We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #20 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went with a friend for the weekend to the hotel. I really like the location, by the river where you have an amazing view during the evening. the hotel inside is really huge and beautiful, during the night you have different kind of color in it, like purple or blue. The rooms as quite good, like the ONLY THING is that we had a king size bed, which was that big but for 2 nights it is not too dramatic. And it takes 30 min to get to the hotel from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you especially enjoyed the view and the ambiance of the hotel . We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,887
    727
    132
    34
    21
See reviews for
358
1,421
149
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Sofitel Budapest. Before we arrived I messaged the hotel on their Facebook page asking about Spa treatments as I couldn't see a brochure on the website.

I had a few conversations back and forwards on Facebook and ended up booking my spa treatment. I was talking to a member of staff called Troy. He asked me on Facebook what time we were arriving and he was there to greet us on arrival. He was not behind the checkout desk and walked straight up to me introduced himself, gave me a business card and a map and said if there was anything he could do for us during our stay to let him know. I can only guess he organised to be on shift for our arrival and he must have recognised me from my Facebook profile........but I was extremely extremely impressed by this customer service! We felt very welcome!

The hotel was fantastic and as I say all staff were brilliant with perfect English. We were in room 218 over looking the Danube. The l'occitane bathroom products were also a nice touch. The view was beautiful and was lovely for a romantic break away.

My spa treatment was also fantastic and the therapists were lovely. However if you wanted a 'spa weekend' I wouldn't recommend as there are no relaxation rooms (just beside the pool), there was hair in the changing rooms and the fixtures and fittings were a little cheap (unlike in the luxury rooms which are lovely).....but this is me being picky! The treatment was great and it was lovely to have a treatment in between sight seeing.

All in all a fantastic hotel with even better customer service! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the attitude of our Guest Relation Officer, Troy exceeded your expectations. I am sure that he will be encouraged by your nice words. We all do work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special and your positive feedback is a gift for us.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Quality hotel, outstanding service and a location to die for on the Chain Bridge in Central Budapest. We booked the room via TravelRepublic, 3 nights B&B and Wifi included for just under £200. The hotel is traditionally French and stylish, the staff cannot do enough for you and the free bottles of water offered are a nice touch.

The breakfasts are plentiful and set you up nicely for the day. If returning to Budapest anytime soon I would not have a moments hesitation in staying at the Sofitel once more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge especially the location, the breakfast and our friendly staff. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in November in a luxury room. We asked for a a danube view and room 610 had an amazing view across the to the castle and the bridge. It was a nice room, not huge but comfortable and functional. The l'occitane bathroom products were very nice, maybe some cream would have been a very nice extra. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. Would have liked to be able to vary the temperature a little bit more as the room was on the hot side for me. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, really above and beyond what you'd normally expect, the peach juice was lovely, as was the plums and the hungarian sausages. It is a brilliant location. The concierge service was very helpful and i would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 610 is a luxury room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We were happy that you liked the l'occitane bathroom products, the comfortable MyBed composition and the breakfast at the Terrace Restaurant. It was also nice to hear that our Concierges exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Solid hotel.. Good rooms, service and food. Lobby bar is very slow, they have only 1 card reader and must leave the bar area to process such a transaction so at busy times you need considerable bar presence. Lack of security at side doors allows creatures of the nights to float around, although lift security has card access.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, our services and food.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the lobby bar being slow.

As a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues. Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUDAPEST
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

we stay for 4 night on August
very beatifull hotel
confortable bed , frre swimmingpool and sauna
good and plentifull breackfast

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and Spa facility. We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent one night prior to a river cruise. We had been upgraded to a 2-room suite on the 2nd floor with a wonderful view of the river and bridge. The accommodations were all quite comfortable. We had non-existent service in the hotel bar, but later that same evening had excellent service and food in the hotel restaurant.

The location is perfect for walking tours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Escapio, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.