We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent hotel overlooking the Danube” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Magnificent hotel overlooking the Danube”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Magic. Great room that overlooked the Danube (with its continuous activity), with a view to the Castle.
Have a drink on the terrace and watch the world go by.
Walking distance to most tourist attractions. Excellent restaurant.
Value for money. Trouble free experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    852
    169
    43
    26
See reviews for
426
1,684
178
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Recently we stayed for 3 nights after our Danube cruise ended. We had stayed at this hotel before. We knew about the fabulous view from its deluxe rooms and about the hotel's location near the cruise line docks on the Danube and near the major sites. The hotel did not disappoint on these grounds. Surprisingly, however, the rugs in our room on the 4th floor were stained and worn. This was not the case earlier in our room on the 3rd floor just three months ago. The room's rugs was our first surprise.

Our second surprise came at breakfast. This time we decided not to take advantage of the full breakfast buffet at 29 euros per person because we only wanted plenty of coffee and a roll. We were directed to go down to the hotel cafe where we were told the continental breakfast was being served. This breakfast turned out to be very expensive, as we were charged separately for each coffee refill. We decided that we would have done better to select the buffet where a French coffee press pot full of wonderful coffee is placed on each table. The second morning we tried getting breakfast in a nearby cafe. We found similar prices and inflexible menu. So, the Sofitel buffet breakfast is the best bet in this high tourist area for morning coffee addicts.

The hotel's concierge staff was very helpful in booking a car with driver for us for a day trip outside of the city. The driver was wonderful and his SUV was sufficiently large and comfortable to accommodate our party. Our third surprise came when we got home. I was previously informed that the charge for this car service could added to our room. I double-checked whether this was the case when we arrived back and was told "yes." So, I gave our driver a hearty tip and went upstairs to our room to prepare for dinner. About 15 minutes later, I was called and informed that the charge for the car could not be added to our room, so that I would need to come down to pay cash. I was not amused. I had to get dressed, run to an ATM around the corner to pay the driver who was patiently waiting. Had the hotel told me in advance, I could have arranged for sufficient forints beforehand.

Will I stay at the Soitel again? Probably, but a five star hotel should take note.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you have to select a deluxe room with a view of the Chain Bridge and the Castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

We are pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with our concierge service and our location and the view exceeded your expectations.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do appologize for the inconveniences regarding the missunderstanding with the taxi service.

As a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues. Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, please send an e-mail to h3229-gr@sofitel.com, so we may address it with you directly.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Perfect location, perfect interior, perfect view, excellent buffet, the best beds ever, plane inside a hotel (nice touch), excellent staff... nothing bad to say about it! Would recommend and come back any time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

From arrival to departure a great experiene, nice location, nice interior, nice rooms. Restaurant superb, especially the local win selection and the breakfast is one of the best I have experience in Eastern Europe. And the pricing is reasonable.
Last time I had a room at 6th floor with a view to the Stephan's Cathedral :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Spacious and comfortable rooms, with a nice shower. Everything you need to have a good rest after a business travel. Breakfast follows the same concept, quality and freshness. I also participated in a forum at the hotel and meeting rooms as spacious as well, nice temperature control and sound quality.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Fabulous location and decor throughout. The bed was incrediby comfortable and the rooms very spacious. The breakfast was fine, but not worth the extra 27 euros paid. Can only afford a hotel like this for work, but would jump at opportunity to go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stopped in this hotel for 3 nights. Great location - easy to find and with in walking distance to major sights and attractions. Th people were professional and friendly, the service fantastic. Would definately stop here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,179 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#41 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.