We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a wonderfull weekend staying at Sofitel Chain Bridge. The mini suite that we had was spacious and clean and it has an amazing view of the Dunabe and the Chain Bridge! Sofitel is just a few steps from the Vaci Utca, where is the main market. The breakfast had everything that you can imagine... plenty of goods, big variety and local products. It worths a try (at least). The staff was helpful and our check-in and check-out became almost instantly, in spite that Sofitel is a big hotel with lot of guests. We want to special thank the smiley, polite and extremely helpful director of sales and marketing of the hotel, mrs Dana Janigova! We really had a great stay at your hotel and we thank you for your hospitality! We wish you a happy new year!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our staff, the breakfast selection and the spacious suite exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,259
    858
    170
    44
    26
See reviews for
428
1,693
179
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

An amazing hotel with an amazing location. we came for our anniversery. the stuff was very kind tryingto please your stay there. the room was great. recommand to take the chain bridge view. we defently will go back to this chain.

Room Tip: try to have the chain bridge view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a positive feedback. It is nice to hear that our service has met your expectation and you have had a pleasant stay with us. Your positive comment will encourage our colleagues to maintain the excellent service.

We will warmly welcome you back next time in Budapest.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Had a wonderful river view from my suite. The restaurants at the hotel served food to impress my taste buds. The rooms were big and spacious. The hotel is clean and staff is friendly. Breakfast spread was good. Overall a treat to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us such a positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our cuisine and you have found your room to your liking. It is nice to know that our service has met your expectation.

We hope to welcome you back in Budapest soon.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Exceptional!! the level of service at this hotel was A* and would recommend highly.its in a great location and loved every minute of my stay.The Christmas Market was close by too just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here to go to the Christmas markets. A little disappointed by the markets, having been to Munich last year, but certainly not disappointed by the hotel. Service was excellent, particularly in the restaurant for our evening meal.. The hotel was very comfortable, the concierge very helpful, superb breakfast and excellent location. Central for the markets, shops and sites. Would thoroughly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation with us.
It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and that you were satisfied with our cuisine.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city.

We wish you happy holidays.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We booked the hotel from home some months ago. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded from Superior Room to 2 room Suite with a River view. And what a view! Left the curtains open all night just for the view. And this morning the cloud has disappeared and despite a winters morning we are having a sun rise. Wow! What a beautiful city. And it didnt stop there. The room upgrade included access to the Executive Lounge on the top floor (8) providing "the view", complimentary drinks, and large variety of canapes with table service. This morning we will enjoy breakfast also in the Executive Lounge. Before making use of the Lounge we walked 200 metres to one of the best Christmas Markets. The food was just amazing and we ended up having our tea from one of the vendors and sitting in the freezing cold to eat it. But that added to the experience. The hotel is well located to the main shopping centre (100 metre walk) and the iconic Sofitel service. We have stayed in many Sofitel resorts and hotels but this must be up there with best. Currently I am in the study watching the sun rise. Magic! Dont know how we were selected as "Guest of Day" (and thus the upgrade) or whether we were one of a few, but the experience would be worth paying full tariff. Thank you Sofitel Chain for making a superb start to our Budapest to Amsterdam boat cruise. Dont want to leave the hotel!!

Room Tip: Take some Hungarian Florint with you if you are buying off the street or travellinh by taxi. Their e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our executive Club on the 8th floor.
Christmas is always a special time with all the markets and the fairy lights but our city has its wonders during summer time as well. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in December 2013 and was impressed by several things:
1) The beds were exceptionally comfortable
2) The location was wonderful
3) The hotel restaurant was very good
4) The staff were all friendly and efficient

When I left the hotel, I received an email about an item found in my room. While the item had actually been from another room (these things happen; housekeepers have to clean lots of rooms and the occasional confusion is understandable), the staff communicating with me were especially accommodating, even sending pictures so I could ensure the item was not mine. I was very impressed with the way they handled that.

The one criticism I did have of the hotel was that the room itself was a little run down; an update or freshening of the paint and tiles would do wonders for the rooms. It wasn't bad, don't get me wrong, but it was not up to the standards of the striking lobby.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so very much pleased with our My Bed system and with the service of our restaurant you experienced in our hotel during your stay.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,190 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#41 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,837 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.