We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating museum with nice staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum)

Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum)
Toth Arpad setany 40, Budapest I, Hungary
(36 1) 356 9522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 404 things to do in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a former municipal army barracks, this museum traces the history of war in Hungary through an extensive collection of war memorabilia, ranging from weapons and uniforms to coins and flags.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum with nice staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Thorough museum with lots of exhibits, far more than we were expecting to see in fact. If you're into military history expect to see some awesome stuff but if you're expecting a family day out this may not be the place for you. I think the museum is aimed more at Hungarian nationals than tourists so don't expect to be spoon-fed the complete history of the Hungarian military in English. Some parts were in English, others weren't, I think they are in the process of adding more by the looks of it.

Surprised to read the negative reviews about the museum staff on here - I can only assume its due to misunderstanding the staff's sincerity and pride in their museum. There is a member of staff in every room and of course they kept their eye on us, why shouldn't they? Many of the exhibits are outside glass cases so I wouldn't expect anything less. We actually found them helpful and they often approached us to explain how to use some of the interactive exhibits.

You need a photo pass of you want to take pictures there so either put the camera away or make sure you check what's allowed when you arrive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    16
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place accepts the Buda card for a cheaper rate. You do have to pay for photos like most other places. If you like military history especially WWII this place is for you. Dozens of guns on display and uniforms. To me the flow (timeline) was hard to follow. Outside has a wonderful view, with a large flag.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very detailed and fascinating museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Sprawling galleries packed with information and artefacts. There's currently an excellent section about the 1956 Uprising which gives some real insight not just about the situation in Budapest at the time but also the reactions of the rest of the world. Strangely nothing pre the 1848 revolution though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“over officious staff!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

the actal museum and exhibits are good and about half the museum is in english, the problem is that you are made to feel so unwelcome by rude over offcious staff who follow your every move (one even inspected the toilet after i had used it), it is all over the place in terms of order of time but is intresting.
good museum badly let down by staff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Interesting but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Museum of Military History lies within the Buda Castle walls and contains an extensive and interesting collection of militaria from the 1700s to the present day. The museum covers several floors and a courtyard contains a number of other pieces, including an example of a machine gun post from what appears to be the Hungarian equivalent of the ill-fated Maginot line.

Also on display at this time, and very timely, is a collection of Hungarian Olympic memorabilia from the early Olympics to the present. Although interesting, I don’t consider the Olympics to have a bearing on anything military and although rightly proud of their Olympic heritage, I had the impression that it was there to fill space.

The entrance fee was ridiculously cheap for an attraction of this type but be aware that an additional payment is required if you wish to take photographs. Also, be aware that every step will be watched by an army of uniformed grannies, intent on preventing you from stealing the front fuselage of their Mikoyan (Mig) 21.

I am interested in military history so I have tried to be impartial in my review of this museum but I think that young and old would find it an enjoyable experience. That said it could be better.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.