We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Sofitel Chain Bridge has an excellent location with many attractions within 5-10 minutes walk. We had a luxury room with a view of the Chain Bridge and also across to Buda Castle and also the Fisherman's bastion was visible. At night, the views were particularly impressive with the lights. If you exit the hotel to the right, you can quickly reach St Stephens Basilica and the famous Gerbaud Patisserie, plus the metro can be found here. Another point to mention are the beds, they are most definitely the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in, pure bliss....

Room Tip: Best views are in the Luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    853
    169
    43
    26
See reviews for
426
1,685
178
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location near main attractions.
Very nice breakfast with lot of choice.
Comfortable and large enough room. We had a lot of luggage and our small baby with us.
We got excellent service from the staff.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us, and we are looking very much forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

LOCATION: In the heart of the city on the Pest side of the Danube, it's a 5 minute walk across the Chain Bridge to Buda Palace and all the other Buda sights with Matthias Church and the Fishermen's Bastion a few minutes walk away. It's also worth the hike (as opposed to a lazy-bones bus) up Gellert Hill in the other direction to the imposing Citadel and Liberty Statue that dominates the Budapest skyline - as you ascend the hill, the view of Budapest grows ever more breathtaking with the city and the Danube glittering at your feet.

Back on the Sofitel's Pest side of the Danube, it's a few minute's walk to to St Stephen's Basilica (more great views from the dome) and, from there, it's a leafy walk up the grand promenade of Andrassy Avenue past the State Opera House to the Franz List Museum and beyond to Heroes Square and the City Park.

I arrived by plane. Don't be fooled by the taxi touts in the terminal but go outside to the taxi booth where you're given an estimated price, a numbered ticket and a taxi is immediately summoned. My trip to the hotel was HUF8,000 incl. tip (sounds a lot but only about €26, in which you can also pay). I departed by train: about 7 minutes walk away (or a short taxi ride) from the "Sofitel is a metro station from which it's just 3 stops to the main Keleti station.

Invest in a Budapest Card (from one of the Information Kiosks around the city) which includes priority entry to Buda Palace and other sights as well as unlimited free use of the metro.

ROOM: It's worth paying extra for a Sofitel Luxury Room with a Danube River view - Buda Palace was perfectly framed by my window with the Chain Bridge, Matthais Church and Fishermen's Bastion to the right. This scene was a source of ever-changing pleasure, day and night.

The room was large with an entrance leading to a small dressing area and a large bathroom (with superb quality Lanvin toiletries - in keeping with Sofitel's French heritage). Beyond a partition wall is the room proper with KS bed (two large conjoined singles with duvet type mattress toppers which were a bid soft for my ascetic taste but were easy removed to give a firmer surface on which to sleep), armchair, buffet with minibar and in the bay window, an elegant oval bureau plat at which to sit and send emails or just admire the view.

In my room, a brown palette was a bit too heavy for the pale walls but with the view commanding most of the attention, one barely noticed.

HOUSEKEEPING: Efficient and clean. Smiling staff generally (and understandably) speak little English and my Hungarian was limited pretty much to 'please' and 'thank you' which made for a couple of funny exchanges where sign language saved the day.

SECURITY: One of the smallest safes ever encountered - strictly one for your passport and perhaps a few of your finer jewels (even a standard size iPad had to go in at an angle). However, with floor access only by room key-card and all rooms opening into a cavernous atrium that provided scrutiny of comings and goings from a myriad of vantage points, I had no qualms about security.

NOISE LEVEL: No issues. Solid doors and double glazed windows ensured peace and quiet.

WIFI: Strong signal, no problems. Access renewal required every 24 hours but easily effected.

POWER SOCKETS: Three at floor level by the desk. An iPad lead just made it and no problem for other devices.

BREAKFAST: An extensive selection that requires reconnoitring to ensure that no delicacy is missed. Omelettes made to order. Good vegetarian options.

VALUE FOR MONEY? Good. I pre-paid with breakfast included and was well satisfied.

COME AGAIN? I hope so. I write that as someone who generally prefers boutique hotels and serviced apartments to the multi-national hotel chains (because of indifferent experiences with other brands in the past). A misunderstanding when I checked in had me wondering whether the curse of the multinationals had struck again. However, it was soon resolved with impressive good grace so that annoyance metamorphosed to appreciation. Service was discreet and efficient, rendered with the sort of smile that speaks every language.

I originally chose the Sofitel Chain Bridge because compared with the alternatives available, it appeared to offer the best Budapest experience. It surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for having chosen Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge for your holiday in our stunning city. It is our great pleasure that you took your time to share your experiences and opinions regarding your previous stay with us.

We are more than happy that the exclusive central location of our hotel, next to the Danube river, in the heart of the Hungarian capital exceeded your expectations. Sofitel Budapest is a perfect starting point to discover the most famous sights of our amazing city. We do hope you could enjoy all the benefits of this great location. It is wonderful to hear that you were also contented with your beautiful room and all of its facilities, principally with your king sized bed and the Lanvin toiletries. We are absolutely glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the breathtaking panoramic view of the fabulous Chain Bridge and the historical Castle District directly from your window. Furthermore we are delighted that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and the security of our hotel as well. Thank you so much for your kind words about the attitude of our staff. All we strive is to provide a superior service experience to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible; therefore your positive feedback is very important to us. We are extremely grateful that the wide selection of our American Buffet Breakfast also met your taste.

