We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend in Budapest for 2 ladies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Budapest

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Budapest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 331 hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend in Budapest for 2 ladies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here for a weekend in November. I arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport (through the hotel), which was lucky, as unbeknownst to my friend and I, Budapest airport is split in two and depending on where you're flying from, you could be a good 15 minute walk away from the other arrivals area. The driver the hotel arranged was very courteous and prompt, and spoke english well.
On arrival at the hotel, we upgraded to a room on the 6th floor with river views for an extra €25 per night. I know everyone has said it - but believe me, it's worth the money! The view is lovely. Our room was clean, had two comfortable double beds and the usual amenities and layout you'd expect of a hotel of this calibre.
Breakfast every morning was an unexpected delight - I am vegetarian (although my friend is not) and there was plenty to choose from. There is the usual coffee and various teas, fruit juices and bottled water. Along with this, is the ability to order a made-while-you-wait omelette with your choice of toppings, other hot food (mushrooms, hash browns, bacon, etc), pastries, bread, cheeses, jams and butter, lots of cereals and my favorite - a truly delicious bircher muesli (which I topped off with sour cherries - my mouth is watering just thinking about this dish!). There was also a separate area offering a Japanese selection of breakfast food.
In terms of service, the young gentleman that checked us in and out was fantastic. The Concierge service was a bit mixed. The restaurant recommendations were great, really spot-on, but there was the usual 'push' for their internal restaurant and we had to really insist that the lady book us a table at another venue for the evening we arrived. She kept saying they would be booked out and suggesting the internal restaurant, but when we made her call the other venue, we got a table straight away.
All in all, a fantastic stay and I will be back here if visiting Budapest again.

Room Tip: Pay for a river view, you won't regret it. We were on level 6 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear aussieladytraveller,
Thank you very much for your great review.
It makes me glad that you had such a great stay with your best friend in our hotel. Your detailed feedback on rooms, breakfast and other services of the hotel I am sure will be much appreciated by many travellers.
Thank you once more for your kind words.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,050
    465
    87
    25
    13
See reviews for
223
693
103
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Everything about the Inter is as good as can be expected, the service and staff are first rate and throroughly professional, the facilities are excellent, and the prices high. My only gripe is having to pay for internet usage in 2013 seems so behind the times and just pure penny pinching. We stopped being charge for tea and coffee making faciltiies in the room many years ago and surely internet can not be far behind.

Room Tip: The view is the key
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear DeeEss23,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
With reference to your comment on the internet charges I would like to inform you that InterContinental Hotels Group is currently evaluating this issue. We hope that soon we can come to a solution that is beneficial to our guests.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Intercontinental and my partner is an Intercontinental Ambassador. We had booked a room with river view, the breakfast was included, the only draw back was that we had to pay for the internet.
The gym and pool are very nice and the staff is friendly. Our room had a good size, the river view was just breath taking and the staff didn't forget to tell us, that they had upgraded us. How, we still don't know... The room wasn't bigger than other river view rooms.
The breakfast has a big range of different items: french toast, pancakes, eggs in all variations, fresh made omeletts as the customer wishes, sausages, grilled veggies, pastries etc. It a good choice. They even offer rice and miso soup for Asian guests.
The cleanliness of our room was good, esp the first day then we didn't get any update on the weather anymore and well, you could see that they just rushed through the room.
I didn't like that the receptionist had to repeat it tow or even three times when we checked-out that they had upgraded us. Well, that's one of the advantages to be an intercontinental ambassador for what you pay with an annual fee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear KristinMiles,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked our services.
Besides the positive comments, unfortunately you experienced some less positive issues and I would like to give you some feedback on that. You were upgraded into a large river view room while your booking was made for a standard river view room. Certainly, reception desk could have avoided to keep on repeating it to you. As for the cleaning service of your room we are sorry that you felt as it was done in a rush. This is not our standard at all, I can assure you that we will look into this matter in order to improve.
Many thanks again for your valuable feedback.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you stay here try and get a Danube view as it is the best view I have ever had in a hotel, views of the chain bridge (although we didn't upgrade our room, we joined the Ambassador programme which entitled us to the river view which is a years subscription for $200 and it entitles you to upgrades throughout the intercontinental group). To be able to sit in the window and appreciate the views was just fantastic, thats when you finally get out of the comfortable bed.

Location is great as there is a tram stop immediately outside the hotel. Depending on how long you are staying in Budapest, the travel ticket is good value. We purchased a 36 hour ticket but for about 4 euros more you could have got a 7 day ticket. Check before you buy. The tickets covered tram, metro and I think bus too. We even got on the finicular railway with this ticket.

Staff were very courteous. We stayed here over New Year so it was very busy (and my cough cough 40th birthday). We did ask the concierge where the best place for the firework display would be but he didnt think know if there was one. We found that alot of fireworks were happening impromptu outside the hotel on the tram tracks and also in the main square. Location wise though vorsmarty square was less than 5 minutes away.

Breakfast had a very good choice of food continental and international including japanese dishes, egg dishes were mostly on request.

Would definitely be back here now I am part of the Ambassador programme.

Room Tip: room with view of the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear topcat1972,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you felt worth joining InterContinental Ambassador program.
Thank you very much for your great comments on the view, breakfast and hotel staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect, service is very good and the rooms (standard ones) are also good. Breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of food but fresh juice and fruits would be welcome. The business facilities were great even for a group of 200 people.
Only minus point: the bar shuts at 1 am even on a Friday nights...

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Laetisz,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you had a great stay with us.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Location was fantastic, I don't think you could get better. Walk-able to everywhere.
Like everyone else, make sure you get a Danube river view, really beautiful and magical.
We felt very welcome at the hotel from the moment we walked through the doors.
As with all Intercontinental hotels, the bedding is gorgeous, and Super-King beds so luxurious.
Great black out curtains, for a gorgeous nights sleep.

My only complaint is that you have to pay for WiFi, and its certainly not cheap. There is absolutely no reason for a hotel of this standard to make guests pay for this service.

However - fantastic hotel, location being the best factor!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Sophie C,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As for your comment on the internet charges please be informed that InterContinental Hotels Group is evaluating this issue at the moment. I hope that we can offer a beneficial solution to our guests soon.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Perfect location in the city centre close to all the main restaurants plus perfect view of the Danube and Buda. Welcoming from the moment of arrival making a very relaxed stay. Excellent rooms,and quite the best breakfast buffet with fresh food and first class service. Good bar and relaxing reception areas. In short great place to stay with faultless service.

Room Tip: River view well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear andrew c,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you had a great stay with us.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#17 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#21 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.