enjoyable experience!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We saw Romeo & Juliet - definitely the highlight of our trip! During the interval you can enjoy your drink on the roof terrace overlooking Andrassy Utca :-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Toska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We was in Opera for "Toska", Opera building is fantastic and spectacle was very nice and professional. We use e-tickets wich I buy 2 weeks before owr visit. Keep in mind that good tickets needs to take 3-4 weeks before show, I can take just balcony (no problem with view and sound).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The opera house is one of the only original buildings still standing in its entirety after the Second World War, and thank goodness it is.
Friends had suggested I take the tour as it wasn't very long (they advised not bothering with the short opera performance afterwards, but that was never even offered as an option!) and it was a truly beautiful building.
The guides are very informative, and having some lovely anecdotes, but the opera house itself is definitely the star. The only thing I would suggest is that you take as many photos as possible, as you won't revisit any of the locations (definitely make the most of the main auditorium, as it is stunning)
Hopefully you'll be as lucky as I was to see them fitting and teching pieces for one of their performances.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz) also viewed

 

Been to Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.