We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Budapest to your Saves list
InterContinental Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My flight was cancelled and was arranged to stay at the Intercontinental Budapest for an extra day.
At the front desk I was given a Danube view room and was quite impressed with the guest room and amenities. Having just stayed at another major chain hotel for the past few days on the castle hill (the one adjacent fisherman's bastion), I have to say the Intercontinental has ticked the boxes in terms of guest services, location and comfort. Every member of staff I met was friendly and courteous - and this has really won my vote.
I enjoyed the restaurant - they even offered japanese breakfast as part of the buffet - nice touch. I had a light lunch at the lobby bar before heading back to the airport. It was really nice to enjoy the view from there (see photos) and the staff truly world-class. I also bought a christmassy gift - they had a ginger bread house in the lobby stocked with lovely things to tempt you with some last-minute christmas shopping - and not expensive at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Kelobie,
thank you very much for taking the time placing your review. I am delighted that you could pick our hotel for an extra day in Budapest and that you were satisfied with our guest services, location and comfort. I am especially proud that you found the staff friendly, courteous and meaning to win your vote. I like to read that the breakfast and the lobby bar experiences you found world-class. It makes me feel cheerful that you took advantage of our lovely gingerbread house and its Christmas delights.
Looking forward to welcome you back in InterContinental Budapest in the New Year, too.
Yours sincerely,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    562
    101
    24
    14
See reviews for
280
851
122
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable and welcoming hotel in the best location in Budapest. Book a river view room to make the most of the panoramic vista over the Danube and bridges to the impressive buildings on the Buda side of the city. The very comfortable lounge bar area also overlooks the views and is a great place to sit for lunch or just a drink and a chat while being looked after by the friendly and attentive staff.
An easy 5 minutes walk will take you to many shops and good restaurants as well as seasonally the square hosting the main Christmas market. The parliament buildings and St Stephens basilica are also a short (10 minute) walk away.
The number 2 tram running every few minutes stops right outside the front of the hotel and about £13 buys you a 72 hour ticket for the trams, buses and metro.
Stay here and you won't be disappointed.
We couldn't fault this hotel, we would have preferred a slightly larger bathroom but it wouldn't stop us staying here again when in Budapest.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear jasperparklodge,
thank you very much for taking your time placing your comment. I very much like the title "perfect luxury location in Budapest". I am very happy that you found our hotel very comfortable and welcoming. I am delighted that while being looked after our friendly and attentive staff you could enjoy the view and a drink with a chat. I am glad that you found it easy to reach main attractions close by including the Christmas market as well.
I am very much looking forward to a warm welcome on your next stay.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for a number of years whenever I have a layover in Budapest. You cannot fault the location, right on the banks of the Danube, adjacent to the Chain Bridge. As other reviewers have said, make sure you have a river view room - it is especially breathtaking by night. If you arrive on a late flight, be aware that the bar in the hotel closes pretty promptly at - I think - midnight, but there are plenty of (more reasonably priced) options nearby. It your budget runs to it, I can heartily recommend adding Club Lounge access to your room rate. In many hotels, this is rarely worth doing, but this is the exception that proves the rule. Again, beautiful views of the Danube greet you as you partake in the excellent breakfast served until 1030 - it really sets you up for a day of exploring the city. Savoury & sweet snacks, plus coffee & juices, are served throughout the day but it's the evening reception that makes it so worthwhile. The canapés are of a very good quality and reflect the local cuisine - and are also really plentiful. Likewise, they showcase Hungarian wines - really rather good - including a delightful sparkling option. Oh, and the internet in the lounge is super-fast compared to the regular option in the hotel, together with four iMacs for guest use. Wow...sounds like I work for IHG, but can assure you I don't! My reason for reviewing is that a new role means I shall no longer visit Budapest with work and this is quite simply my favourite hotel of all the ones in Europe in which I have stayed. I will be back for pleasure though!

Room Tip: A river view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear rhys_trip,
thank you for sharing your opinion. I am very much pleased that this is not the first time for you choosing InterContinental Budapest. Thank you for recommending our rooms with that unique breathtaking river view. I really like your thorough writing about your Club Lounge experiences which speaks up to itself. I very much hope and do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future on your next leisure trip.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

we loved staying at the interconti hotel. the staff was super nice & helpful, each request was handeled with a smile. The breakfast (which was included in the total price) is excellent, with lots of fresh fruits, good cafe (even a latte...) and more.
The location is the best: close to every spot by a walking distance.
We enjoyed the lovely view from the lobby and even Jazz shows that made great atmosphere.
We will be back :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear DrRoth,
thank you for placing your review. I am glad that you very much liked your overall experience in our property. It makes me feel very proud that you mark the staff super nice and helpful and especially that each and every request proved to be handled with a smile. I am happy that you found the breakfast and the location excellent and even more you took advantage and enjoyed our cozy and lively jazz evening performance.
All the best,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a room with a magnificent view of the Danube. Do pay extra for that. The king-sized bed was a huge treat in Europe as was the comfy sofa, large desk, and cbs. Breakfast very good but massively expensive, however, we got it at an excellent price along with a big discount on the room by paying in advance. The location is very good. The tram that runs up the Danube is right outside the door. Closest metro 3 blocks away. Market Hall five minutes away by tram. Main xmas market 10 minute walk. BUT the wifi was off more than on which was very annoying. I could only get on it at 3 and 5 in the morning! This does not fly in this day and age. During the day I was able to use someone else's wifi , but the place apparently closed in the evening. Otherwise, great place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay for the view and pay 2 weeks in advance for steeply reduced room and breakfast costs.0
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear yearbook1,
thank you for placing your review. I am glad to see that you draw attention to nearby attractions such as the market hall and the Christmas market. I regret to read that the wifi was not continuously available on your computer but I am happy that you found the view magnificent and that you recommend our hotel as a great place to stay.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed 3 nights , What a super hotel, can not find one word wrong. Food delicious, staff couldn't have been mor helpful at all times. Views of Buda and the Danube in the evening illuminations from the hotel are an added bonus.
jdm.rowthorne@btinternet.com

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear RedbrickJ,
I am happy that you enjoyed delicious food and recognized our staff as being most helpful. I am really becoming delighted when you write we are a super hotel and everything was satisfactory for you including the evening view to the illuminated city - as the cherry on the pie.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Centrally located close to all attractions in the city center. My room was very spacious. The lobby and other areas were also very nice. Great for couples and people who want to stay close to the center.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear aleahx,
thank you for placing your review. I am glad to read that noted our hotel being close to several nearby attractions. I am delighted to read that you found your room spacious and the lobby nice. I appreciate drawing the attention to our hotel for couples and for those looking for a lively downtown location with a relaxing atmosphere inside. Looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the next year.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#15 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.