We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, but rooms are tired.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #22 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Brazil
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location, but rooms are tired.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights at the Sofitel and I was pleased with my choice. I am a Sofitel fan and that's my first choice when I travel. So I can say that it is not the best. In fact, it is the one I liked the least.
While the location is unbeatable and breakfast was standard (in a good sense), the amenities are first class (Hermes) the rooms are tired.
Change the carpets and the shades, do away with the furniture. Then it'll be a 5 star.
As I could see in another review, the rooms are too warm, and my companion and I had to sleep with the windows open while the temperature outside was 5 degrees centigrade.
Another complaint is the bathroom. There's no separate shower (unlike all other Sofitels I stayed in), and the tub is extremely high. It is quite dangerous climbing out of it, after a soapy shower.
If there is a next time in Budapest, I will certainly stay at Sofitel, but I would choose a room with a shower.

Room Tip: A room facing the bridge, and with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback provided to us about your stay. We are concerned to hear about your inconvenience regarding the room. Unfortunately as the weather is changing we are trying to reach the most comfortable temperature in the hotel, however it takes time to set properly and we will take serious steps to check the showertub as well.
Apart from that I hope you enjoyed your stay and we can welcome you back again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,893
    729
    134
    34
    21
See reviews for
360
1,425
151
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our stay in the Sofitel was excellent. Comfortable bed, fantastic location that was central to everything we wanted to see. Only complain was that the room was a little too warm, though it would not stop us from staying here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a river side room for fantastic views across the Danube to Budapest Castle and Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have experienced great service and you have enjoyed our my MyBed which is unique in all Sofitel hotels.

I was really concerned about your remark of the room temperature. I forwarded your notice to Maintenance Manager who will investigate the issue.
Please rest assured we will do our very best to avoid this situation in the future.

We hope to welcome you back in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The most relaxing stay from start to finish.
Great hotel in the best location right next to chain bridge and within walking distance of all attractions.
Breakfast a little steep but great selections of foods would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are contented to hear that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel and also with the selection of the breakfast we served to you.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

hotel was great, good staff,, great entertainment, went for a stag, brilliant

the only down side was breakfast was very exspensive, don't get much for the bed

bedrooms are very clean, great entertainment in the room,

recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We were very glad to hear that you were so much pleased with the work of the staff and also with the cleanliness of the bathroom. We are always on to make your experiences as pleasant as it can be, so we appreciate much your review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.