We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay - nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest Buda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest Buda to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest Buda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Krisztina korut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Okay stay - nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed two nights at this hotel as part of a Christmas Market tour. The beds in this hotel were the least comfortable of all the hotels I stayed in on the tour, and the bathroom was small and difficult to navigate, but I expected that, and wasn't particularly disappointed. The room did have a small teapot which I enjoyed, and the included breakfast buffet was only okay. There were several tour groups staying at the hotel while I was there, and I believe that the staff was having a difficult time keeping the breakfast replenished, causing a small and poor selection. I found what I needed, however, and was able to leave the room satisfied, although it would have been lovely to have had more coffee! The hotel is close to a central train station and there is a small grocery store just behind the hotel for purchasing water and snacks. If I visit Budapest again, I'm not sure this would be my first choice, but overall, a fine stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    412
    193
    60
    27
See reviews for
100
334
87
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the hotel mecure buda recently as it is adjacent to the train station that we were travelling on from.
We stayed in the great value standard room last time but this time upgraded to the executive room with extras like bathrobes and slippers and a rain shower.
My husband loved the rain shower so much we nearly missed out train
The staff in the hotel are second to none especially the young lady who checked us out who was chatty and helpfully.
There are a couple of good restaurants nearby we wanted to try but due to weather went to the Vagon across the road which was good.
I would recommend this hotel for service and value for money

Room Tip: Executive floor,very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Karen M,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our everyday effort. We really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Budapest-Deli station in a very quiet area of town, good local transport also. Modern and quiet high standard Mercure hotel. The menu looked excellent as well!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear ppw-traveller,

Many thanks for the nice words which you posted to TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read your positive remarks regarding your stay in our hotel; we will share them with our team. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location, this hotel is near tram (crossing Buda), metro (connect to deak the main metro station on the Pest side) and train station, arround 6000 HUT taxi fare from the airport.
The crew is great and helpful, the priviledge room are good, the only issue I had was access card failure and a noisy street in front the hotel if you want leave your windows open.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear David V,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Among the advantages of our hotel there is the good location, the helpful staff. Thank you for your remark again and we sincerely hope to see you back in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great value hotel in a good location. Train station within 3min walk. Clean and tidy room with everything needed. However, the room was far too hot and ac unit didn't help. Had to sleep with windows open which then meant noise. Overall good value though and would stay again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear RobLeeDavies,

Many thanks for your positive opinion you have shared about our hotel. We really appreciate hearing from you and reading that you were satisfied with our hotel. Our team would love to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I cannot believe some of the recent poor reviews of this hotel.
We stayed 2 nights as part of a coach tour.
Our room was spotless, with tea/coffee making facility, comfy beds, had a bath as well as a shower (both of which functioned properly), and the whole hotel had a pleasant ambience. Our room was to the side, facing the station, and it was very quiet.
We didn't have dinner there, but the breakfast was good with lots of choices. Only minor complaint was that the 'hot' food was only lukewarm on both mornings.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the city centre, or you can use the nearby metro. It is also very close (walking distance) to the castle district.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear barbarat85,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our everyday effort. We really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I traveled a lot this year and had to sleep in hotels for a few days in different locations and I never seen such a bad hotel.
Only good thing about it is the friendly staff but apart of that there really nothing good to say.
The first room I had, had a bed which broke 2 times during two nights, also the mattresses were at least 10 years old and really saggy.
At least I was able to switch rooms and the bed in the new room was alright, not the best but at least I didn't wake up to back pain every morning.
In the new room the shower / bath combination had the water pressure of a single drop a minute. It took 30 minutes to fill the bath tub to be half full.
Noise was unbearable with open window on both sides of the hotel, to the front the main road wasn't quiet a single minute and to the back you had a ghetto like back alley with constant talking, arguing and shouting. With a closed window it's alright, but then again in the summer you'll need the fresh air.
Coming to the worst part, the breakfast. I didn't book breakfast as 13€ seemed a bit much, but I gave it a try the first morning and was shocked what they offer for this price. There was one kind of ham and one kind of cheese, that was it... some jelly and a bit corn flakes. Pathetic that they want 13€ for that, I suggest if you still book this hotel with this review to book it without breakfast, with 13€ you can buy a nice breakfast in any cafe for the whole week.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Tony G,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Address: Krisztina korut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#90 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest Buda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.