We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest Duna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest Duna to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest Duna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soroksari ut 12, Budapest 1095, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    108
    81
    21
    8
See reviews for
19
76
41
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel it's a great place to stay. Our room had a great view to Danube and the Statue of Liberty. The only minus was the WiFi , although it's free we couldn't connect to it. The breakfast it's very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Duna, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Budapest Duna and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Zsuzsanna Réger, General Manager Name
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The rooms are very small but have view of Danube across the street and each room is very clean and well-equipped with everything one needs. The breakfasts are outstanding and the hotel staff is exceptionally helpful and always someone at the desk with exceptional English skills. The price is far below what one would expect to pay for such fine service and breakfast/bar dining.

Room Tip: Ask for room with river view and the view is better on higher floors. It is definitely worth the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Duna, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Budapest Duna and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Zsuzsanna Réger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A friend and I stay for 4 nights in early October. We were part of a group so this hotel was chosen for us. It is a little outside of the city center however it is very close to the trams and a metro station. We were able to walk to the Central Market and there were quite a few nice restaurants and bars on Raday Utca. The traffic pattern is a bit crazy in this part of the city but there is a nice system underground that helps you avoid the worst of it. There is also an ATM and a small grocery store across the street. The front desk was very nice, our breakfast was included as part of the group and it had lots of variety. It can get very busy later in the morning. The rooms are small but had everything we needed, the water pressure was good. We had requested a room with a river view but had one on the back of the hotel instead. We were so tired we didn't bother going back down to the front desk. After speaking with some of the people that had a river view I'm glad we didn't get one, they said it was noisy. It was VERY quiet and there weren't any bright lights in our room, we had the window open every night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Duna, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Mercure Budapest Duna. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Zsuzsa Réger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Generally speaking, the hotel is simple, but good. However it is not really in the centre of Budapest, as you can read on the hotel webpage. It is also not really far away, but you need to know that you will be not staying in the centre. You can reach the centre by tram, but reaching the stop also takes few minutes.
But besides that, hotel is ok, it is clean and the service is quite good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Duna, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Mercure Budapest Duna. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards, Zsuzsanna Réger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in this hotel as part of a Cosmos tour group in early October.
We found the room to be a typical small european hotel room. The room was clean and it was on a non-smoking floor. When we checked in the weather was unusually warm for October. After we noticed the air conditioning seemed not to work, we inquired at the front desk and were told that the air conditioning had been turned off and we would need to leave the window open to cool the room. If you are on the front of the hotel, you face about 10 lanes of traffic on a busy highway. Not good at night when you want to sleep. See photo.
The hotel breakfast was fine. I am not sure about price since it was included. We found the TV in our room did not work and we reported this to the front desk. When I checked the TV the next day, it still had not been fixed. There is also wifi in the rooms and a computer in the lobby if you want to check e-mail. We also found the staff at the desk to be helpful in answering questions and giving advice. The hotel is not very close to major attractions but there is a tram stop in front of the hotel. However, to get to the tram stop, you need to cross a busy highway.
If you are part of a tour that uses this hotel, you will probably be OK. If you are traveling on your own, I would seriously look at other options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the highway. Review weather forecasts and ask if the AC is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Duna, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Mercure Budapest Duna. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Zsuzsa Réger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We got to Budapest on september 27th 2012 at 10 am for 4 nights.
We got the room right away, they were so nice and helpful.
The hotel is locataed very close to all atrractions only 6-8 min by tram no' 2 or 2A along the danube. also trams 4+6 are very close to Octagon ter.
Rooms are very clean and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: If you need a room for a couple you should say it before hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BudapestHotelGM, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Duna, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Glad you had a good time at Mercure Budapest Duna! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Zsuzsa Réger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Budapest Duna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Duna

Address: Soroksari ut 12, Budapest 1095, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Budapest Duna 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Budapest Duna is a 3 star hotel, offering 130 comfortable, airconditioned rooms. The hotel is located in the centre of Budapest, on the bank of the Danube, with a picturesque view of the river. The nearby Palace of Art and National Theatre,easy access to international conference venues, shopping district and major sights of Budapest make the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers. Lobby bar, function room, business corner and parking facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Budapest Duna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Duna Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Duna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest Duna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.