We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy but in need of an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kecskemeti utca 14, Budapest 1053, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfy but in need of an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is in a great location and was perfect for us as we were in Budapest for the Formula 1. The staff were friendly enough. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that.
My biggest issue was the bathroom. It wasn't particularly clean. The hair dryer was also useless and very dated, a theme that seemed to be consistent with the whole hotel. As I as it was comfy enough but very tired and in need to modernising.

Stayed July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    678
    334
    122
    46
See reviews for
200
477
119
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel is in a good location, near the city centre. The room is however very basic and slightly dated. We stayed for the F1 with Taxis from the hotel to the track costing around £27. There are a few local places to eat that do good food at a very reasonable price. Lots of F1 guests staying in hotel, filling the bar with a busy atmosphere in the evening.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jack W,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with me. I am happy that you could enjoy the location of our hotel during the F1 weekend. I sincerely hope we can welcome you in our hotel next year again!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights and appreciated its proximity to the Danube, the market and other facilities. Breakfast and evening meal were satisfactory. Staff okay. Our shower head did not work correctly. In short, no major disappointment but not outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Barnabas014,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with me your comments. It is our pleasure that beside this small uncomfortable feature you enjoyed your stay with us. I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was great value for the location in Budapest - right beside a subway station, even better that you couldn't hear it - perfect location. Rooms were a little different to what was pictured when booking, a lot smaller and a lot more dated making them just average. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely spacious bar area for drinks. Location for restaurants is great - just a 5 minute walk from a street full of local restaurants serving great food at great prices.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear kerriac,
I would like to thank you for your nice comments following your stay at Mercure Budapest Korona. I am very glad to see your positive feedback regarding the service during your stay with us. I have already shared your comments with our team; I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one; we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two of us were staying here and had booked a double room each. We were a bit surprised when we got there to find that our rooms were not only on separate floors but miles apart from each other, since we'd booked as part of the same reservation. I was disappointed by my room as the bed was very small for a double and the room was also small. There were also two little covers on either side of the bed, rather than a nice big duvet, which I really didn't like. I popped over to my friend's room the next day and was shocked - her bed actually was a double with proper bedding and the room was twice as big. She came to my room, just to check I wasn't being insane, and burst out laughing when she saw it. I went down to reception to tell them that I must have been put in a smaller room by mistake but was simply told that room is a double and that was that.
They emailed me a couple of days later to say they could change my room for me but we were only staying for four nights and were leaving the next day, so it wasn't worth it. They also told me I owed money for the minibar when I went to check out - I told them emphatically that I had not touched the minibar and they cancelled this (the woman who dealt with this was really nice) but I had little patience at this point.
Basically, two of us paid for double rooms and only one of us got one.
The bar is nice and the location is very good. However, as a disappointed customer I won't be going back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 8th floor appear to be smaller than other double rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear zozo715,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your full expectations; please allow me to express my apologies. Kindly note that we have different types of rooms, standard and upgraded privilege rooms as well; my colleagues are always more than ready to help our guests to find other room options when it is possible. I regret that you could not fully enjoy your stay with us because of this. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have spent 3 nights at this hotel with my family. Good hotel and excellent location. Rich breakfast. Pool and Sauna gives the opportunity to relax after a busy day in Budapest. Responsive staff.
But I would like to note that on arrival no one helps with unloading luggage and you have to unload and load yourself your own luggage.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mady-Almaty,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit in Mercure Budapest Korona. I am very delighted to read your positive experience about the location and hotel overall. It is always good to read that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. Regarding your comment about your luggage, kindly note that our bell boys are always happy to help to all of our guest, I am sure that they were only occupied at the moment. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a good location with the underground just next to it. The rooms are well looked after and clean. Good selection of buffet breakfast with the option of breakfast in bed for the mornings when you are feeling especially lazy. The tv could have more channel options but thats not really a big deal.

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Laslo17,
Many thanks for writing a great review on your recent stay at Mercure Budapest Korona. I am very delighted to read your positive comments about the rooms and breakfast and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you again soon!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#117 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#78 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Mercure Budapest Metropol
Mercure Budapest Metropol
#153 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Hotel Museum Budapest
#88 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria
Danubius Hotel Astoria
#56 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel

Address: Kecskemeti utca 14, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Budapest
#77 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Budapest Korona**** is the best located hotel in Budapest. Situated in the heart of the city with beautiful surroundings, at the entrance of the popular pedestrian area: Váci and Ráday street.The River Danube, exclusive shops and famous baths are within walking distance. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel. You can choose from Privilege Rooms or Suites to ensure your full comfort. Direct access from the airport and onsite parking possibility. The hotel offers wide range of services for both leisure and business travellers like: pool, sauna, Internet corner, upgraded Privilege room, 2 restaurants, Bridge Bar with unique view, My Bar with modern design in pleasant atmosphere, garage, souvenir shop. Conference capacity up to 120 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Korona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.