We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See you along the Danube” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Budapest to your Saves list
InterContinental Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 331 Hotels in Budapest
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“See you along the Danube”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Intercontinental - Budapest was the site of another meeting for one of my projects.

I highly recommend this hotel for meetings in the region. The service was friendly, the hotel was clean and well-maintained, the meeting services were exceptional and details were handled with care.

The hotel is situated along the Danube - many of the rooms (mine included) had an expansive view of the river, the Palace on the opposite shore and the many beautiful bridges.

My room was excellent with a single exception. The heating unit in the sleeping room (it was a 1 bdrm suite) was quite noisy. Other than that, the room was nicely appointed and comfortable and LARGE! I was exhausted each night and the bed was so comfortable.

The food in the hotel was delicious and they offered an enticing buffet for breakfast/brunch. There were many options and some thing for the big breakfast eaters and those who enjoy tea and toast. The dining area was very comfortable and a great place to start the day.

The meeting services were exceptional and the reception for the guests was a hit thanks to the catering team at the hotel. The meeting room was comfortable and accommodated our group perfectly. The A/V support and the event team came together to enable a very successful well received training meeting. All the attendees gave favorable comments related to the location.

The hotel is located along the river but also very close to lots of dining and shopping and tourism opportunities.

If you are doing business in the area or just exploring as a tourist, this hotel would be an excellent option for your accommodation needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmhinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed between the 7th and 11th March 2013 and would highly recomend this hotel to all who enjoy central location, comfort, fine cuisine and excellent service, this is a true 5 star hotel.On arrival we upgraded to a room overlooking the Danube, an extra 25 euros per night well worth the money, Our large picture window gave us a magnificent view especially at night when the river front and buildings were illuminated, just stunning.A big thankyou to all the staff who made us feel so welcome, we will return when next in Budapest.

Room Tip: Our room was 718 overlooking the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGSimcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear DGSimcock,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay and also the magnificent view from you room.
We do hope to have the possibility to welcome you back soon.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Located right on the banks of the Danube, this hotel offers spectacular views over the palace and the river. It's right in the middle of everything, so you can easily walk to the parliament, the palace, also shopping is nearby, so location wise, it doesn't get any better than this. Service was excellent troughout our stay, and so was the food. The buffet breakfast has plenty of choice, and we had dinner in the main restaurant which was very good aswell. Plus there are plenty of other places to eat nearby so regarding food, you are pretty much set. We went right before christmas, and they had a gingerbread house built in the lobby, and mulled wine to get you all warmed up after a long walk in the city...and i must say that was a nice touch. My only concern is that after the take all the decorations away after the holidays, the reception and lobby area might look a little out dated, so some sort of refurbishment would take this place to another level. But all in all, a very good hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deckter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Deckter,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you had such a great time while staying with us shortly before Christmas.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The views from this hotel of the chain bridge and the Danube are spectacular. We ended up booking an additional night because we liked the hotel and budapest so much. Make sure to pay the extra amount for a river view (I think it is an extra 25 euro). The hotel is right in the middle of everything and we easily walked everywhere. We were also able to store our car in the garage which was very convenient.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C597044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear C597044,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much that even extended it with one more night!
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental during a 5 night visit to Budapest, and this was our first visit to the city. By all means, the hotel reached our expectations and the hosting was a true pleasure. Staff of the hotel is professional and speaks fluent English; Concierge services supplied us with everything we could have need - from taxis, through restaurant resevations and info regarding opening hours at different locations we wanted to visit.

Location of the hotel is perfect: it is straight in front of the Buda castle and has great view. It is 5 minutes away from Vaci Utca and everything is within walking distance so we hardly ever needed any public transport. In addition, it is pretty consolidated from lower-class hotels of Budapest so it's more calm and quiet yet very accessible.

Breakfast at the hotel is all-international and very rich. It has offerings to all guests - both families and the ones in a rush for a business meeting. We appreciated the healthy food area and found it thougtful towards guests who want to enjoy yet keep fit. The dining area is spotlessly clean, as it should well be in a 5 star.

I must mention the well-kept business lounge of the hotel, which was a real spot of convenience for us. The lounge gives full service for business meetings, a quick snack in the middle of the day or even a light evening drink. It sits right in front of the Chain bridge so the view during twilight was very nice. A dedicated presonall staffs the lounge and is helping with everything possible, including private check-in/out. There are a few computer spots and Wifi, and the space is designed with a contemporary falvour.

The spa of the hotel is located, as usual, in one of the lower floors and offer many treatments. We took one of the cosmetic ones and it was pretty good. Spa puts emphasys on a local Hungarian brand and promotes it via the spa. The therapsists were professional and kind, a the feeling was personable and relaxing. Definitely suits a finale for a hard day's work or a walk in the city.

We will definitely return to the Intercontinental one our future visits to Budapest and will of course recommend to take it. A warm welcome and an indulging experience guaranteed.

Room Tip: Insist on taking a room facing the castle and not a room facing the back building. And do take dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnietlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Ronnietlv,
Thank you very much for taking the time and place a review about your stay.
It makes me extremely delighted that you left the hotel with such positive impressions. Your detailed review I am sure will be much appreciated by other travellers as it really explains a lot what our hotel can offer to our guests.
I am glad that you visited our Club Lounge that is said to be one of the best lounges within the InterContinental Chain.
Also pleased to read that our Spa and its services were very well received by you.
Once again thank you for your praising words and it goes without saying that we look forward to welcoming you back.
With kindest regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Syayed one night on 5th floor without river view. If you do not have a river view don't worry there is a good view from bar and lobby. Room was well appointed with comfy king size bed. Service is excellent and the hotel is in an excellent location.

Breakfast is very good with a good choice, and we had a table overlooking the Danube an excellent way to start the day.

While there they were getting the outside patio ready for better weather. That must be an enjoyable way to spend a summer evening.

I certainly would recommend this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jotuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear jotuk,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services excellent.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

One of the prettiest hotels in Budapest. Located right opposite the Chain Bridge and the rooms also offer views of the chain bridge. The concierge is very helpful and the checkin checkout process is quick too.

The location is close to all the tourist attractions and also to a range of bars and restaurants.

Highly recommended if you wish to stay in Budapest!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the chain bridge and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikramogale14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear vikramogale14,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed the view over the Castle and Danube river.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#37 of 331 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,135 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 331 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 5,531 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing