We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #21 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived at 1am to be told there was a 'technical problem' with our room and they would put us up in the Four Seasons, just down the road. We were rather put out and duly followed the porter who trundelled our suitcases down the road to the hotel on a trolley. We had a lovely room in the beautiful 4 Seasons hotel and a first class breakfast. We then were asked to return to the Sofitel the next day, so our suitcases were wheeled back again on the trolley. We were met by a lady from management who was extremely apologetic and showed us to a beautiful suite on the corner of the hotel, with wonderful views across the Danube to the Castle, and of the Chain Bridge. Chocolates were sent to our room along with a card with an apology from the manager.

We were very impressed with the way the hotel managed this situation, and really had a wonderful stay, made even more comfortable by the fabulous upgrade to a suite with 4 bay windows and amazing views! We found the staff friendly and very helpful, and the breakfasts were very good. The hotel couldn't be more central for sightseeing and just walking out to a huge choice of lovely restaurants. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms/suites facing the Danube have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,101
    804
    148
    40
    24
See reviews for
401
1,575
163
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stamford, ct
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were very pleased with most aspects of this hotel: the location, the buffet breakfast ( so very extensive and delicious), helpful concierge, very fast elevators, interesting architecturally ( inside only), and quiet rooms ( with windows closed). Less than optimal was the "air conditioning" which, although set on the coldest setting ( it was in the high 80's), it did nothing to cool off the room. My husband excused this, explaining that in the spring, when temperatures could be hot or cold from day to day, the system can't be adjusted to accommodate either heating or cooling-- I debate the accuracy of this statement, but I'm not an engineer, so I'm not certain, I am sure, however, that other guests experienced the same sweltering heat and frustration, because it was a big topic of conversation at breakfast! The breakfast here is almost worth the cost of staying the night-- at least 100 linear feet of buffet items, and a chef to make custom omelette s, if you so desire. Right outside of the hotel is the number 2 tram, ( yellow)which travels along the shore on the Pest side of the river and travels down to the Central Market and beyond, and up to Parliament. Buy a multiple day pass, and save your feet-- you will most likely be using this tram and the other modes of public transit as you traverse this city to see the most interesting attractions, which are spread out all over the place. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a view of the Chain Bridge and the Danube. Everything is lit up at night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the breakfast during your stay.
Regarding your notes about the air-conditioning, I can assure you that as a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues. Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service. We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is situated bang on the river front & opposite to the Chain Bridge, so location is ideal. Food is fine. Rooms are spacious & comfortable. Feel Lucky if you can get a river side room. Special mention:- I have never experienced a faster wifi connection in a hotel..just lightening speed. Staff is very friendly. A must try if you are planning to visit the city of Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The shoiwer is very dangerous. Climbing into the very high tub wall is not safe. The chance of falling into or out of the tub is very high. Otherwise, things were fine, except that when we arrived, we were told that our room would be ready by 11:30. In fact, it was not ready until close to 2:00. Had I known this, I would not have agreed to pay an extra 36 Euros for this room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations regarding the room facilities, and the waiting time please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Phillipe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

First and foremost - Budapest is an incredible city, absolutely gorgeous. Lots to see and tons to do. I loved every single minute I was in this city, it certainly lives up to its reputation to really coming alive at night.

With that said, this is the first time I have ever stayed at a Sofitel. My experience with them was nearly perfect. Top class service, their concierge was amazingly helpful. We had a million and one questions/requests and they answered each one patiently and with a smile. They also never hesitated to help, offering to book reservations at spas and restaurants, chasing down the other side for available times if necessary.

Checking in was painless and I guess since it was a slow week for them, they upgraded us for free to a junior suite. The suite was really nice, spacious with a couch, love seat, desk and two tvs. The bathroom had a stand up shower and a tub and a nice marble top sink.

The suite didnt have much of a view but considering that all I would be doing in this room is collapsing after a long day of sight seeing and walking around, I was mainly concerned about the beds and whether or not they would be comfy and clean. Which they were, extremely comfy actually, it was almost hard to get out of bed in the morning.

The spa area was nice, the first night went for a dip in the pool and took the opportunity to check out the fitness center. the pool is kept at about 24 or 25 degrees celcius and the fitness center is pretty much what you would expect from a hotel gym. Few treadmills, couple smith machines and a small range of dumbbells.

Their breakfast, while quite good, is a bit on the pricey side, but that is something to be expected when staying at a hotel such as this one.

The hotel itself is very well situated, a lot of what people will want to see will be easily reached on foot. Almost all of the major hop on hop off tours have stops within five to ten minutes walking time from the hotel. Anything outside of a reasonable distance to walk(the baths for example) can easily be reached with use metro system. (the three day unlimited ride pass was an absolute steal)

The castle district is walking distance if you arent in a rush and just want to take in the city as you work your way up. The only time I found it easier to have the hotel set up a cab for me was when I wanted to go the the citadella restaurant on Gellert hill, as that is an even longer walk than the castle district.

Not sure what else there is to say, it is a luxury hotel with a reputation for excellence that they demonstrated each day I was there. All of their staff was great, the location was mint and the hotel itself just impressive looking. If you are looking for a place to stay in budapest and want to spoil yourself a bit, you couldnt go wrong with sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. Your review will most definitely encourage us to continue to strive for superior customer services . We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here at the weekend with 15 other guys. Yes, it was carnage but we had a nice place to go back to and get our heads down...not that we slept much!

The location of this hotel is great. 25-30 minute cab ride from Budapest Airport and located right next to the very picturesque Chain Bridge and within walking distance of lots of bars and clubs. There is even a McDonald's fairly close by...but I ended up getting a cab when I was in need of dirty, filthy grub!!!

The bar inside the hotel 'Paris Budapest' is classy with classy ladies who populate the place...unlike the ones that hover outside asking for all sorts. Avoid the girls outside like the plague. Trust me. A couple of the guys I was with were stitched up.

The beer in the hotel is lovely (served in wonky glasses where you have to question how drunk you are at times!!! The hotel staff are great and the rooms were nice too.

There is a great little bar near the hotel if you ever want to watch the football. Turn left out of the main exit, left again down the main road and a few hundred yards up, it is on the left hand side. I think it was an Irish Bar and it definitely served a nice pint of Guinness! The staff in there were brilliant and they did a fantastic goulash soup.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out on to the Danube and not the busy road of the other side over looking a 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and bar services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at end of April at the Sofitel Budapest where I travel often. This was the first time I booked Sofitel. Was very disappointed with the entire stay: reception area and elevators smell rotten food at all times of the day and night (this seems to come from the "open" restaurant area that overlooks the reception area. Service was not smiley (the staff must have had bad days). The room (executive on 7th floor) was smelly, small, the "river view" was in fact a view of the opposite Intercontinental hotel + the Danube. At least I saw the Intercontinental rooms from the room and will consider staying there next time I'm in town (in 2 weeks). Bed was uncomfortable - Sofitel publicizes its "soft" mattress which I ended up taking out of the bed and slept better. Bathroom was small and not functional. Rug was worn down and dirty. Room was dusty (around bulbs too). For the over EUR 250/night spent, I suggest you look elsewhere: Intercontinental next door, Marriott etc. The only positive thing was area and the reception area which is impressive with the model of a plane hanging from above - everything else is thumbs down. So my advice is: book somewhere else and spare yourself a bad experience. In case the Sofitel management reads this: take a close look at how clean/dirty the rooms are. This is not the way Sofitel will retain its customers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations ; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#12 Business Hotel in Budapest
#15 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.