We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #20 of 328 Hotels in Budapest
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had three fabulous days here. They helped us find two sets of concert tickets in town, recommended good restaurants, and were so helpful with everything. My friend and I used the spa services which were terrific. The location is of major importance, it is in the heart of both sides of the towns Buda and Pest which made it easy to walk most everywhere. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet, and the amenities lovely. We did not opt for breakfast which was a bit costly and I never did use the wifi option-- too busy! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very thankful for such wonderful comments of our hotel. All members of the hotel staff work exceptionally hard to make sure that we could fulfill the needs of all customers.
We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    714
    128
    32
    20
See reviews for
348
1,375
145
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel was located at the foot of the chain bridge, this can be seen from the business lounge at night all lit up, it's beautiful. The rooms are well light and comfortable., we were there for 5 nights and didn't have any problems. The staff was most helpful and went out of their way to direct us via the trams and walking. The breakfast buffet was superb the wait staff was helpful as well. This is a great choice when your travels take you to Budapest.

Room Tip: Corner rooms tent do be a bit bigger. Ask for one facing the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Location, location, location! This hotel has much more to offer too. Our room also had a beautiful view of the Buda Castle, Chain Bridge and river. Gorgeous at night! It was very quiet and the beds were very comfortable. The huge, open lobby has a very posh feel to it. Breakfast was not included, and is very expensive, so we chose to eat at one of the nearby cafes. This is the only complaint I would have about the hotel. A continental breakfast should be offered in the restaurant. Everything else was spot on. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve a Danube view room. Spectacular at night and so lovely to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very thankful for such wonderful comments of our hotel. All members of the hotel staff work exceptionally hard to make sure that we could fulfill the needs of all customers.
We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stop through Budapest for work once in a while and stay at this hotel. Does a great job of providing a restful and comfortable stay. Great breakfast and location. You are right next to the historic chain bridge on the Danube and a 5 minute walk to shopping and dinning. Quiet rooms and room service that is willing to leave you alone when you are trying to rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed during the time of the highest level of the Danube and despite the potential problems, the hotel appeared to be well prepared. The location is great for exploring the city and close to the Chain Bridge if you want to wander over the Buda.
The room was comfortable however the housecleaning effort was way below par. On our second day they forgot to replace the towels, bath mats etc. and only one coffee cup for 2. It took nearly an hour after bringing it to the receptions attention that these were provided.
Breakfast (buffet) was excellent with a good variety for all tastes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast ,the location and the well trained saff regarding the Danube.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do appologize for the issue regarding the housekeeping .

As a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues. Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosier
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

we were upgraded to a junior suite facing the city. large bedroom with large bed and large bathroom. the shower room needs some more light inside. fruit basket was provided every day for free. free wifi in room. breakfast was not that cheap for the choice offered. try the breakfast at the bar parus budapest instead

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, the free Wi-Fi and the spacious bathroom exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Budapest in January 2013. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and even sent Prosecco and chocolates to our room as an anniversary surprise. The buffet breakfast was the best I have experienced in a hotel and we found the restaurant to be good quality and great value for money. We were fortunate to be given a room with a view of the Danube and Chain Bridge, definitely worth asking for if you are going to stay in this hotel. All in all a great hotel in a great central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with views over the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Escapio, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.