We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have years in Budapest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum)

Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum)
Toth Arpad setany 40, Budapest I, Hungary
(36 1) 356 9522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 230 Attractions in Budapest
Type: Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a former municipal army barracks, this museum traces the history of war in Hungary through an extensive collection of war memorabilia, ranging from weapons and uniforms to coins and flags.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you have years in Budapest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you have a lot of time in Budapest than you might go in. If you have just a few days than it is just enough to walk in front of the museum, on the street of the old Castle district.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    15
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The most disordered war museum ever...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Normally, you can get a good historical perspective of the countrys history in the 1900's just by visiting a military museum. In this one it is impossible.

We visited this museum in June 2012 and even though the building was under renovation, the exhibits were not from this planet.

Even though the staff was friendly we were first guided to an exhibition explaining Hungarians in the Olympic games... Once we got past that, we were taken to some rooms that had exhibitions from the 1956 revolution to the present...

Only after that we we taken to the exhibitions of WWII and WWI. Not in this order. In the WWII rooms the only thing that was striking was the Hungarian denial of their relation with the Nazi Germany. MAYBE - after this exhibition we would have been taken to the Napoleonic wars ? I don't know, because we politely said thank you and left.

I always visit a military museum of a nation if it is possible, I'm very sorry to that this was the first one that was a waste of time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I have visited several military museums and this was the weakest. Disordered, superficial.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“My teenage sons loved this museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was reluctant to go to the museum after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor -- but our experience was completely different than those who posted negative reviews. First of all, we were greeted very nicely by all the attendants in the museum. They were curious where we had come from and were very friendly. Language was definitely an obstacle -- I speak very broken Hungarian but they were happy that I tried.

Yes, the museum is set up differently from US standards -- but it tells a very interesting story of Hungary's military during the 1800's onward. The top floor of the museum, which covers ancient Hungarian military history and artifacts was unfortunately closed while we were there.

However, if you appreciate the history of the Austro-Hungarian empire and have an appreciation for 20th century history, this is an excellent museum, with vehicles, clothing, propaganda posters, weapons (which you can actually hold) and displays.

I actually liked the fact that this museum is so unique -- clearly, it's like taking a step back in time -- which is the point of museums.

My suggestion before going to the museum is to learn some polite Hungarian -- "Jo Napot" (Yoh Nah-poht) is a polite greeting -- use it when you see a museum worker, if you politely acknowledge them, it will go a long way. Besides, it's just a good thing to do when you are traveling and a good way to get more out of the experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

you need to be keen of military history, of course.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.