We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect start to our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #19 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“perfect start to our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying here for a week with my new wife, which was the start of our travels around Europe. The location can't be better for seeing the city sights and the quality of the hotel is excellent. We mentioned when booking that we were staying for our honeymoon, and we got a excellent room with a view across the Danube to the chain bridge and Buda castle. As a surprise for us they had had a free bottle of champaine waiting on ice for us when we arrived, and had a relaxing time there and are glad we started our trip off well.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBudapestGR, The Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were part of a memorable honeymoon stay in Budapest. We do appreciate your comments regarding the quality of our services and we are very glad that you liked the view from your room.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,681
    653
    112
    27
    17
See reviews for
315
1251
133
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I booked in travel websites with standard room.
Because we were in honeymoon, they gave us a nice room.
With good luck, I stayed a sweet room.
The river view in the room is so great, the room is excellent and new and huge.
Location is great.

Definately, I will stay again ... if i go to Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, September 11, 2009
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the panorama view to the Danube and Castle district from your room .
We are also pleased about your positive feedback regarding the location of our hotel.
We congratulate again to your wedding and we wish you all the best.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I have stayed at the hotel for the weekend. I really enjoyed the warm welcome at the reception. I have to mention Mr. Zsombor, who was really helpful during my stay. Also other receptionists were ready to help. Hotel lobby is just great - very impressive. I really liked library as well - because it contains a lot of books about Budapest and Hungary so I have checked most of them. Thay were very helpful. We even made a trip to one of the cities - Szentendre, which I found a great book about.
Our rooms was great - with a view on the Danube -which really is worth paying a bit more.
I was a little disappointed on breakfast. I expected a bigger variety on bread. It is quite expensive and nothing special. Well...
Otherwise I really found waiters at the bar very very nice and helpful, as well as the bell boys.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBudapestGR, Guest Relation Department at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Bibliotek Lounge with all Hungarian books about famous cities. the. We are also very happy about the fact, that you were satisfied with the professional service of our collegue Zsombor at the Reception, the waiters and bell staff as well.
We appreciate your remarks regarding the selection of bread offered on the Terrace. As a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our management so we may improve our facilities and services.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I stayed on the executive floor. The lounge was small and not well stocked. There isn't even a refrigerated drinks cabinet and it smelled of stale coffee. The lounge staff are nice enough but can't provide you with much. If you want an adaptor go to the concierge, a city guide - go to the concierge, a printer or fax - well I didn't even ask. Apparently only suites have king or queen beds, so if you move around in your sleep be prepared to end up on the floor. All the power outlets are on a wall on the floor with a space you have to walk through to close the curtains so the cords are continuously getting tripped over. Half the outlets didn't work and the phone jack was hanging out of its socket. Even the room cleaning staff pull all your power and charging cords out as they are doing whatever. The table lamp by the desk is huge and heavy and always in the way in the tiny room. The cleaning staff do not replenish the drinking water unless requested. Also they very considerately y pull out the key card you may have inserted in the power slot when you go out for sightseeing so whatever you had hoped to be charging in your absence is totally dead when you get back. The gym has really old equipment with poor variety and poor quantity. Lastly the breakfast selection is really poor for a European hotel of this standard. 3 types of soap like cheese, 3 kinds of bread, 3 kinds of jam. The omelettes are tiny. I had to ask for two portions. Not value for $.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBudapestGR, The Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, September 20, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We were very concerned to read your remarks regarding your stay with us. And we feel especially sorry about the fact, that we did not have any knowledge about these inconveniences during your stay in order to help you on the spot and talk about the issues. Please let me assure you, that our guests' well-being is most important for us. All the staff is working very hard to make every guest feel welcome and ensure them unforgettable moments at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Please be assured that the involved department Managers have been informed and the raised issues are being discussed which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our services.

Again, thank you for your comments. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Book this hotel through yeego.com. I got a steal and paid 120USD with breakfast!!!! visited last week of august with my wife and another couple. The hotel location is fantastic. the breakfast is great! BUT i was made to wait 2 hours till 4pm! for my room and was offered only 1 drink from the hotel bar. I was made to pay for the remaining drinks. considering I had a long 9hr flight to get here I expected better when I arrived. Concierge is helpful but if you are looking for more information about the nightlife(bars, clubs) they are pretty clueless.. we went to the intercontinental hotel right next door and they were a big help. had a great satday night at a club called Citadella! Overall hotel and staff was great and I would not mind staying here again. I also had the danube view room and I recommend you take it cuz it does not get better than this!!!!!!!! enjoy..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially appreciated the breakfast and the central location of Sofitel Budapest, as well as the panorama view from our Luxury rooms.

We do apologize for the delay of getting your room. Concerning the Concierge we are going to review the night offer of the city from now on.

Thank you again for your comments, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for a total of one week in two different rooms. We found two insects in our first room (like beetles) the showers run hot without warning (likely when someone else runs water in a different room) and the maid servise doesnt properly clean the rooms including the bathroom. Front desk informed and not willing to provide any compensdation or support. Buffay breakfast not worth 10 Euros and they charge 30. I I promise you this is not a 5 star hotel. 3 maybe. Sofitel may be good in other countries but not this one.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We were very concerned to read your comments about your stay at Sofitel Budapest. We do take all remarks seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.
Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies with regards to the cleaning of your room. We would like to assure you, that proper steps have been taken to avoid such and similar situation in the future. We kindly inform you, that a full renovation of our water system will be completed in the near future.
We were surprised to read and we are extremely sorry that no support was provided from our colleagues upon informing them at the reception, as we have colleagues dedicated to handle requests of our guests here during their stay. We are working on improving the communication.

Thank you again for your comments, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, please contact us.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL AVIV
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

this is one of the best i have ever been
location location location
breakfast is great

and book always danube view
to llok at 20;00 in the evening.....amazing

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, September 20, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We are especially glad, that you returned with the best memories of our breakfast and that your were pleased with the view out of your room to the river Danube and the Royal Castle.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#8 Family Hotel in Budapest
#9 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Escapio, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.