Thank you very much once again for sharing your review with us. We do hope you gained truly unforgettable memories during your holiday in Budapest and your stay with us. We are very much looking forward to welcome you back at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A stressful journey when Brussels airlines lost our luggage was made worse when having arrived during the middle of the night we asked for it to be delivered to our room at 8 am. At 9.10 am no luggage I decided to go direct to the concierge myself to pick it up. I found three of the concierge team stood around talking and was told "sorry we were busy"!!
Had to chase housekeeping for fresh towels
Tea & coffee not replenished
Bottled water only supplied 2 days out of 4
TV channels French predominantly some German only English was news.
I travel extensively on business and frankly this is not a truly international hotel

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are very concerned to hear your comments; please allow us to apologize for any inconveniences caused.

We do take all feedbacks very seriously and we would like to assure you that appropriate measures will be taken in this regard to avoid such and similar situations in the future.
We do put great emphasis on training our staff constantly in order to provide a superior service and offer our guests a wide range of assistance.

Thank you very much again for raising your concern with us, and it is out hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

hard to add anything more to what has already being said about this fabulous hotel although I do have one thing. Having emailed the hotel several times and told them I had an interest in photography on walking in to our amazing room we found a small present in the form of box of post cards with images of the city on them and a note saying I might like to photograph these locations. Wow I thought how kind and something id never experienced before.
My only sadness form our truly fantastic 7night stay was I couldn't take the bed home with me, it was divine :)
Hats off to Luca and the staff for making our stay truly wonderful and I couldn't recommend this hotel more to folk if I tried.
Book it you wont regret it:)

Room Tip: ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and post your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time here and especially that you mentioned one of our Reservation colleague as she made your stay more memorable, we are truly glad to read such a great review about your experience.

It is always our pleasure when our guests feel themselves at home and when they are content with our facilities and services, therefore thank you very much for your feedback of the magnifique MyBed as well.

We would be more than happy to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Budapest, until then we wish you all the best!

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great hotel located adjacent to the InterContinental and Four Seasons near the Chain Bridge on the Pest side of the Danube. Overlooking a small park, our room offers a great view across the river of the Buda Castle; a sight to behold night and day. Close proximity to 24hr convinience store, restaurants, shopping and public transportation makes this a centrally ideal base to explore the city which is walk able. Rooms are well appointed with all the usual amenities. Good, strong uninterrupted free wifi is another great plus. Again, cold air cond, hot hot water and a comfortable bed in a large spacious room, what else could one ask more for? TV has many English speaking channels enabled me to keep up with news of the world.Breakfast was absolutely smashing that will satisfy any gargantuan appetite. The staff from the bell hops to check out were very warm, helpful and a delight to deal with.
Their advice about taxis especially if you are not a caucasian looking tourist proved true. Always get the bell hops to call you a taxi for there are many yellow taxi lookalikes are actually illegal and THEY WILL SCAM YOU! Some will not reset their meters once their previous fares alight, we promptly took down number plates before asking how much the real fare was and that did the trick. At many tourist spots, they may ask for triple the fare and the lead taxi driver at the rank will inform the other queueing taxis in the rank to charge the same until they hit paydirt when a sucker gives in. We just went to a nearby hotel to order a taxi and avoided being stung, as we have been advised by the hotel bell hops. For those who would like to tempt and test their luck, a passport is required for entry to the casino attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your opinion about our hotel. We appreciate our guests' feedback very much, therefore it means a lot to us that your experiences about our hotel were positive.

We are happy to hear that the central location of our hotel made your stay in Budapest more comfortable, and you were satisfied with the view from your room as well.
It is really a great pleasure to us that our services met your expectations regarding the room facilities, as we are delighted to read, that you were satisfied with the bed, the size of the room and the variety of the TV channels.

We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences about the taxis, and we would like to emphasize that every tourist has to be cautious in such situations. It is always the best idea to turn to our experienced hotel staff when booking a taxi, so that no incident can happen.

Once again we would like to thank you for sharing your nice review with us, and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantasic hotel in a great location right in the centre of Budapest with public transport links very close by. We stayed in a standard room which was perfect for us and was a very comfortable home for 4 nights. The views from the hotel bar and restaurant were fantastic and we spent a rather warm afternoon sat outside on the terrace enjoying a glass of wine and the view over to the Royal Palace and the bridge. We also used the swimming pool and sauna which was lovely and extremely clean. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was beautiful. Everything you could think of and more! Service was very good from all staff and felt very happy with our choice of hotel. Would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your nice review with us about your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It is our great pleasure to hear that you had such a positive impression during your holiday in Budapest.

We are absolutely delighted that the unique central location of our hotel, next to the Danube river and with the most famous sights of our stunning capital city nearby exceeded your expectations. It is wonderful that you were also contented with your beautiful room and all of its facilities, principally with its comfort. We are more than happy that you had a nice time in our Paris Budapest Restaurant and Bar and could enjoy the breathtaking view of the fabulous Chain Bridge and the historical Castle District as well. We do hope you spent refreshing hours in our Spa area too. We are extremely glad that the wide selection of our American Buffet Breakfast also met your taste. Furthermore thank you so much for you kind words about the attitude of our staff. All we strive is to provide a superior service experience for our guests; therefore your current feedback is very important to us.

We do hope you enjoyed every minute of your vacation in our fascinating city and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge soon.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,180 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#41 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.