We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, expensive amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Budapest to your Saves list
InterContinental Budapest
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, expensive amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel itself was great. The staff was wonderful and very helpful! The location couldn't be beat! Our room was amazing, right on the water, overlooking the Chain Bridge. The rooms were modern, spacious and well decorated.

That said, I just wish that they didn't nickel and dime you for all of the amenities. Internet was something like 20 Euro a day! Ridiculous! I'd rather that they made our room more expensive and have that be free. Especially when traveling, internet access is so important. It just disappointed me.

Aside from that, I would have given them 5 stars, But maybe you don't mind paying for internet.

Room Tip: Get a room on the water. They are totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear LynnieLou619,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As for your remarks on internet charges please be informed that InterContinental Hotels Group is evaluating this service at the moment and we hope to come to a beneficial solution soon.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    519
    94
    24
    13
See reviews for
254
793
113
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in Dec and it exceeded our expectations. It was prime location in the middle of the centre and right on the river. It was a short walk to the christmas market, shops, bars and restaurants. It was also a short walk over to the other side of the river which was home to budda castle. The breakfast was fantastic so much to choose from and well worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear jomofo,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you had a great stay with us.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel InterContiental during our first visit to Budapest. The hotel was located riverside of the Danube River. The view of the historical bridges, Buda Castle, and Danube river from this location was just breathtaking. Many restaurants and shops were waking distance from this hotel. The staff was excellent & kindly assisted us with dinner recommendations, dinner/show reservations. The staff was very helpful and cordial. The rooms were quite large, clean, and comfortable. It was very nice to return to a comfortable and clean hotel after our busy days in this magical city. P.S. they have WiFi!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear gabrielarg77,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me extremely happy that you chose our hotel during your first stay in Budapest.
Also thank you very much for complimenting on the friendliness of our staff.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Budapest is a beautiful city and well worth a visit at any time of the year. We visited the Christmas Markets and stayed at the 5 Star Intercontinental which overlooks the River Danube in the heart of the city. It is a fantastic hotel with very attentive, friendly staff where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped and ours overlooked the Danube and the castle area on the opposite embankment. It was a view to die for especially at night with the Chain Bridge and historic buildings lit up. Everywhere worth visiting in the city is well within walking distance of the hotel, including reasonably priced restaurants. Breakfast was sumptuous with a vast choice of hot and cold food and the overall package was unbelievable value. This will inevitably change as the city continues to develop in the future as a tourist 'must visit' destination......and we will definately visit again and stay at the Intercontinental Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to secure a river view room even if it costs a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear jspencer1,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you wish to return to us.
Our hotel rooms overlooking the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle have definitely one of the most beautiful views in Budapest.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here at the start of a Danube River cruise. We loved the view from our window across the Danube. The breakfast buffet was vast and the food excellent. We had two dinners here (one on the patio/terrace) and both were very good. I booked a hair appointment in the hotel and had excellent service. I did not speak Hungarian but we managed to communicate just fine. I would recommend this hotel for any traveler.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear corkiek,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you had a great stay with us and that you were pleased with our services.
I hope you enjoyed the Danube River cruise, too.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I'm only not giving 5 because I've never been to a 5* hotel before so can't compare it!

The rooms were comfortable with the usual tea and coffee and mini bar. There was nothing particularly stunning about the room itself that set it aside from 4* hotels. This included the content and the size. I was slightly disappointed with the bathroom which was a bit small and not particularly 5*.

The view on the other hand, was amazing. Absolutely worth paying the extra.

The service was fantastic, really helpful staff with brilliant English. My room was ready 5 hours before check in time and they were more than happy to allow me in. The choice of pillows was also excellent!

Breakfast was fantastic, with Hungarian pastries, a typical continental selection of meats, cheese and bread, an English style cooked breakfast selection, cereals and a Japanese selection including roast salmon.

The spa was lovely, perfectly clean and amazing facilities. The pool was a bit on the small side but hey, I wasn't expecting an olympic sized one! The staff here were particularly helpful.

The only downside was the charge for the internet. I know there is a charge for wifi (which I believe they are reviewing) but my only wifi device was broken. I therefore opted to buy an internet card to use at one of the 3 computers by the lobby. I think around 8 euros for half an hour is extortionate and totally unnecessary. The hotel wont lose any money for providing free internet points. I believe my hotel>>>airport shuttle was actually the same price or slightly cheaper!

Overall a great place with great staff and a great location. I hope to be back.

Room Tip: Get the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Hanif87,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am sure that other travellers will appreciate your detailed description of different services, aspects of the hotel.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As for the free internet please be informed that InterContinental Hotels Group is evaluating this issue at the moment and we hope that we can come to a beneficial solution soon.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The InterContinental Budapest right nearby the Chain Bridge in the fifth district of Budapest ist one of the best hotels in town. The service staff do a gread job, the rooms are good and the size of the bathrooms are ok. If you like it, book the Club Intercontinental - one of the best lounges/clubs in hotels I have seen until today.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Reiseprofi_Wien,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Also thank you for recommending our Club Lounge as one of the bests in hotels you have seen.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Budapest
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.