We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great quality & value - minor quibble that service is 4* not 5*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great quality & value - minor quibble that service is 4* not 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I enjoyed a long weekend here on my first trip to Budapest, which is a very walkable city, and found the location perfect. Easy to find, at the junction of perhaps the three main areas a tourist would visit: Andrassy Way, Vaci Utca and Chain Bridge, as well as a host of shops, restaurants etc.

The decor is spacious, modern and clean, and as a Platinum Accor member I got upgraded to a junior suite and paid just £70 per night, so on value it couldn't score higher!

Not sure what a standard room is like, but the junior suite has dining table/desk, sofa & chair in living area with tv, plus bedroom area with another tv, Bose amp & sub-woofer as well (Kudos to Sofitel, hope my neighbours didn't mind), Nespresso coffee maker (need more capsules though!), Hermes toiletries, nice little touches like shoe bag, suit carries, umbrella etc. all provided. The safe includes power adapter (albeit a little fiddly) so you can safely charge your laptop or phone while out of the room.

There's a great breakfast buffet, continental or cooked breakfast, pancakes, bucks fizz, even Christmas chocolate cake. Couldn't fault the food, you could easily eat up and skip lunch. Staff did seem a little eager to start clearing just before the end of breakfast service, which is understandable but seems more 4* than 5*.

The Paris Bucharest restaurant also has a simple stylish menu with great quality, good drinks selection and a fantastic view of the Danube, Chain Bridge, etc.. Staff were friendly but perhaps just a little more proactivity in taking orders etc. would be good - when enjoying a welcome drink after arriving I had to wait several minutes while a number of staff noticed me before one came over to take my order.

Spa/gym is nice and modern, top of the range gym equipment but only one treadmill could be frustrating when the hotel is busy.

Check-out was a bit frustrating, I had a late (4pm) checkout (initially quoted €50 until I pointed out my Platinum status) but when going back to my room my key didn't work. The person who answered the house phone refused to send someone to open it (saying, bizarrely, that is "not possible") and when I got another key from reception, it still didn't work. Lo and behold, house phone now DID find it possible to send someone up, and eventually I could check out after queueing up again (why no priority desk for Platinum guests?). Taxi service to the airport is good with Mercedes saloon car at 7500 HUF fixed price (more than a standard taxi).

It's a great quality hotel, brilliant value and perfect location. But the service didn't make me feel like a valued Platinum member, and if management can work on this - don't keep guests waiting and remember the customer is always right - then it would be a true 5-star hotel.

Room Tip: If you're got Platinum Accor status, email in advance for an upgrade. If you want a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Sofitel Budapest and for taking the time to leave a comment. Your feedback is the most important thing for us, because this is the best way to get closer to the guests needs and we can improve in the future.

On one hand we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed very much almost all of our services, on the other hand we are truly sorry that you felt a bit less important during your check-out.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,258
    857
    170
    44
    26
See reviews for
428
1,692
178
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Sofitel, Budapest hotel is a realy nice hotel,we stayed there for 4 nights, fro, 28-11-2-12 till 02-12-2012. Whatever you expect from a Sofitel-chain hotel and more! It is all about the view, the view from the rooms overlooking the river is fantastic, breathtaking. It isrealy exciting to open the door of your room and look the best places Budapest has to offer you. It is like going out in the town again. The place of the hotel is great, you have your christmas market on vaci utca in 2 min time, you have the metro and bus station right next to you, you have a 24hour deli market beside you...the whole town is on your feet. And ofcousrse the people of the Sofitel are there for you,smiling and ready to help...from the cleaning ladies, to the restaurant, to reception, enerybody is nice to you. Thank you for our lovele stay and i sure will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that view and our location exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for your comment, it is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very nice hotel with excellent location near the River Danube, Chain Bridge and Vörösmarty Ter where the christmas market is held. Also shopping streets like Vaci utca and Andrassy ut, Budapest's Champs-Elysees, were in walking distance.
We stayed two nights in a luxury room in club floor and had an access to the executive lounge. The room was big enough and had beautiful view to the Danube. Extended continental breakfast was included. It was better than full breakfast buffet in many other hotels. They also had many delicious cakes and cheeses in the lounge.
Spa had a large pool but it was kinda shallow. Two saunas were too dry and smelled horrible.
Welcome drink vouchers were given us to use in bar. We ordered champagne and mojito. When it was time to pay the waiter didn't accept our vouchers. He said we only could use them for local beers and wines.
We found the vouchers useless as we could have local beers and wines also in the executive lounge. In all other Sofitels we've stayed we've been able choose any drinks.
In the lounge the staff was talking all the time about champagne although the actual drink that was being offered was local sparkling wine. It gave a little unprofessional image.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for having us chosen as your accommodation and for taking the time to leave a comment. It is always a pleasure for us to receive feedback, because this is the best way to improve our services.

We were especially glad to read that you liked our breakfast service and the location of our hotel. Regarding the other issues you experienced during your stay, at the lounge area and in the bar, we are terribly sorry.

We do hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

You can't go wrong with the location of this hotel. It's within walking distance to all the main attractions, and if there are any a bit too far, your only a couple of minutes walk away from the tourist hop-on, hop-off bus.

If you're hitting Budapest for the first time and arriving at the airport, skip a taxi, a private car, just take the airport shuttle service. (http://www.airportshuttle.hu/en/) no matter how many or few there are of you. Very smoothly run service and nothing like getting dropped off at your hotel at a reasonable price.

Depending on your room number you may get a view of the bridge, or not. Even if you don't the bar on the ground floor will give you one. Of course if you're a lucky member of the Sofitel Club you may get a better view from the top.

The rooms are beginning to show their age just a little bit, but are always kept immaculately clean. As you walk to your room, just beware that this is a "pet friendly" hotel and if you smell something like...what can I say....dog poop, then somebody probably has a dog in one of the rooms. I suspect they keep special rooms for pets and owners, so if you get that smell in your room...don't take your dog on holiday with you :-) We had the smell a few times in our corridor but nothing in our room.

Breakfast buffet is one of the best we've had, and nice wait staff. It was included in the price of the room so do not know cost by itself. The breakfast really sets you up for a day of exploring. If you have a hankering for some second hand smoke, go to the gents loo in the breakfast area. Lets just say it's not non-smoking everywhere.

If you go there in late November the Christmas market will be open a Vorosmarty ter. 2 min walk from the hotel and great way to warm up with "forralt bor", and try some of the local foods. In all honesty better than many of the "Hungarian" restaurants.

Overall very nice, helpful staff in a great location. Thumbs up for this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so very much pleased with the location and the level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a superbly run hotel offering excellent value for money. The staff are super attentive and the quality of the food, furnishings and rooms are very high. I'd recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a luxurious place to stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were very much pleased with our standards and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay. We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Sofitel always has a good reputation, and the Budapest location is no exception. High class, and the clientele is much better than some other 4/5-star places in town that double as party hotels. If you need quiet, this place works. Perfect location, excellen staff. The upgrade was much appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the front desk exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very nice hotel with friendly staff and comfortable accommodations. The location is ideal for exploration to Buda and Pest while being next to restaurants and stores. We had a great view of the River, Chain Bridge and Buda Palace.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,185 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#8 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#41 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.