We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on a top location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #17 of 331 hotels in Budapest
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great Hotel on a top location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel has a very good price performance. Location on the side of the Donau river. Rooms with Donau view are great but also other rooms are very nice.
The rooms are nicely decorated and modern. Beds are very comfortable. Staff is very professional and friendly and try to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast is super

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your time to post such a positive review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge!
I was extremely pleased to hear that your feedback of our services were so positive, and has exceeded your expectations.
I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,649
    643
    109
    26
    17
See reviews for
300
1230
129
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A short review given that I went almost a year ago and can't remember the finer details but what has stuck with me is the following: as a person who values the cleanliness and service of a hotel, Sofitel did not put a foot wrong. Fantastic prices and fantastic breakfast too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Budapest. We choose the Sofitel beacuse of its central location and wow it was in walking distance of everything and if not walking then the underground was a 1 min walk to take you to those places that were further away.
The hotel is amazing 5 stars at its best. Breakfast WOW everything you could ever imagine to eat was there for your choosing.
I believe the staff at this hotel makes it what it is I think it should be the staff that get the 5 stars as without them a hotel is just a box. So big congrats to you all.
The hotel standard rooms where a little boring, old fashioned and didn't match up to the rest of the hotel which was very contemporary.
A big shout out to Xenia on the concierge desk Thank you so much for the champagne you gave us for my friends birthday we enjoyed it after a very busy day in Buda.
We ate in the Paris Restaurant and our meal was lovely.
On a whole we love the city we love the hotel and we will be back !!!
Thank you all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very delighted to read that you had an excellent stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with our well-trained staff, the service and the level of hospitality.
We are also very happy about the fact, that you were satisfied with the professional service of our colleague Xénia at the Concierge Department. Our Concierges are working very hard to make our guests feel welcomed and return home with unforgettable memories of Budapest and of our hotel – I am glad we succeeded in giving you ’the little touches’ in service, that made your stay memorable.
Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.
Many thanks again for your time and we do hope to welcome you back at our property soon!

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We couldn't find fault with the hotel, location or any of the facilities, services, staff and food. All of the staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and we were made to feel very welcome during our stay. The hotel was absolutely spotless and everything was beautifully presented.

Everything was excellent from the moment we arrived until the time of departure.

Highly recommended to anyone visiting Budapest and we would certainly stay with the Sofitel group again in Budapest or any other city break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our Ambassador staff exceeded your expectations. They work very hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a good modern hotel with great views of the Danube an Chain Bridge (if you have a river view room). We were on the 4th floor about mid way along and the views, particularly at night, were stunnning.
Staff are freindly and efficient.
Great pool and the breakfasts are amazing.
I have marked down sleep quality slightly because our room was too warm. I was told by reception that the ability to use the aircon to cool the room in the winter is turned off - heating only. This is something they need to address, however, that said I would still recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you liked the modern design of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge along with our view of the Danube river. It was nice to hear that our staff has exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for sharing your comments of our room heating, it is very important that this information is shared in order for us to take action to improve our facility. It was our pleasure to have welcomed you in Budapest and we hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked the Sofitel as part of a package. The best part was that my daughter and I were close to shopping and yet were able to walk to the Castle District. We were very happy with the location on the Pest side of the Chain Bridge. Lots of services nearby. The concierge booked hair appts for us. The breakfast included in the package was outstanding. Beautiful setting and a wide variety of local and continental foods.The beds were comfy, the view to the city side was striking, room service good, bar good. The hotel also offers a car service which we used often. Beware of taxis in this city it is easy to get ripped off. We will most likely return to the Sofitel for our next visit to Budapest.

Room Tip: View of the Szechenyi Chain Bridge cost around $50 more. Budapest is so enchanting and beautiful ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that due our location you enjoyed your stay with your daughter.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge on your next shopping tour.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very modern hotel, surrounded by history. Everything about this hotel is comfortable. The rooms are quiet, large, comfortable, and seem to be newly remodeled. The entire center of the hotel is open to roof, which has a plane hanging from the top. The breakfast buffet is vast! However, all the nice things I can say about this hotel pales in comparison to the view. We had a room on the 5th floor over looking the Danube, Chain Brain an castle. Unbelievable! The rooms have huge bay windows that you just want to sit by and look out. Which we did. In the evening, we turned out the room lights and just enjoyed the view. Honestly, it was one of the loveliest views of any hotel we have ever stayed in. There is another luxury hotel next door, but the windows aren't as large, and the Sofitel is newer. In Budapest, take the history tours, but stay in the Sofitel.

Room Tip: Pay for the room with a view of the Danube, the 5th foor is great. Higher floors might even be bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the stunning view from your room exceeded your expectations. It is truly something special, especially at night, when it is illuminated.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#8 Family Hotel in Budapest
#9 Business Hotel in Budapest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.