We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden treasury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest History Museum (Budapesti Toreneti Muzeum)

Budapest History Museum (Budapesti Toreneti Muzeum)
Szt. Gyorgy ter 2 | Royal Palace "E" building, Budapest, Hungary (Várkerület)
1 3757533
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$20*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #122 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Permanent collections at this prestigious museum include the Medieval Royal Palace of the Buda Castle, Budapest In the Middle Ages and Gothic Sculptures from the Royal Palace of Buda.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“hidden treasury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It is a very nice museum in my opinion, for a tourist interested in history (in this case, budapest history - this covers the local history since roman empire up to the communist days). This is comparable to the good museums I ever visited, with many rooms/floors and many things with good labels and audioguides to learn about. Located at the famous "budapest palace".

The funny thing (and weird one) is that, neither my tour company's guide nor our budapest local tour guide knew about this museum! I knew about, because I have one of those famous tourism books that I bought in Brazil (my homeland), so me and my wife went alone to this museum.
Otherwise, I would never visit that.

Due to this lack of guide's information about it, I thought I would get there and see something small and deteriorated. But I was glad it is the opposite.

My hint: I went in april-2013. By that time, they accepted neither Euro (cash) nor credit cards in the museum entrance, so be prepared and take some local currency (in cash) with you!

I can not rank it with a grade or something like that, because this depends on your background and expectation. What I can tell you is that the overall experience was very good for us.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    33
    19
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excelent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I just love it! Not boring,really interesting,few floors showing Hungary during the centuries. Love especially the basement.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reeuwijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This very good museum is situated in a wing of the old place. There is a nice, large collection of things relating to the palace and to Budapest.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This museum is situated in the Royal Palace itself with fantastic views across the Danube to Pest. It is a bit hidden, at the back of the furthest courtyard. The modern entrance hall does not prepare you for the variety of buildings and styles evident in the museum itself. The most interesting area of the museum is the labyrinth of passages, staircases and cellars which formed parts of the various castles and palaces built on this point since the 1400s. There is lots to see and all is informative and well-laid out. This is not the Hungarian National Museum but a museum about the city and this particular location - it carries out this function with great ease. The exposition on the history of the city is very well constructed and all of the information is available in English as well as Hungarian. Well worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Hungary in perspective - the best exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Shadow and Light Tour chronicles the history of the country from the Roman times to the current era. It is not to be missed. It is easy to follow, highly informative and there are interesting little sidelines on cultural diversity, housing, furniture etc over the ages. There was a piano recital at the same time (part of the Castle Easter celebrations) that added to the enjoyment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budapest History Museum (Budapesti Toreneti Muzeum) also viewed

 

Been to Budapest History Museum (Budapesti Toreneti Muzeum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest History Museum (Budapesti Toreneti Muzeum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.