We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a positive experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kecskemeti utca 14, Budapest 1053, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a positive experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is always a positive experience to stay at Mercure Korona in Budapest.
Very often there is something extra you don't expect such as a free drink or a room upgrade.
This makes you feel special as a guest.

The breakfast is very tastefull, especially in the Privelage section.

The bar is relaxing and not too busy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Clas N,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. We are delighted that you always enjoy your stay in Mercure Budapest Korona. It is a pleasure to know that our Guests are satisfied with our hotel and services. Thank you again. We hope to welcome you back soon and often.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    680
    334
    122
    46
See reviews for
202
478
119
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

It was not the first time for us in this hotel. Our stay was very pleasant. Our privilege room was small but friendly and clean. Higher floor level rooms have definitely nicer view (e.g. 9 th floor). Choose a room not too close to the elevator (noisy). Rooms are nice and comfortable, but there is definitely not enough place for the clothing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Reto S,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed the Privilege service provided to your Privilege Room. We are glad you had a pleasant with us at Mercure Budapest Korona and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova, Liguria, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I often come to work in Budapest and for me this is one of the best solutions (price-quality-location) that you can find in the city. The advice also for those traveling for tourism.
Breakfast in the bridge is the best way to start a day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Marco M,
Thank you for your kind words and we are more than happy that we are your favorite. We appreciate that the service we provided, met your expectation. We belive that the excellent start of the day is the beginnig of having a nice stay wih us. We hope to see you soon on your next trip.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for only 1 night. Our privilege room (paid a very good price for it) was small but clean. Reception staff were helpful and friendly, although they did not ask me how was my stay, when we left the hotel! You are expecting this from a well trained staff as they should improve the standards of service! Bed was comfortable, pillows are soft. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was my only disappointment during our stay. Our pork was so undercooked! Waited half an hour for nothing!
I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Henrietta83,
Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Korona during your stay in Hungary. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the Privilege service. It is always good to read that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. It is our pleasure that beside this small uncomfortable feature you enjoyed your stay wih us. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just got back today, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Surprised by some reviews on here, we found it to be very good. Yes the bar is expensive but thats normal for a capital city hotel bar. We had breakfast included in our deal and found it to be very good. Dont be expecting an English breakfast because you wont get it, but it really is very varied, large selection of breads, croissants, cakes, a very good sour cherry cake, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, plus all the usual cheeses and cold meats, I found spring onions a bit weird but maybe thats what they eat! The room was fine but had 3 beds in so a bit cramped and getting to the window was a bit of an obstacle course, bathroom was adequate, I dislike hair dryer in bathroom and regret not taking my own but as we were handover luggage only weight was an issue, the hairdryer hose kept coming out of it and I had to keep putting it back in, needs replacing. The quilts are a small single each on a double bed and are quite thin but we were warm enough.
The location is perfect, walk outside and the tram stop is right outside, very good service.
Budapest is an excellent place to visit, I thoroughly recommend it. I would recommend the hotel too, its perfectly acceptable for a city break, clean, comfy and central.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear DiJennings,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Mercure Budapest Korona.
We are really glad to see you enjoyed the breakfast very much in our restaurant. The great location is one of the biggest advantage of our hotel. We are close to the airport, to some railway stations, however the most interesting sights of this beautiful city are within walking distance. We sincerely hope we can welcome you in our hotel soon again.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Mercer is most conveniently located close to most tourist sites as well as river Danube. A leisurely walk on the bridge of the river, close to the hotel is delightful. The hotel charges extra for breakfast but it is wort it, nothing like a hot cup of tea with your favorite eats for starting the day, specially when one is on a pleasure trip.
The hotel is getting old and needs renovation. Still good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear charoos,
Many thanks for your positive opinion you have shared about our hotel. We really appreciate that you were satisfied the hotel location and it is our pleasure that you enjoyed the breakfast in our restaurant with it’s wide range of healty food and local specialities. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at midday to a pleasant reception area and staff. Disappointed by the size of the room and bathroom. Wardrobes coming off the rails when moved. Shower sprayed straight out with a shower screen which did not fit bath resulting in a soaking bathroom ( and god help anyone overweight getting in and out shower). Bath had been cracked and patched up. Quilts on bed tiny! We took a couple of bottles of water from mini bar the first night. Was shocked to get bill when we left £12 for two very small bottles of evian water. Also two vodkas and coke cost us £15 in hotel bar. More than half the price everywhere else even Hard Rock Cafe. Rip off!! Even as we left the hotel were insisting on getting us a taxi. Yeah cause it was their own taxis and they charged a lot more than the taxi coming from the airport. I think management should look at improving their service rather than lining their pockets !!!! Would not recommend at all snd not exactly central to anything.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Nicky101207,
Thank you for your detailed comments. We appreciate your positive feedback on the staff attitude and location of the hotel. Regarding your critical points, please note that we took the necessary steps to prevent any similar mistake in the future. Some points are to be addressed during the upcoming deep cleaning and hardware changes will be carried out at the next renovation project. Thank you once again for having given us information on your experience in Mercure Budapest Korona. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#117 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#76 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Mercure Budapest Metropol
Mercure Budapest Metropol
#154 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Hotel Museum Budapest
#89 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria
Danubius Hotel Astoria
#56 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel

Address: Kecskemeti utca 14, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Budapest
#77 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Budapest Korona**** is the best located hotel in Budapest. Situated in the heart of the city with beautiful surroundings, at the entrance of the popular pedestrian area: Váci and Ráday street.The River Danube, exclusive shops and famous baths are within walking distance. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel. You can choose from Privilege Rooms or Suites to ensure your full comfort. Direct access from the airport and onsite parking possibility. The hotel offers wide range of services for both leisure and business travellers like: pool, sauna, Internet corner, upgraded Privilege room, 2 restaurants, Bridge Bar with unique view, My Bar with modern design in pleasant atmosphere, garage, souvenir shop. Conference capacity up to 120 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Korona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.