We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect destination – perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge to your Saves list
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #22 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
thessaloniki
1 review
“Perfect destination – perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed at Sofitel for a long weekend not long ago together with my boyfriend. We have very much appreciated the nice room that we have received because it was facing the river. The view from there is absolutely stunning!!! Watching the sun go down over the beautiful panorama of Budapest is just an outstanding experience. The room itself was very clean, appropriate size and they have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The staff was ready to help, always with a kind smile. We also used the swimming pool, sauna and massage treatment which was a great area for relaxation.
All in all, I would definitely come back to Sofitel for my next trip to Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,892
    729
    134
    34
    21
See reviews for
359
1,425
151
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel may be the best location to stay at in Pest! It is very close to the Danube and the pedestrian shopping/dining area. An easy walk to major attractions and transit as well.
The hotel itself was lovely! It was very unique with a beautiful interior and very clean and modern rooms. Honestly, I was a little concerned about noise based on the layout, but I couldn't ever hear the lobby from my room (all room doors are exposed to the lobby and eating areas).
The staff were really kind too. One of the people travelling with us had lost their luggage on their flight and the concierge was extremely helpful with contacting the airline and providing updates. The front desk had a lovely set up and employees that had a lot of knowledge about the area and recommendations.
The breakfast was fine--not the best I've ever had, but it had a great view of either the city or the beautiful lobby, and they had a large selection.
I liked it so much that I'm planning on heading back to Budapest in 2 summers and am planning on the Sofitel once again for this leg of the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick Garrison
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just come back on the 27th Sept 2012.
We got the airport shuttle(8790 Huf for 2 adults return) and was painless, to the Hotel.
When we arrived the receptionist informed us that we had been given a free up-graded from a standard room to a Junior-Suite. This room did not face the river or chain bridge but the side street,(which we were not bothered as you could see all that as soon as you walked outside or from hotel bar).
The room was more than we expected we had a superking bed, which swallowed you up once you got into it, a flat screen TV, Bose surround sound and music system, just off our room a sitting area that was same size as bedroom, with another flat screen Tv, settee, table and chairs, wirless keyboard, it has a Nespresso coffee machine, also a kettle tea coffee, hot chocolate, a fridge bar bottle opener, iron, ironingboard.
The bathroom was huge with a bath,over shower, sink, toilet and seperate shower.
The room also had aircon, and heat.
We also had breakfast and that is worht its weight in gold, super service every breakfast choice you can imagine hot or cold plus eggs fried or an Omelette of your choice fried while you wait or select other breakfast goodies. Would highly recommed this Hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room you can up-grade at a charge, but I would say any room is fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the Sofitel. The location could not be better. And we were lucky to get the Danube View room which meant that the views of the Danube, the Buda side and the castle were breathtaking! The main pedestrian walk is just beside the hotel, which means that you don't need to walk for more than 10 minutes to shop, party, dine or sightsee!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NEW JERSEY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel, great staff and even greater location. Just go for it. We had pleasant stay. Will stay again if we go back to the amazing city of Budapest.
Location is perfect as you can easily avoid busy touristy streets and get lost yet be close to all the attractions.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Five days on business in Budapest, the hotel had just what I needed. Great rooms, awesome breakfast, perfect location for walks in the evening near the river and the best restaurants. The service friendly and impeccable. Thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

great location between dream and BUDA PEST, service quality room quite large and clean with a small lunch excellent too short a great service for a weekend or work ....just crossed the bridge to visit the city and bathroom .....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#13 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Escapio, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.