We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mercure budapest buda” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest Buda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest Buda to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest Buda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Krisztina korut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary (District I / Buda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“mercure budapest buda”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

not really kind reception staff.They seemed like they were bored to help you and sometimes ironique!!ask for room with view in the front side because the back side is ungly!The good thing is that it is near the castle so very near!!The other good thing is that you can use the tram number 18 BETTER THAN TO TAKE THE METRO!!very good breakfast !very small rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Vergis,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our location. We consider ourselves to be fortunate as the fundamentals of the hotel are particularly good. One of the main railway stations as well as the nearest metro stop is only 100 meters from the hotel, and if you want to get to the castle district area which is part of the World Heritage Sites you needn't have to walk more than 10 minutes.
Thank you again for taking the time to post all of your thoughts and I do hope we get to cater to your needs again in the future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    487
    227
    71
    29
See reviews for
126
381
100
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The first impression of this hotel is quite ok until you enter the upper floors. The carpet is worn out as well as the room. Especially the linen and the bathroom. Didn' t try any restaurant services except bfast which was ok. Location is slightly aside from a tourists perspective, however the taxis are cheap. There is a perfect bistro called Deryan or something close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor towards the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Jan-Erik L,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback, might it be positive or negative.
I am very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and that you did not feel comfortable in your room. My Housekeeping and Engineering teams work tirelessly to ensure that all of our accommodations exceed our brand standards in terms of cleanliness and conditions. We indeed strive for providing all our guests an exceptional, individual and personalized service.
The historical Castle District is only few steps from the hotel and as the nearest underground station is right behind the hotel we could not be more central. Our hot buffet breakfast is substantial, healthy and shows a wide variety of Hungarian specialities.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Mercure Buda and I really do hope that your overall impression still animates you to return.

Yours sincerely,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed 3 times here over last 2 years and the hotel has always met my expectations. It is either new or redone, it is clean and feels like you are the first to stay in the room. Breakfast menu included local specialties. Professional and friendly staff. Very convenient location with a metro station 200 m away and a nearby supermarket open 7/7. It was easy to extend free parking for our car beyond check in/out hours.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jan M,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff and breakfast. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our everyday effort.
Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I can't remember when I stayed last in such horrible place. Customer service is a foreign concept here, the rooms are basic as you may expect in a 2 star hotel, the place is full of loud tourists like a train station, food is basic... Amenities non existent...in short, horrible place in a beautiful city!!! There are so many nice hotels in Budapest so do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Laetisz,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us.
We are very sorry that Mercure Budapest Buda did not meet your précised expectations, and I investigated all your comments with my team in order to further improve our services.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to show you our best performance.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. Very helpful front desk. We stayed on 3rd. floor on the park side and had a great nightly view of castle hill lit up. We did not have noise from the street that others mentioned. Grocery and Drug stores just behind the hotel.
Bathroom totally redone and very clean. We had a bath tub, which others mentioned they did not have. The room was just fine as far as size, much bigger than we have experienced in either Paris or London. Much cleaner and nicer than many I have stayed at here in the States. It was a fun quick walk up to Castle Hill. I thought the location was fantastic, among the local neighborhoods, a nice green park across the street. This hotel was much cleaner and nicer than many I have stayed at here in the States, and the breakfast buffet was way above any they serve here. The tourist groups had their own separate dining room, so there was no problem getting all the food we wanted, or a table. I thought they had a great typical European breakfast selection, catering to many tastes, lots to eat if you need gluten free, and you don't get that here in the States either. Fill up on Breakfast though, if you go off season like us, it was very hard to find a restaurant in the area that was open. We ended up eating at a place on Castle Hill.

Room Tip: Back of Hotel has views of the subway tracks, etc... which would have made for us, a whole different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear BohemyJo,

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Buda during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the location and hotel overall. It is always good to read that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Mercure Budapest Metropol
Mercure Budapest Metropol
#153 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Budapest Duna
#139 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#77 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Novotel Budapest City
#90 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Address: Krisztina korut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#73 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#90 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest Buda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.