We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would never happen to you” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Hotels & Congress Center

Europa Hotels & Congress Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Europa Hotels & Congress Center to your Saves list
Europa Hotels & Congress Center
Harshegyi Street 5-7, Budapest 1021, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It would never happen to you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Just come back from Budapest,great city nice people,booked thru a large uk agency staying at the Europa congress centre.hotel out in the sticks,but the hotel shut down in March 2011.which we were never told about.ask if you have been given this hotel as part of a package.found alternative ourselves.did not stop us from having a good time

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    5
    4
See reviews for
1
3
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

If visiting Budapest for any reason, do not stay at this hotel. It is adjacent to the Europa Congress Centre, but if attending a conference book a hotel in town; there is a very efficient metro + bus service going right to the conference venue from the sanctity of the city centre. It's own 4* rating is totally ridiculous. It is, at a push, 1-2* quality.

Bad: disgusting stained carpets, windows locked shut with screws in the metal work so no fresh air, air-conditioning that produces more heat than cool, cigarette stubs found under mattress, uncomfortable bed, dirty duvets and pillows, no utensils in kitchen, horrendous nauseating green decor, no minibar (no bar in hotel full-stop), no hot drink facilities in room, noisy lift racket even within room, hot stuffy rooms, pointless amount of space for a hotel room, safe didn't work, no shower screen, on the edge of the city limits with no infrastructure nearby (i.e. restaurants and bars, shops), terrible breakfast with cockroaches in restaurant, ludicrously expensive for what you get (posh hotels in town are same price), WiFi barely works, only local TV service, taxis called from hotel are twice as expensive as calling yourself, , . did I mention how disgusting the carpets were? Stained, filthy, and sticky to the feet.

Good: hmm, this is tough. A view of a hill?

Please, please avoid this 'hotel', it really is a nightmare.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

I will never go back. It is an apartments block transformed in a hotel. Old building , old rooms, old elevator. Don't go there.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

If I travel to Budapest,allways I come in this hotel.They have very flexible price,its possible late check out for free,there are very humans and nices recepcionists,particularly Róbert,he is very nice to everyone,and any request quickly perform,not be charged extra money for bath robes,beutiful view from the rooms,free parking,so we love it here!We like very much hotel staff!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Where to start with this dreadful, overpriced, badly located hotel? Worst ever since I was a back packer 15 years ago.

(one over-riding reason not to stay here is that you will pay a FORTUNE in cabs if you want to go anywhere. The hotel cab driver charges you 25-30 Euros and more to get into town, which is miles away but this is still a total rip off. Some cabs will take you for less, but 80% of Budapest cabs have dodgy meters, so charge you an absolute fortune to get anywhere in the city. Much cheaper to hire a car, or buy one if you are here for a week :)

When I checked in they put me in the other hotel across the 'bridge' they have, the hotel reka or something like that. The room in there was like the one Jody Foster and De Niro are in at the end of 'Taxi Driver'.

It was disgusting. When I sat on the bed a piece of metal came through the mattress and almost cut my leg. You couldn't tell what was carpet pattern and what was stain. Vile.

I then got moved to the hotel I had been booked in, and these were the issues:

FIrst, the Europa is barely two star, it's not even close to three star. NO WAY is it 4.

Second, it's filthy

Third, most of the power points in my room didn't work, and none of the side lights worked

Fourth, you can't open the windows and keep them open so you dehydrate in the night with storage heaters

Fifth, the staff could not care less. Clearly they get paid nothing.

Sixth, you can't get any water, and you can't drink the tap stuff. You can only get tiny bottles that are massively over-priced from the 'mini bar' which is an old fridge in the room.

Seventh, the bed was about 4 inches off the floor with the oddest bedclothes that fall off you so you are either boiling under nylon or freezing if you can get the heating temp down to the point where you are not dessicated in the morning. I barely got any sleep.

Eighth, the room was dirty, dusty, and full of the world's cheapest student furniture

In short, the worst hotel I have stayed in, in ten years of business travel.

Stay in the centre, in the design hotel or a major branded one.

Don't go here, unless to watch it being knocked down...We invented the EU to get rid of hotels like this dump. Roll on the bulldozers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

I felt wonderful in Europa Hotel, but I only spent ona night. Wonderful room and vision from 14th flat.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

Well okay it's technically Central Europe...

It was supposed to be a 4 star hotel and it may be in Hungary but it most definitely isn't in most other countries. It's on the outskirts of Budapest and I was staying there for a conference so I didn't have much choice!

Check-in was okay and my room was on the 6th floor facing the front. The views were lovely and my room was huge due to it actually being an apartment. I had a kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom although the kitchen had no crockery etc in it at all apart from 2 wine glasses.

The decor was dated as I expected for the country but it was clean. The bathroom tiles matching the carpet was rather odd though... The towels in bathroom were tiny. One was like a slightly large facecloth and what I presume was the bath towel was not much bigger than a hand towel. I'm a sz10 and the towel didn't quite wrap round me! There was also a hole in the bathroom ceiling where water from upstairs dripped through when the occupant had a shower.

The main problem was the lift. There were actually two but one never worked during my stay (5 nights) and the other kept breaking down. I had to walk up the stairs to my room quite often and I was very glad I was only on the 6th floor. The stairwells were also used as dumping ground for old furniture so it didn't exactly show the hotel off very well.

All in all it's an okay hotel if you are there for a conference as there is no where else to stay (apart from the Riga which is also joined to the conference centre and seemed to be comparable in so many ways). If you are a tourist don't stay here - find somewhere much nearer to town.

  • Liked — It was hosting my conference so I could have a lie in!
  • Disliked — Lifts breaking down, location too far out.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Budapest
#160 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 4,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Europa Centerpoint Budapest
#30 of 176 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,328 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#26 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotels & Congress Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotels & Congress Center

Address: Harshegyi Street 5-7, Budapest 1021, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Europa Hotels & Congress Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotels And Congress Center
Europa Hotels & Congress Hotel Budapest
Europa Hotel Budapest
Europa Hotel Congress Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Hotels & Congress Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.