We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and 5* Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #19 of 330 hotels in Budapest
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location and 5* Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had Danube view room (highly recommended especially watching the snow come down!) which was clean, spacious and a great alcove area for sitting and watching the Danube. The room was a little dated in decor but perfectly adequate.

The staff and general service was excellent and the location great for both Buda and Pest.

The breakfast was substantial and the freshly prepared omelettes a great addition. Service was prompt and we were never hurried.

In summary, great location, 4*+ rooms and 5* service.

Room Tip: Get a Danube view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you were fond of our services as well as our location. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,681
    653
    112
    27
    17
See reviews for
315
1251
133
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

During an evening chatting with some close friends, we all realised that none of us had ever been to Budapest, so an extended weekend away was planned. As our first choice hotel was undergoing renovations during the dates we planned to stay, we switched to the Sofitel close by the Chain Bridge, a decision that was not regretted in the least.

The Sofitel is a new building. Bedrooms are clustered around a central atrium that extends from the ground floor to the ceiling, from where a replica Bleriot-style monoplane hangs. The ground floor comprises the entrance lobby, bar and restaurant. The next floor is a mezzanine where breakfast is served, and above this are the bedrooms. Most rooms, but sadly not ours, have a view of the Danube and the Chain Bridge.

We had arrived early for our check-in, helped by a strong tail-wind in the flight that reduced the flight time by 25 minutes and by a taxi journey where we were driven by a close cousin of Nigel Mansell. Indeed, there are some Formula 1 drivers that could learn a lesson or two in overtaking from Budapest’s taxi drivers!

Because of or early arrival, our rooms were not ready, so we left our cases with the concierge and retired to the bar for a light lunch. Eventually, our rooms were ready, and we hoped that the view from the seventh floor would be amazing. Unfortunately, we had the rooms at the back of the hotel, so we were denied the river views.

The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, and almost all spoke good English. Particular praise must go both to the lady who arranged our tickets for the ballet on Sunday night: after an initial misunderstanding when only two tickets were obtained, we need an extra two tickets so that we could all go - I have no doubts that not a few favours were needed to sort this out - and to the truly delightful young waitress in the bar who put up with our questions with grace and extremely good humour.

Our rooms were as you would expect from a major international chain of hotels. The bed was very comfortable, topped with a thick feather mattress topper, and the pillows soft and fluffy. Two pairs of slippers were provided, but only a single dressing gown. The bathroom was spotless, and there was a goodly array of toiletries, but only a single tube of shower/bath gel, hardly enough for two people. We did eventually find a free electricity outlet, but given the modern day traveller’s reliance of mobile phone, iPad, laptop, MP3 player, etc., the lack of easily accessible electricity outlets was a nuisance. The TV menu was awkward to negotiate, and then there was the usual token gesture to UK visitors with BBC World News, several menu pages after the selection of other channels that did more than hint at the hotel chain’s ownership. Included in the room were complimentary bottles of water, and tea and coffee-making facilities. There was no English tea, although I’m sure this could have been remedied by a simple phone call.

We enjoyed two light lunches from the bar menu at the hotel, and personally I would have preferred to have seen more nationally-inspired dishes other than goulash soup; the other choices were commonplace. Nevertheless, the goulash soup was quite good, accompanied by a selection of bread rolls. Breakfast in comparison was simply amazing in the variety of options: cold meats and cheeses, smoked salmon, pastries, toast, a hot buffet with a choice of sausages, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans, scrambled egg. Other egg options, including a very substantial omelette, were cooked to order. There were cereals and yogurts, fresh fruits and compotes, fresh fruit juice and champagne. Truly, a veritable breakfast feast.
There was a very conspicuous security presence during out entire stay at the Sofitel. If this was in response to the Romanian football team’s staying there at the same time as we were it is impossible to say. Inside the hotel security staff could be seen almost having stepped, it seemed, straight out of the pages of a James Bond novel. Outside the hotel, disconcertingly youthful armed police stood in small groups, puffing on the occasional cigarette. It is difficult to say if we were alarmed or re-assured by this very visible security.

