We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best among Mercure hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest City Center to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca, 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel) (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 EUR breakfast promotion
Ranked #107 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best among Mercure hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here about 1 year and a half before and I can say that many things were improved. BREAKFAST is much better than before; enough vegetables and fish what we missed at first visit. Everybody can find food to be satisfied and full. I liked really delicious sour cream and fresh bread most of all and my husband enjoyed various kind of vegetables. We booked a privilege room so we didn't eat outside at all. The food in the privilege lounge is enough for lunch and dinner: just baked bread, good cheese, ham, stuffed belly peppers, fruit, good coffee, sparkling wine, etc. STAFF was kind and on time, transportation from and to the airport was well organized. BATHROOM is big enough and shower very good. Shower cabin door closes well so it is not wet around the cabin after taking a shower what happens in many hotels. Towels were much better than the first time and the amenities in bathroom are high quality. It was very clean. The LOCATION of the hotel cannot be better. Attractions as well as big market are near. We stayed in Mercure in Nice before where we were not satisfied at all and breakfast was terrible, so the Mercure City might be best among Mercure hotels and among best four star hotels.We were very satisfied and recommend the hotel to everybody and thank the staff of the hotel. If we visit Budapest again, we will stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Privilege room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    694
    258
    77
    32
See reviews for
186
614
75
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If I was just commenting about the accomodations I would not be giving the hotel many stars. I stayed here at the end of July 2015' and while the bedroom is adequate it is small, measuring only 12 x 12 with a 5 by 6 ensuite. Mattresses are only 2 inches thick and very firm, but not too uncomfortable, linen is okay but not great, towels are fairly thin and no face cloths. Big problem is no where to put anything in the bathroom. Decorations are still in the 60's, yellow and orange. That's the down side, on a positive note, the breakfast is good, and if you stay in a superior room you have access to a lounge that serves wine, soft drinks coffee and good snacks between 5 and 7. Cannot beat the location, you exit the font of the hotel onto the main shopping area, and the river is two minutes walk away. Judge for yourself everything is here but the rooms lack space.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We almost stayed somewhere else but left it too late and was unavailable upon the time of booking. We then picked this hotel and was a better choice as we never even came across the other hotel during our time in Budapest.

Located on Vaci Street it is a short walk from bars and restaurants. Close to the metro stops too.

We stayed for the F1 and the hotel extended breakfast hours during the weekend which was great. There is a varied range on the breakfast buffet, so something for everyone.

If we return to Budapest, which I'm sure we will as it is a Beautiful city, we will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a typical Mercure chain hotel ideally situated in the city centre on a a quiet pedestrian street within easy walking distance to most attractions and near to two metro stations. There is a shuttle service from the airport (which you arrange at the airport upon arrival, costing €20 per person return. Its best to book a return journey at the airport to get a small discount. The hotel will arrange the time of pick-up back to the airport. I took a standard double room which was perfectly fine for my purposes, it was clean and functional to crash out after exhausting days sight seeing. The bathroom was small but clean and functional. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful and spoke good English. I ate only once in the restaurant (Goulash soup) which was delicious and very well presented. . Note that the free wifi in the bedrooms is extremely slow and sometimes inaccessible, however access from the lobby (computers are avaialble) is fine for checking e-mails and obtaining search information. I highly recommend this hotel (good value for money) and would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at hotel for 2 nights as part of a group tour. Location wise it is great. It is located on the Buda side. Train station next door. 20 min walk to Castle Hill and Chain Bridge. Room was good. Had tea/coffee facilities and mini bar. Bathroom was a decent size. Only issue was the water would get blocked when having a shower (it was a shower/bath). It would take a while for water to disappear. Room had free wifi which was at decent speed. Breakfast was OK also. A good variety to choose from. Overall a great hotel in a great location. I would stay here again and recommend to others

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you don't want to walk far to be close to shops, restaurants, the river and transportation, this is the hotel for you! Stayed here for three nights for an ok price and the area was just so vibrant and fun. Loved just having to walk a few hundred metres to see the beautiful river and was also really close to this super cool bar which has beanbags to sit on outside on grass looking over the river!
Hotel itself could do with some improvement. Had trouble paying them at first due to complication with having the wrong card (need a credit card to prepay) but eventually I was told I could pay at the hotel which was fine. The lobby and reception were refurbished however rooms were very much in need of it too. Carpet worn away completely, curtains and netting weren't very attractive and small room. Shower room was also not great due to weird shower and the hairdryer looked more like a hoover and wasn't very powerful. View was also nothing to shout about.
Saying all this, none of it was a problem for me. Me and my boyfriend just needed a place to sleep and the bed was comfy and large and we had the best time. Just a few improvements are needed to make the hotel rooms look a little less run down. On another plus side it did have free wi-fi which is a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselager
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Mercure City Center is located in the downtown city area in Budapest and cannot be more centrally located in relation to. The city center, the hotel staff is very helpful and you feel very welcome, just as they do in the rest of the city. Certainly not the last time we are in the hotel and in the city

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#55 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#117 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#78 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center
Eurostars Budapest Center
#52 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Address: Vaci utca, 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#80 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Budapest City Center hotel is located in an exclusive area, in the historical, shopping and business center, in Váci street. It is the only 4* hotel in Budapest which is surrounded by a pedestrian precinct. The main sightseeing attractions of the capital are within walking distance or can be easily reached by underground or other public transport. Discover Budapest - the city of senses - and enjoy every minutes of a special and unforgettable stay in our hotel. Business guests will appreciate the use of free WiFi Internet access and the indoor parking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.