We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than happy with privilege room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest City Center to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca, 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel) (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 EUR breakfast promotion
Ranked #106 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“More than happy with privilege room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

As per other reviews..this was ideally located, very nice hotel with good facilities. Staff very helpful & polite. Found the privilege lounge ideal either for a coffee or early evening sparkling wine & snacks after a long day out and about. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear AngieF14,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are more than happy that you enjoyed the services provided in the Privilege Lounge as an additional service to your Privilege Room: all day coffee and tea treatment, happy hours from 5-7pm with snacks and drink, the undisturbed elegant area, free computer and printer usage, etc. We do hope during your next stay you will choose our Privilege Service again. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    694
    258
    77
    32
See reviews for
186
615
76
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Its situation, right in the city centre, in the main pedestrian street, makes your stay really enjoyable and easy to discover Budapest. The breakfast is very nice, with a lot of variety. The bedroom offered all the comfort I wished for and it was also really silent which is very important. The staff was very professional. My overall impression: it's a good address for everyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Juliette D,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit and you have found our staff friendly and professional. We are very delighted to read your positive comments about the rooms and breakfast and we are happy that you recommend us. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our every day effort. We really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you want a hotel in the centre of the city this ticks all the boxes. It is on an up-market shopping precinct, close to trams, metro, buses & 2min walk to The Danube. Some of mega-cost hotels cannot touch this for convenience. Dble room was compact, clean,TV, shower etc. Perfect for a long weekend break. View was a bit boring, but hey, we are in the City. Staff were attentive & friendly. We were on B&B basis, buffet breakfast was good and plentiful, lots of savouries too. Bar area was a bit spartan and little used. Because within a 200yd radius there must have been 20/25 bars & restaurants to chose from. You don't go hungry in Hungary! Drinks & eating out within the 'City' region is more-or-less UK prices. Walk for 20+mins and the prices go down. TIP; get to grips with the buses, trams, metro & buy a multi-ticket. There is such a lot to see, a beautiful city.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room on an upper floor ( no smoking )
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear johnbg84,
Thank you for your compliment. It is our pleasure that we succeeded to exceed your expectations in terms of services. We appreciate that you found our special breakfast remarkable and unique and you enjoyed your stay with us and in Budapest. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel itself is excellent for business and sightseeing. The hotel has no restaurant but the bar area offer good food and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable with all facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Freddy746,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your visit in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the location and hotel overall. It is always good to read that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. We have already shared your comment with the members of our team. Thank you again. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
304 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I really liked this hotel which justifies its 4 stars.

The room was comfortable though rather small. The breakfasts were very good and their is pleasant bar.

The big adavantage of this hotel is it's location which couldn't be better - right in the centre and a few minutes walk to the Danube.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Daniel A,
Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest City Center during your stay in Hungary. We are very delighted to read your positive comments about the location and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
#38 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#54 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#116 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#75 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center
Eurostars Budapest Center
#55 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Address: Vaci utca, 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Budapest
#67 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#80 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Budapest City Center hotel is located in an exclusive area, in the historical, shopping and business center, in Váci street. It is the only 4* hotel in Budapest which is surrounded by a pedestrian precinct. The main sightseeing attractions of the capital are within walking distance or can be easily reached by underground or other public transport. Discover Budapest - the city of senses - and enjoy every minutes of a special and unforgettable stay in our hotel. Business guests will appreciate the use of free WiFi Internet access and the indoor parking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.