We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday, Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Victoria, Malta
1 review
“Amazing Holiday, Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Sofitel Chainbridge Budapest for 3 nights. We booked a luxury club sofitel room with chainbridge and danube river view. We were welcomed and looked after exclusively especially by the concierge in the luxury suite! Being a special occasion for us, the sofitel team made it all special for us and we have nothing but praise for the staff!! I could not express enough my gratitude towards the luxury suite concierge they were helpful anytime for whatever reasons, they guided us and showed us top places to visit in budapest. We thought it was an unforgettable experience and that everything was perfect! Well done and keep up the good work! Thanks a lot!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your praising words. I am happy to know that the service provided by our staff exceeded your expectations.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,255
    856
    170
    44
    26
See reviews for
427
1,690
178
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Honestly I loved loved the hotel! it's modern , clean and in an awesome location. The shops are right around the corner. And the hotel is to the right of the Danube river where you can take a lovely cruise. The hotel offers free wifi in the rooms which is a plus for Europe. Take their local currency as most places don't really accept euros.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your time to post a comment of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge!

The entire hotel staff was delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We sincerely hope that we could have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the second time I stayed in this hotel. Location is superb - just in river front with amazing views. This time I got a room with Danube view ... breathtaking.
Checking in - one of the best experiences, Staff is well trained and keeps check in time to minimum - I would say 1 minute checking including change of the room - very impressing.
Free internet offered is nice - and do not worry that it says it is 256 Kb, this in reality is high speed connection :):):) I did not check the speed but judging from download time I would say 15+mbit :):):)
Breakfasts are very tasty.
If you are tired after work - take a slow walk along Danube -amazing experience.

And check out time - really great - it was about 30 seconds including putting in mini bar charges. First time in long time in hotels I saw for clerks working similtanously at reception.
Prices: reasonable for Budapest, and quite Modest for Sofitel.
Great job!

Room Tip: Danube front view room is a must if you are first time in Budapest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, and it was especially nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special and we are very happy that we succeeded in creating memorable experiences for you. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel needs a lot of work. The rooms are worn. Marks on the wall and plaster on the corner. @ of the wall outlets were coming off the wall. The front desk manager who was very nice tried to move us to another room. It was just as bad and smelled. The beds where shot. There was mold around the tub because the caulking was old. The rooms and the common area's need to be renovated. Very dated. Not 5 Star but still charging 5 star rates.
The breakfast buffet was very good. They had recently renovated the Spa and Gym area. Very nice. But did not make up for the poor condition of the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and I have nothing to complain the service was great the location is superb rooms r clean. They have a casino in the hotel. what more could we ask for!!!! I'd definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Teran Iran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

we went to this hotel for our honey moon in February 2013. it was winter, cold and snowy. but we had a very very great time there. the view of our hotel was wonderful .we could see Danube river and Royal palace. the hotel itself was luxury and big. many floors with fantastic decoration. we had their breakfast too. it was complete. different kinds of sussages i have never tasted before. above all, the staff were really friendly. they decorated our bed with two towels in shape of two swans!! lovely!!! they had put a bottle of champagne with a letter of congratulation as a gift. the manager of guest relations, i dont remember his name, came to welcome us and i asked him to have a photo with me and my husband. he accepted it kindly. i do recommand this hotel to every one who wants to have a memorable trip. they are wonderful.
about the location, it was in the heart of the city in walking distance to many historical and famous places such as Royal palace, Zero point ;etc.

Room Tip: the room with a view to the Chain Bridge and river is suggested
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and that you liked especially the small surprise that we prepared for you in the room. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed our location, and the hotel design in general, as well as the full American breakfast and the service provided. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We felt so special and pampered staying at this hotel. The room itself overlooked the Danube at Chain Bridge - enjoyed boat traffic and beautiful scenery. Comfy beds and top of the line shower and bath. We opted for the "Sofitel Club" top floor and couldn't have made a better choice. Each evening we had a lovely Danube view along with complementary drinks and sumptuous snacks. In the morning we could have a light breakfast there or a full breakfast downstairs. The food and facilities were not the best part, however. All the staff, without exception, was very helpful and friendly. The concierge desk answered numerous questions with delight....and in English. Hotel was in walking distance to most things and near transportation. We would definitely stay at this hotel if we visit Budapest again.

Room Tip: Want to feel pampered? Choose top floor overlooking the Danube and include the Sofitel Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,184 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#41 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#15 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.