We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairytale Castle! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Bastion (Halaszbastya)

Fisherman's Bastion (Halaszbastya)
Tarnork Utca 28, Budapest, Hungary
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 255 attractions in Budapest
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Built during the 19th century for the Hungarian Millennium celebrations, this mock bastion features pointed towers and turrets, reminiscent of the fairytale castles in Disney World.
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fairytale Castle! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This reminded me of a Fairytale Castle. Located on Castle Hill in Buda it has great views over the city especially of the Pest side. If you're interested in architecture or just great views then you can't go wrong with this. It's so pretty and very close to Matthias Church, which is also stunning. Personally for me I enjoyed getting up the hill via the funicular... just for the novelty of it. I would definitely recommend a walk round this area in general.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,583
    1,176
    214
    40
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rayong, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Like stepping into a fantasy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very Disney-like. I just couldn't get enough of it. Don't miss seeing it from below. It looks different from that angle and just as pretty.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsay, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful monument + view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The bastion is in great conditions, greatly restored. The view from the top is amazing. There is a small entrance fee for one of the sides, which will give you a "couple-of-meters-higher" view, but nothing more. Still, the contribution fee is great for restauration work :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great view ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Located on the buda side of the river, this structure is a small hike up the hill just off the chain bridge. You can also take the funicular (kind of like a cable car) up the hill, but it is difficult to take pics fm the car and also too short a ride to do so. I would suggest walking up, because the ride is not worth the wait or the price. I think it costs like $4 or $5 USD for a 30 second ride.

Once you get to the top, there are vendors selling Hungarian souvenirs before you get to fishermans bastion. From the top you get great views of the city. I took most of my budapest photos from this vantage point. There are also spots where you can sit and have a drink overlooking the city. I would suggest going on a weekday, because it was so crowded with tourist on the weekend, that it was difficult to jockey for a spot to take pics.

I do agree with one other reviewer who mentioned walt Disney must have gotten his inspiration from this structure. I was expecting Mickey mouse to pop up somewhere!


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Take the special train up the hill then head right for an amazing view of the city. This is right next to Matthias Church so it's easy to find.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Bastion (Halaszbastya) also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Bastion (Halaszbastya)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Bastion (Halaszbastya), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fisherman's Bastion (Halaszbastya) to your Saves list