We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location adjacent to Danube, near bridges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Budapest to your Saves list
InterContinental Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Asheboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great location adjacent to Danube, near bridges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I had 2 day/night stay at the conclusion of an Avalon Waterways sponsored trip....we enjoyed our hotel stay and found the staff friendly and helpful at all times and room, bath/shower good to excellent. In room safe was easy to use. The "no-smoking" room we requested was without any detectable residua of prior use by a smoker.
We had an early flight with 5AM hotel departure...staff provided a "to go" breakfast snack box with a hot cup of coffee to have on taxi drive to airport which was much appreciated.
Overall, we readily recommend this hotel to other travelers, with exception of those who desire a 5-star type hotel experience.

Room Tip: The No Smoking room was as requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear RandyT2011,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am happy that you and your wife had a great stay with us.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    562
    101
    24
    14
See reviews for
279
851
122
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend during October. The location was fantastic right on the Danube and with the lovely weather sitting on the outside terrace was very pleasant. The room was quite small as was the bathroom but manageable for a weekend away. The staff at reception and concierge were very friendly and helpful for restaurants and what to see and do. The SPA was excellent after a day of walking with a nice indoor pool, sauna and steam room however you wouldn't know this existed as it is not mentioned at check-in or anywhere in the room.
Overall very nice stay but missing the wow factor!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Dan M,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am happy that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel in Budapest for 3 nights and could not have been more pleased. The location is perfect! Situated right on the Danube River at the base of the Chain Bridge. Ideal for walking across the bridge to take the Funicular up to Buda to spend part of a day. Lots of restaurants near by. We have been to Budapest many times and could not have been happier with this selection. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear N2tiques4me,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you had a fantastic stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

First of all I don't stay in the hotel. Have some guest and we choose because we heard a lot good not just a view also the friendliness of the stuff there. So we try and YES!!! The choice of the drinks it's ok nothing special except the "house" made cocktails especially made by Judit and also with Tamas. The live music it's nice the pianist guy talented. We spend a good time there and will to come back soon even if we know when is working this people again..... Thanks a lot the nice few hours.......

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Laszlo F,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me delighted that you had such a great time in our bar. Also thank you for praising Judit and Tamas for their professional services. Your compliments will be shared with them soon.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely views, good service, large room, tiny bathroom.
We recently stayed here for a business conference. Typical convention hotel. Good service, but I could have been in the US. The banquet food was not very good, except for the strudel desert. The breakfasts were great, many selections. The weather was incredible, and the outdoor terrace was perfect for a glass of wine and lovely view of the boats on the Danube and the castle, Chain Bridge, and the Cathedral in Budda. The location was perfect!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Bert B,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have just come back from a European trip. We stayed several nights at the Intercontinental Budapest. The view from our window was amazing especially at night, we could see the Alexander Palace, all of Buda Hill, Danube and the Chain Bridge. Our room was nice and clean, updated and really calm so we could sleep at day without noise bothering us.
We tried massages, gym, sauna and swimming pool also (SPA). Everything was incredibly clean and updated. The staff was always ready to assist us in every request that we had and always nice and kind with us. All of services which we used, was well managed.
The breakfast was included in the room's price and the variety of breakfast was really incredible. I loved that we could eat the Hungarian specialities even for breakfast but if somebody does not like it, other traditional breakfasts were available also. You can choose what ever you want to eat there is no limitation.
The bar at the lobby was really nice at evenings. After an evening consummation at the bar we received even free internet access (Wi-Fi) for 120 minutes so it was really nice from the reception.
I really loved the localisation of the Hotel because everything was close to us so we could walk or even just take a ride on the metro. The weather permitted to benefit from long walks alongside of Danube or in the heart of Budapest even at evening we could go out and eat in a boat restaurant next to our hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with river view, you won't regret it! Ask the receptionist about internet access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear zenoOttawa_ON,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am happy that you had such a great stay with us and you were impressed by all the facilities of our hotel. I am sure that your detailed review will be much appreciated by other travellers.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night at this great hotel. Fantastic location overlooking chain bridge and castle. Upgraded being a gold ambassador member. Great views from room.. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very large with a window seat to take in the sights. Close to most tourist sites and cafés. Did not eat at hotel as there are plenty of restaurants within 5 minutes walk from hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel and reception staff were excellent and accommodating.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear babyboomer58sydney,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Also I would like to thank you for recommending us to other travellers.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#15 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.