We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be the best in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Budapest

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 332 hotels in Budapest
Ljubljana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Could be the best in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Now, this is my favourite choice for Budapest: InterContinental.

No surprises here, it's Interconti, full stop. Rooms exactly as you would expect them: tidy, neat, conservative and reasonably comfortable. Beds are a bit on the soft side, but stil excellent. Take the Danube view.

Service is on a high level, many choices for breakfast. Again, it's Interconti.

The hotel is fantastically located within seconds walk to the center of Budapest and right on the bank of Danube. Parking is decent, don't struggle in -1, drive to -2 and park comfortably.

Coffee advice (always looking for a good ristretto): nah. Not even remotely.

Runner's advice: Two major choices, either to Margit Island and a round there, it's beautiful, or up to the Castle. Both choices include some running along with traffic, hence the health benefit might be disputable, yet you'll enjoy the city at its best.

Room Tip: Danube view is a must. Rooms away from Danube are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear fst01,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me very happy that you consider us as your favourite choice for Budapest. Thank you for that.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,069
    457
    88
    25
    13
See reviews for
214
684
103
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited this hotel on a 5day visit at the beginning of June 2013. We have stayed in many many hotels in Britain and Europe, but never a Hotel that has ticked all the boxes, as this one did.
We had a lovely large room on the 2nd floor, with huge windows, looking out over the Danube.
What a fantastic sight all lit up at night. The hotel is in a superb position facing the Castle and right next to the Chain Bridge. The staff on our arrival, late at night, were expecting us and so welcoming, from the doorman, the receptionist and through to the porter, so very helpful. Everyone spoke exceptionally good English. The breakfast the next day was everything you could wish for, I am a fussy eater, but there was not anything that was not good. The choice was exceptional. and very well cooked. A good English Breakfast or continental
The lunch time menu was also very good as were the cakes. The evening meal in the restaurant taken overlooking the Danube (as was the breakfast and lunch) was lovely the food
well cooked with great care. All the food was free range and local wherever possible, and well served, and the staff very friendly, could not do enough for you without being intrusive. The room was lovely, exceptionally clean and well serviced. Our visit was great. For us our only downside was the weather, usually very warm and dry at that time of year, it was the Flooding of the Danube, which was very unfortunate, but nothing to do with this fantastic Hotel and its lovely friendly staff. We have no complaints only compliments, from start to finish, and would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Always choose a river view, 2nd floor and upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Carolyn723,
Thank you very much for choosing us for your 5-day visit. It makes me extremely delighted to read that how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a great pleasure that from your arrival throughout the entire stay everything went in a perfect 5* InterContinental way.
I am glad that you experienced it.
I hope to have the possibility to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located next to the Danube the Interconti is together with the Mariott one of the hotels with the best view on the Budapest castle mountain. A great place for business travelers but also for a weekend – if you choose not to stay in a more historic hotel like the Gellert. Rooms are modern but a bit small – but if you get a view to the river the spectacular view is making up for it. Great breakfast buffet with a huge selection of international food and very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear SouthRim,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed the view from our rooms and you had a great stay with us.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and requested river view. However, they only offered 1 night river view for us which means we need to move after first night. The service was international which means the staff was not running with heart.
We went to Budapest from Vienna by bus. We took local taxi to the hotel. However, we were cheated by the driver who asked for 9500HUF from International Bus station (Nepliget Station) to the Hotel which the manager told us even the Hotel taxi fare should be 3500HUF. With the help from the manager and the Security, we settled by 3000HUF. We really appreciated the help from the manager because we were welcomed by a cheated taxi in the Budapest. However, the staff helped us to check in was bad mannered. His voice, tone and language made us very uncomfortable like blaming us to bring them trouble. This black spot was enough for a low rating.
Apart from this, everything was good. We bought swimming gear to enjoy the swimming pool because outside was 38oC.
The hotel is right at the river side of Pest. 5 minutes walk to the metro station and shopping center. Chain Bridge is just outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request or book a river view room is a must. Otherwise, there will be better in the Budapest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Ryanlohk,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am sorry to read that your stay in Budapest and in our hotel was not flawless. Already starting with the unpleasant arrival experience in Budapest. I am glad that our manager on duty could make the first impressions up with his caring and professional hospitality. On the other hand it makes me sad that right after these pleasant moments our receptionist displayed a behaviour that immediately ruined your feelings. We have taken this issue up with the whole Front Desk team and I can assure you that we will work hard that it never occurs again.
I am sorry once again for the inconvenience we caused to you.
I hope to have the possibility to welcome you back and show you our ability to deliver excellent service to you.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Everything about this hotel was really good except for the fact that they didn't give you free Internet. All the cafes in the streets offer Internet free which us great but inconvenient at times.

The location was wonderful right on the river. Lots of cafes and shops and cruises right at the front door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Joy L,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In regards to the internet issue I would like to inform you that upon consumption our bar and restaurant also offers internet free. It seems that we failed in communicating this service to you.
I am sorry about that.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This upmarket luxurious hotel offers an amazing location and great views over Buda, if you have a room overlooking the river. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean and neat and the wellness area offers a nice small pool and small sauna. If can be very busy here and because children are allowed also very noisy. The hotel has a few drawbacks that made me rate it Average; drinks and food are fairly overpriced. The very steep rates they charge for using Wifi are really something from the past. The bathroom is neat and clean but way too small for a hotel like this. We were also disturbed by staff walking into the room 3 times during our weekend stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Jasper L,
Thank you very much for your review.
I appreciate your feedback about your stay, commenting both on positive and negative impressions of yours. I have shared your comments with our management team and will work on improve on our performance in order to offer the best services to our guests.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The InterContinental Budapest is a mixed bag when it comes to high-end hotels in Budapest. Its outside shows its age and inside, the quality of facilities seem to be a peculiar mish-mash of modern and old. Nonetheless, everything is in very good condition and hotel itself is spotless.

Rooms are on the smaller side but the size is largely compensated if you are fortunate enough to get a room with a river view. Morning and night, you can admire the stunning Buda Palace, even from the comfort of your bed. Breakfast was nothing exceptional, but it was varied and was certainly a good value for money.

We were visiting Budapest mainly for function that was held in the hotel's ballrooms: the food at the event was of excellent quality and the hotel staff provided all attendees with a very high level of service.

My only criticism of the hotel is the WiFi policy. While I am used to having to pay for WiFi in hotels around the world, I am less accustomed to being asked to pay for each device that I use. More unusual still is the two-tier fee system, with a less expensive option for "slow" internet (for e-mails etc.) and a more expensive for fast internet (for Skype and other services). I would prefer if the slower internet were free to use for hotel guests and the fast internet would be paying.

That small detail aside, I was very pleased with the overall experience at the InterContinental Budapest and I will certainly consider it in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear JeanPaulJ,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also thank you for your nice comments on food and the services delivered during the event you attended in our ballrooms.
We appreciate your feedback about the internet charges and in this regard I would like to inform you about the latest news. InterContinental Hotels Group will introduce the new benefit of free internet, starting with Elite members in July 2013, and available to all members in 2014.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#13 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#22 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.