We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Budapest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest Buda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Budapest Buda to your Saves list
Mercure Budapest Buda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Krisztina korut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Mortsel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home in Budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel is very nice, close to Deli Palyaudvar metro station, giving the opportunity to travel all over the city without problems. The restaurant Budavar has a great kitchen, and most important of all, the staff is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear nagyMortsel,

Thank you very much for your feedback, I do appreciate that you took the time to share your comments on the Tripadvisor website. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I hope to see you very soon in our hotel again!

Best regards,
A.Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    412
    192
    60
    27
See reviews for
100
334
87
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is a bit of a concrete block from the outside, but is welcoming and attractive inside. It is well placed for the Castle area - 10 minutes up the steps for the fit! Trams stop within 20 yards of the entrance and take you to the river area and elsewhere. Public transport in Budapest is excellent. The hotel's bedrooms are a good size but our bathroom was very small. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Although on a reasonably busy road, the rooms were quiet and we slept very well. All staff are pleasant and helpful. The bar area is comfortable and pleasant. The restaurant provides a good range of food for breakfast. The dinner menu was interesting - not the usual bland international food you often find in chain hotels. It served Hungarian dishes, which arrived attractively presented. The food was delicious and the service excellent. If you want variety, ring the changes with the excellent Horvath restaurant a couple of hundred yards away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Elisabeth R,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our location. We consider ourselves to be fortunate as the fundamentals of the hotel are particularly good. One of the main railway stations as well as the nearest metro stop is only 100 metres from the hotel, and if you want to get to the castle district area which is part of the World Heritage Sites you needn't have to walk more than 10 minutes. I was pleased to see you generally enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to provide a totally satisfying experience to each and every person who visits our property. Thank you again for taking the time to post all of your thoughts and I do hope we get to cater to your needs again in the future.

Bet regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had very pleasant 3 night stay in this hotel. Reception staff all very polite and helpful. Room was very comfortable, with two easy chairs and curved table, ideal for sitting up to to eat/drink or watch tv. Bed/shower, etc. all good. Quiet room, overlooking station. Apparently, rooms overlooking the front have noise from the trams which start up at 4am. Found good supermarket at back of hotel, actually uilt under the platform of the station! Only disappointment was that the pay tv system was out of action. Returned to hotel in time for our transfer in the evening on the day of our departure and decided to sit and have a drink at the bar. Could not believe that a shot of brandy was £30!! Checked with barmaid... yes, that's right, but she recommended Hungarian brandy at 4 euros which was good. We were amazed at the efficiency of the lifts.... never had to wait hardly at all for one to our room on 8th floor.Breakfast buffet was good. Mini smoked sausages, scrambed or boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals every day plus the usual continental meat/cheeses and staff very efficient. Strange addition was rice pudding, semolina and then porridge on separate days. Good selection of bread/rolls and decent coffee from machine or filter jug. All in all, a good stay.

As for location..... good for visiting the Castle area but huge amount of steps! When walking back from Pest side one night we trudged up the steps and down again, only to realise on our last day that you could actually walk through the tunnel. Previously thought it was for traffic only!

We bought a Hop on, Hop Off bus tour ticket which is valid for two days and includes a boat trip of one hour. Definitely worth doing to see most of the city in two days. On our third day we walked to see other sights we had missed. St Margaret's Island is a very pretty park area to stroll through on a nice sunny day. Cycles can be hired too.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking back of hotel (station) as we were told that trams in the front can be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Macklin,

It is always extremely pleasing to see when international guests enjoy their time in Budapest. I thank you for your most positive review of our hotel and was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I greatly appreciate your comment regarding location, high standars of service and reasonable prices. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team!

I thank you for choosing Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda for your needs and more importanly for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I'm Hungarian living in London and visiting Budapest couple of times per year.I like to stay in my place, altough my friends keep offering to stay with them, bless them.
What I prefer most is proper night sleep with good service but still easy access to what the city can offer and of course for a reasonable price. This hotel offers all, so far I stayed with them 4 times and I intend to continue going back. It's not very romantic but very practical place to stay.

Little gem in the area: check out the nearby Deryne bistro, won't be disappointed.
My only gripe is that their breakfast finishes at 9:30 weekdays, which is a tad early for me on holiday...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Pal K,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again as frequenter at Mercure.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

very nice breakfast, rooms are also ok.
it is not the center of Budapest, but in 5-10 min by foot, you are there.
staff was very polite, but unfortunately I cant say that for hungarian people in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Lana L,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our location. We consider ourselves to be fortunate as the fundamentals of the hotel are particularly good. One of the main railway stations as well as the nearest metro stop is only 100 metres from the hotel, and if you want to get to the castle district area which is part of the World Heritage Sites you needn't have to walk more than 10 minutes. I was pleased to see you generally enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to provide a totally satisfying experience to each and every person who visits our property. Thank you again for taking the time to post all of your thoughts and I do hope we get to cater to your needs again in the future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bijeljina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there from 31.12.2011 to 02.01.2012. so it's very short time to get some wide impressions. First location of the hotel is ok, it's not in the center but you have some 5 min by taxi from Roosevelt square , just over the bridge. Hotel is very bog, lobby area nice and warm, clean also. Rooms are fine, nothing special but good for the price we payed. We stayed on bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast is ok, but could be better for such kind of hotel. Restaurant food is ok. So all in all for two days it was ok, only remark goes to fact that they didn't had hot water in bathrooms till 8 pm at 31.12.2011. Explanation- to much guest are showering at moment. Please! You must count on such kind of things , especially if it's New Year's Eve. That's not excuse. The best about Budapest if you go it's town for it self. And it's beautiful...

Room Tip: No tips, rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Brankica M,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda. I am sorry that your experience did not meet fully your expectations and the "shower-case" caused discomfort for you.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is up to the Mercure standard. Free wifi is a bonus. Breakfast was adequate. The only complaint I have is that a small bottle of complimentary water was provided with the first night but no additional bottled water was provided for the other two nights. Recommended for business travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear highlandhiker,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay and your suggestion regarding complimentary water.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Mercure.

Best regards,

A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Address: Krisztina korut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#90 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Budapest Buda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.