We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst customer service I have ever experienced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest City Center to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaci utca, 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel) (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst customer service I have ever experienced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Do not even think of staying on this hotel. The front desk staff has the worst attitude I have ever encountered, they are rude, impolite and have no idea how to treat their customers. They treated me like no one had ever done in any other hotel in the world. It's a shame because it is a beautiful city and the hotel has a good location but the rooms are very poor, and well, the staff does no help at all with the image of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear eb77,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. We are extremely sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrence. Of course our staff gets continuous training to be able to deliver quality services for our guests’ satisfaction. We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    692
    257
    77
    32
See reviews for
186
611
75
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spent 3 nights(2 full days) in Budapest. This hotel is located in Vaci street and very ideal location to shopping, traveling, etc.
Especially, I recommend bio-privilege package. It was included breakfast, allergenic linen, air-purifier. It is very good to someone who travel with young children like me.
You can use privilege lounge from 10am to 9pm and if you go there between 5pm to 7pm, you can take small dishes and drinks (Hungarian sparkling wine was very nice).
In the breakfast, if you use privilege room, you can order additional hot meal like omelet, fried eggs, ham and egg, etc.
Also, if you have to check out before breakfast time, ask to reception to prepare breakfast box.
The only minor is un-kindness of breakfast restaurant's woman staff.
Anyway, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear ptchejo,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed the Privilege service provided in the Privilege Lounge as an additional service to your Privilege Room: all day coffee and tea treatment, happy hours from 5-7pm with snacks and drink, the undisturbed elegant area, free computer and printer usage, etc. We do hope during your next stay you will choose our hotel with the upgraded features.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are looking for a perfect location in Vaci Utca area of Budapest, This is THE PLACE. C&A next door, H&M,Zara,Pull&Bear..... all within 100meters, Nothing could be possibly n=beat the location of this hotel in the Pedesterian Steet!!!!

Breakfast- Well we stayed for 5 nights and it was the same menu repeated every day!! Definitely could improve and one reason for not getting Excellent rating!!!!

LIFTS:- This was where the biggest problems were! Needs a lot of improvement as two of the lifts were not working which resulted in either waiting for a very long time for the lifts or even having to walk down 4 floors (4th floor was where I stayed). Tiring and definitely needs improvement!!!

Overall atmosphere and rooms and the location make it a fantastic place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear RajaG1,
We are happy that you enjoyed the center location of our hotel and you could benefit from it. Cafés, restaurant, many entertainment possibilities and of course the main attractions are in an easy reach on foot from the hotel, situated in the shopping walking Váci street. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel in a PERFECT location. My only complaint has nothing to do with the hotel itself, but we drove there and GPS takes you through a tunnel where GPS loses reception. The signs for parking are poorly marked and street parking in Budapest is tricky if not impossible, but again, this is no reflection on the hotel itself. Great bar and restaurant. The BEST breakfast buffet I have seen in Europe thus far and well worth the 15 Euros or so - I believe there's a discount if you prepay for breakfast but unfortunately we did not take advantage of this, but it was still worth it. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating with someone fluent in English always nearby the front desk. I can't emphasize enough how great the location is. Step outside the front door and you are right there in the heart of tourist shopping paradise! It is surrounded by 4 and 5 star hotels costing 3-5 times as much, but for travel to Budapest on a budget, this Mercure cannot be beat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear AGEinPrague,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. They are appreciated and our team was delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Mercure Budapest City Center. It's a special pleasure for us that you found the breakfast as the best and the staff extremly friendly.
Due to that our hotel is the only 4-star hotel in Budapest being surrounded by walking street from all sides means bit a complicated parking. Our parking place is reachable from the street behind the hotel: Parking GPS address: Budapest Petőfi Sándor utca 14., Parking GPS coordinates: N47.49461 E19.05372. The datas are available on our website as well. We really look forward to welcoming you again.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Centrally located on a pedestrian street, lots of stores and restaurants nearby. We killed three small roaches in the bathroom. Room was comfortable but too small. Breakfast buffet was excellent and front desk personnel was helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Touron57,
Thanks for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit and you have found our staff heplful. I will let them know about your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were at this hotel for 2 nights before we started a cruise on the Danube. The location was ideal as we walked to the cruise ship. We could easily walk to all the major attractions, shopping and restaurants. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even though we spoke no Hungarian. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear april264,
Many thanks for writing a review on your stay at Mercure Budapest City Center. We were very delighted that you found our staff extremly friendly and helpful. We are also happy that you would recommend us and looking forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Irecently visited this hotel with my sisters,we were in Budapest trying to find family we had never met,and might I add we found them.We had a suite as there were 3 of us,the hotel was in the very centre of budapest it was amazing,although we spoke very little hungarian the staff understood and were very helpful.The suite we had was very spacious we had 2 bathrooms,3 showers and a bath,there was also a sauna in the suite in which we drank champagne to celebrate finding an aunt we had never met.We sayed at the hotel for 4 days.
Although we didnt eat at the hotel the menus looked amazing
Budapest was a wonderful city,clean and friendly,the local people loved it if ,we spoke hungarian to them as did the hotel staff.The best weekend ever.I would definately stay at this hotel again,in fact I cant wait to go again.

Room Tip: family suite,very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear julia j,
Many thanks for your positive opinion you have shared about our hotel. We really appreciate hearing from you and reading that you were satisfied with the room and especially with our staff. My team would love to serve you again in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#54 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#117 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#78 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center
Eurostars Budapest Center
#51 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Address: Vaci utca, 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
#80 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Budapest City Center hotel is located in an exclusive area, in the historical, shopping and business center, in Váci street. It is the only 4* hotel in Budapest which is surrounded by a pedestrian precinct. The main sightseeing attractions of the capital are within walking distance or can be easily reached by underground or other public transport. Discover Budapest - the city of senses - and enjoy every minutes of a special and unforgettable stay in our hotel. Business guests will appreciate the use of free WiFi Internet access and the indoor parking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.