We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location in front of royal palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #20 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
gosier
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“central location in front of royal palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

we were upgraded to a junior suite facing the city. large bedroom with large bed and large bathroom. the shower room needs some more light inside. fruit basket was provided every day for free. free wifi in room. breakfast was not that cheap for the choice offered. try the breakfast at the bar parus budapest instead

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, the free Wi-Fi and the spacious bathroom exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,887
    727
    132
    34
    21
See reviews for
358
1,421
149
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Budapest in January 2013. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and even sent Prosecco and chocolates to our room as an anniversary surprise. The buffet breakfast was the best I have experienced in a hotel and we found the restaurant to be good quality and great value for money. We were fortunate to be given a room with a view of the Danube and Chain Bridge, definitely worth asking for if you are going to stay in this hotel. All in all a great hotel in a great central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with views over the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, rooms were very large, bed was very comfortable and lovely big bathroom. Shower was in the bath but not a problem getting in or out. They had a radio which could be heard in the room and bathroom and it had a classical music station which was lovely to listen to. The staff were very friendly,especially the doormen, veery helpful with direections etc. i changed money at the hotel with no problem. I had a view of the Chain Bridge and across to Buda but also onto a lovely park in front of hotel. THe breakfast was also verey plentiful, you could have, fruits, yoghurt, cereals etc. then breads and pastries of all descriptions, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, little sausages, mushrooms etc. they had an omlete station which i tried one morning and the omlete was delicious. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

It was nice to hear that the facilities of your room and the level of hospitality what you have experienced from our staff exceeded your expectations.

We do hope that you will choose us as your accommodation for your next visit and we can welcome you back soon.

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A truly pleasant stay at a lovely hotel in a superb downtown location. The views of The Chain Bridge are spectacular especially after sunset. The hotel is plush (though the decor is slightly dated), has extremely pleasant receptionists and concierges and the rooms were very clean throughout. The choice of English channels on TV was surprisingly good too. They promptly arranged for my return minibus trip reservation to the airport and made sure luggage was packed suitably.

Room Tip: Pay a few Euros extra and ask for the Danube river-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we were especially glad to read that the services of our concierge staff exceeded your expectations.

We do hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We just arrived today and were instantly happy with the vibe. The hotel and bar are very cool, staff attentive, and atmosphere is relaxed and hip. The room can face the Chain bridge and Danube which is very cool. The pricing is a little high, but you get what you pay for. It has a great restaurant called Paris too, so do it have to travel fal. Also a quaint square for dining and shopping is near by.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment. It is always a pleasure for us to receive such a great feedback from our guests.

We were especially happy to read that you enjoyed the bar, the nice view and the friendliness of our staff.

We do really hope that this nice impression will make you come once, and we can welcome you once again in the heart of Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights and while I didn't have a Danube view room, I did get the hotel for a very good price. On the first night I had a noise coming from the aircon and didn't sleep well. The next day when I complained, the hotel Guest Relations Manager, Emoke met me and apologized. She came up and heard the issue and had an engineer there almost immediately to fix the problem. When I returned to my room that night there was a complimentary fruit platter waiting, and a note of apology. I also had a follow up call that evening and again the next morning to see how I slept. As always the Sofitel Hermes toiletries were great! I was very impressed with the service I received and would highly recommend the hotel. I'm staying the next 3 nights at the InterContinental next door so will be reviewing that shortly.

Room Tip: Danube view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the efforts and the small attentions provided to you.
I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the noise with the air conditioning .

As a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues. Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I went for a Conference in May.
The location is simply perfect; walking distance from many city highlights, river view, Bridge view, etc.
Breakfast was very good and varied; drinks at the bar a bit pricey, but worth for a the location.
The staff was very polite, helpful and nice. The concierge staff gave their best to help me with internet connections, with restaurant reservations, and else.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed .the breakfast ad the concierge services We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Escapio, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.