We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest City Center to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca, 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 EUR breakfast promotion
Ranked #104 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed for 5 days in August, the room was lovely, location of the hotel is perfect, breakfast was ok but being a typical Brit I like fried eggs and bacon but only had sausages and scrambled here but it was nice.

Staff are soooo freindly and kind it was a perfect stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear TheSultanofSuntanS,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the location and hotel overall and about your perfect stay. It is always good to hear that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you again. We hope to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    577
    219
    68
    29
See reviews for
145
516
65
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff are very welcoming and friendly here and the location is great - right in the centre on one of the main (pedestrianised) streets. However, the rooms are small and very tired. The corridors too. A serious refurbishment is needed. The beds are OK but not especially comfortable. We also had to keep asking for housekeeping to do anything. Fine for a short break if you want to be central and where you won't spend much time in the hotel/room and it is just a base to explore. Not recommend for a long stay - we were here for 9 night's!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Alan C,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com. We are happy that you enjoyed the location and surroundings of the hotel and could benefit from it. We really regret that you were not satisfied with the design of the room. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a great hotel in the centre of the city on the main shopping street Vaci Uta.
The rooms were good with lovely toilletries and a nespresso machine. I think we had a privelege room. This gave us acess to the privelege lounge which gave us complimentary snacks and drinks.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.
Would definately book it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Helen J,
Thank you very much for your comment. It is our pleasure that you found our special breakfast remarkable. We are happy that you enjoyed the upgraded Privilege Room with it’s many extra features. Your comment regarding the Privilege Lounge service strenghten us that the well-being and an elegant athmosphere can transfer a stay to a unique experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We got moved to this hotel from the Ibis Heroes Square due to a fault on the floor we were meant to stay on. I got all excited at the thought of staying in a 4* hotel at no extra cost to ourselves! However it really isn't what I would hope for in a so called 4* star, the only reason I think it has this rating is because of the hotel's location.

Don't get me wrong the reception and breakfast area is lovely and modern but that's where it ends. We stayed on the first floor which was a smoking floor - wouldn't have been out preference but we didn't have a say. The hall smelt musty as did our bedroom, but this can't be helped if it's a smoking floor..

The hallway carpet on the first floor has seen better days, very dirty with bleach stains all over it and the doors look abit battered..

The room itself was decent, nice double bed rather than two singles pushed together and it had much needed aircon.

The location really is excellent though so it outweighs anything bad as we barely spent much time in the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear moocowkit,
Thank you for your time to share with us your experience. Yes, the great location is one of the biggest advantage of our hotel. Although our hotel has been refurbished in the past years, we will definitely include your comments into our next renovation plan. We sincerely hope we can welcome you back soon in the city and in our hotel.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked at the Mercure City Centre well in advance on the Accor website and picked up a great deal at 46 euro per night for our 3 night stay in July. The hotel was in an excellent location, very central to the main tourist sights, shopping and eating areas. Although we'd recommend venturing a little way from the hotel for food as the restaurants nearby seem to be overpriced.

The room was nice and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and polite.

We'd definately stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel (and Budapest!) to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Binger84,
Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest City Center during your stay in Budapest. We are more than happy that our guests could take advantage of our optimal location in the center of Budapest and that you found our hotel to be good value for money. We really appreciate that you would come back again and recommend us.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

this hotel is run by a great team the staff were very very friendly and polite. the hotel is in a great location which has every thing on the door step. our room on the 3rd floor overlooking vaci st was very well maintained by the cleaning staff;; and i was more than happy to leave a tip almost every day the buffet breakfast was exellent and the staff there couldnt do enough for us .my wife and i stayed there for 7 nights in july and august 2013.i can only say thank you to the mercure team for making our stay in budapest great the staff made us feel so welcome ...mr mrs foley scotland

Room Tip: overlooking vaci street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear taysidegraham,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the hotel overall. It is our pleasure that you found our special breakfast remarkable and unique. It is always good to read that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. Our staff is our greates value therefore we are glad that the service they provide met beyond your expectation. Thank you again. Our team would love to serve you again in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Address: Vaci utca, 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#66 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Budapest City Center hotel is located in an exclusive area, in the historical, shopping and business center, in Váci street. It is the only 4* hotel in Budapest which is surrounded by a pedestrian precinct. The main sightseeing attractions of the capital are within walking distance or can be easily reached by underground or other public transport. Discover Budapest - the city of senses - and enjoy every minutes of a special and unforgettable stay in our hotel. Business guests will appreciate the use of free WiFi Internet access and the indoor parking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.