We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat the Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Can't Beat the Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice for staying in the midst of one of Europe's most vibrant cities -- it is along the Danube, within walking distance of many major sights (e.g., St. Stephen's Basilica, the Vaci Utca, the Parliament, even Buda, via the Chain Bridge), great restaurants and coffee shops, and both the yellow and red line metros. We paid for a room upgrade (king-sized bed and a view of the Danube). Rooms are on the small side but well appointed and clean. The hotel is showing its age in some small ways (frayed carpet in the main lobby) but certainly nothing to complain about. Front desk and concierge staff are very friendly and speak English well.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a view of Buda -- the castle, the Danube, the Chain Bridge, and St. Matthew's Chur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, the spacious room and our friendly Ambassadors exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,258
    856
    170
    44
    26
See reviews for
428
1,691
178
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A great place to spend the last two nights after our wonderful cruise. Good location near the river, view of park, close to open air restaurants and a very wonderful nearby more formal one. Clean, spacious, good pool, wonderful beds.

Room Tip: View over the green park and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the comfortable Sofitel MyBed. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I have just spent seven very pleasant nights in room 412 forth floor at the front of the Sofitel Chain Link Bridge Hotel Budapest. If you are going to stay at this hotel it's well worth paying the extra to get a room with a view! Any of the rooms facing the Danube offer the most amazing views of Buda and the river traffic not forgetting the Chain Link Bridge which looks pretty magical after the sun goes down. Staying for a whole week does enable you to get a good feel of the quality of the hotel staff and I can honestly say I found the service to be really excellent at all times. As other reviewers have pointed out the location of the hotel is quite frankly superb and it would be one of the reasons I would return and would recommend it to anyone who is considering visiting this fascinating city. The only reason why I have not given our stay 5 stars is that the rooms are beginning to look at little tired but, when one takes into account all the good things about this hotel perhaps 4.5 stars would be a more accurate score. If you do decide to visit this great city and you grew up during the cold war a visit to the House of Terror 60 Andrassy Street shouldn't be missed. However, be prepared to leave emotionally drained and thanking your lucky stars if you were fortunate enough to be born into a stable democracy! All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would most definitely stay there when I next visit Budapest.

Room Tip: Pay the extra get a room overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation with us.
It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city.


Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A fantastic hotel experience all round - next time I'm in Budapest I will definitely stay there again, and I would definitely recommend it.
At around £185 a night it was to the cheapest room in town, but well worth it and very reasonable considering what you would pay elsewhere for a similar room.
I stayed in Room 818 on the top floor for two days, which had a commanding River view through a large bay window. The desk - where I spent most of the time when I was in the room - was right in the window - and it was very inspiring to look out to such a great Vista.
I felt immediately comfortable and would have been happy to spend a lot more time in the room. which was well proportioned and had everything you needed.
Just opposite on the hill was the Royal Place one of the city’s famous churches, with the Chain Bridge was just below.
From the outside, the hotel architecture is not the most attractive, although it is improved at night by an architectural lighting scheme which grazes up its blocky white exterior columns, but inside, everything is really tastefully decorated and designed.
There's an impressive open atrium onto which all the room floors open out boosting the really spacious feel to the building.
I paid a bit extra in the room price for access to the executive lounge also on the eighth floor just along the corridor, which also has amazing views that also curve round at 90 degrees to the river so you get a selection of different cut snapshots through its windows.
A selection of really tasty food and drink is available in here from early in the morning through to 9 pm and at the back is a room with two computers and printers which was really well maintained and everything worked easily.
The bed was conformable, high thread count cotton sheets and sumptuous pillows. The bathroom was a little small, but well organized and designed.
The staff were fantastic - all of them from the doormen the high to receptionists, concierge, bar attendants, cleaners, etc. - spoke good English and were polite, smiley and friendly, helpful and helped make you feel at home. This all important human touch is something many large chain hotels completely lack.
One night I had an after work drink in the Paris Budapest Bar which overlooks the Chain Bridge at ground level which was chilled and relaxed. It also has a large outdoor terrace.
I was working on Sziget Island while I was there which is about 15 minutes in a taxi in reasonable traffic ... so that was convenient enough. The hotel is right in the middle of the Old Town so I would imagine ideally positioned for city exploration .. Although I didn't do any of that as I was working.
The Free WIFI was somewhat slow – in fact it was the only thing letting down the truly 5 star service - although fine for EMail and a bit of web browsing, anything more serious - like the large FTP upload I needed to do – you can forget it! In the end I took the paid for option, and even that was really erratic speed wise ..... But after stopping and starting several times, it did settle at a reasonable speed and I managed to upload all my images just in time to meet my deadline!
Bearing is in mind for the next time ... I will most definitely stay there again and also in a similar room!

Room Tip: River view rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such an encouraging and delightful review of our hotel. I will personally make sure that your comments are shared throughout the staff members of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Our entire Sofitel Team would be more than happy to welcome you back during your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here with the most beautiful view. I would definitely recommend paying a bit extra for the Danube river view rooms as the views at night of the Royal Palace and Chain Bridge are just spectacular. The service was also very good and we were given great recommendations and directions by the concierge staff of what to see and where to eat. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and I would definitely come back to this hotel when visiting Budapest again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view and services provided by our staff. But we were especially glad to read that the recommendations of the concierge exceeded your expectations.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijeljina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel, and it was a great stay. The location is probably the best possible in Budapest, right on the Danube river, near the Chain Bridge, and right in the vivid city centre with many shops, restaurants, bars and clubs around. The interior design is beautiful, classy and everything inside is spotlessly clean. The upstairs corridors are open and overlooking the main lobby, so you have a great view as soon as you leave your room. The rooms are also very clean and comfortable.

Breakfast buffet was nothing short of amazing and it was served in a beautiful restaurant area. There was a great range of all the food you could imagine eating for breakfast, and all of it was fresh and very tasty.

The service throughout the hotel is also at the top level, and the staff were polite, efficient and professional.

Without any doubt, I would recommend Sofitel Chain Bridge to everyone, even the most demanding travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, the design of the lobby, the various breakfast selection and the friendly and helpful staff exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,184 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#41 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.