The Sofitel is typical of a modern international hotel providing facilities for guests of all nationalities. It lacks the ambience, the character, of older local hotels, but it still catered well to our own needs during our short stay. Should I have the opportunity to return to the beautiful city of Budapest, the Sofitel will be high on the list of choices of places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view - not all rooms have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. It is always nice to hear feedback from guests who have stayed in our hotel, as this could help us to provide the best customer experience. Your review has been very much appreciated and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge hotel in August 2012. This hotel is absolutely THE BEST HOTEL I have ever stayed in! The hotel itself is modern, spotlessly clean and in a fantastic, central location, overlooking the Danube River and the famous Chain Bridge. Ask for a river view room - it's definitely worth it! You will see the beautiful Buda Castle and Chain Bridge lit up in the most spectacular fashion every evening. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room itself had high quality furnishings and fittings, with beautiful L'Occitane toiletries in the bathroom every day. There is a heated pool, which I used every morning; and also a gym and sauna. I cannot praise the staff highly enough at the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, and every staff member was a pleasure to deal with. My special thanks to the wonderful Dorothea, who made me feel so welcome and was a wonderful help to me throughout my stay. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, with everything from cereals; a huge variety of breads, cheeses, cold meats and yoghurts; freshly prepared omelettes; bread and butter pudding (to die for!); and anything else you could possibly want. My only complaint was the amount of weight I put on during my stay!! The hotel is located within a few minute's walk of the famous Vaci Utca pedestrian shopping mall. There is a tram stop located across the road from the hotel; and a bus stop a couple of minutes' walk away. I would highly recommend the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to anyone wanting a truly memorable stay in beautiful Budapest. I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, so you can see Buda Castle and Chain Bridge lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear guest,

The review that you have posted on our tripadvisor page will most certainly help our hotel staff to further improve their quality services to all guests in our hotel.

Thank you very much for giving us such a title, this has put a smile on all of our team's faces.

I wish you all the best and truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Budapest again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnersh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Nice hotel with an excellent location, room with a view over looking Chain Bridge and the Danube!
Rooms could do with a make over, but very comfortable.
Staff were pleasant and nothing was to much for them, I asked for extra milk and got twelve cartons!
After a busy day sight seeing the spa in the hotel was a must, toiletries 10/10.
Would go back again.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our quality services throughout your stay. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

As a seasoned traveller this is by far one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. The only thing going for this hotel is the location. However we ate in the bar the night we arrived and were subjected to watching the local vice trade in action right outside the window.

The lobby has been revamped however the rooms are in dire need of decoration and most outdated. The carpet was filthy in my room power sockets falling out of the wall, not what you would expect of a hotel with the slogan luxury hotels.

The staff are rude and incompetent and breakfast was a disaster every morning. Simple things like getting a tea or coffee was something I had to get up and ask staff for!

Staying at this hotel ruined my holiday and put me in a bad mood everyday after breakfast.

This hotel is worth no more than £40 a night.

I would recommend the intercontintal, meridian, or kempinski hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations regarding the room facilities, the breakfast restaurant.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was in a Danube view room in third floor and it had a really nice view of Danube, Castle Hill & Chain Bridge. In the television I saw a large film and music library and I wanted to see a little of any movie so I entered our room number without reading the text so we gave 15000 HUF more for TWO MUSIC ALBUM and TWO movies. The Paris Budapest cafe restaurant is just like a bar and finding a food in its menu is really hard so it is better that you find a restaurant outside the hotel, the food quality is good though. The hotel is near to most monuments so you can walk to everywhere.

Room Tip: Choose a Danube view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and the music services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Yes this is a Sofitel so you shouldn't expect a quaint or character-filled hotel however as far as a corporate-style hotel goes this is very good. The location is great near Chain Bridge and the views from our room across the Danube to the bridge and the palace were amazing.

Not great value for money but not extremely over-priced either. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you book / ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your such a nice review of our hotel. Your remarks of the location and style of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge was very delightful and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#8 Family Hotel in Budapest
#9 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Escapio, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.