We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly staff really put a damper on this hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added art'otel budapest to your Saves list
art'otel budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bem Rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 30%
Ranked #43 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“unfriendly staff really put a damper on this hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel was in a good location with beautiful view of danube but otherwise quite disappointing. We had reserved a suite with danube view. After arriving in a blizard late at night, we were given the keys to our suite. No one helped us with our luggage. There was a myriad of stairs (no elevator) and we ended up in the suite which looked like an old drab soviet style apt. We lugged all the luggage back and asked for either a suite in the main hotel or 2 rooms. We were told the hotel was full. We had made our reservations through amex about 6mo earlier....after putting up a big fuss we finally got a better room. It was not a suite but did have a good view and 2 big beds for our family of 4. They still insisted on charging us the same rate and gave NO apologies. During our entire stay we found the staff to be unfriendly and not at all helpful. We were also surprised the breakfast was an additional 15 euro pp. Would not stay here again...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A G, General Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear kpitt,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the art'otel budapest we apologise for the concerns you had about your experience at our hotel.
I would like to inform you that your remarks had been investigated and discussed with the respective colleagues.
I was extremely sorry to learn from your feedback that the firstly allocated art suite was below your expectations. Unfortunately your reservation did not include any special request for the Danube view suit, therefore we have allocated for you our biggest art suite ( 86 m2 ) and the only one which is really convenient for 4 person. The art suites facing to the river (46 m2) do not offer enough space to accommodate more than 3 person. I would also like to mention that all the art suites are in the same price category not depending on the location or view.
As all the river view art suites were occupied that night we were pleased to offer you as an alternative a superior river view room on the top floor with two double beds suitable for families with 30,-EUR/day discount compared to an art suite. I was pleased to read that this room met your expectations and that you liked the view from the room.

Regarding the breakfast please allow me to inform you that it is optional to purchase breakfast(14,-EUR) with your room upon making your reservation, giving this way the flexibility to our guests to decide whether they prefer to have breakfast within the hotel.

I would also like to mention that our hotel normally only receives very positive comments regarding our staff, the hotel and its facilities so i was a bit surprised that you had such a negative experience. I would like to emphasize that this is definitely not the service we are operating on as you can see on all the positive statements posted here and I really hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Once again I would like to apologise for the concerns you had about your stay with us and I really hope that we can welcome you in art'otel budapest again whenever your travel brings back to the area.

Sincerely,
A Gabor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    521
    106
    26
    14
See reviews for
126
578
54
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is across from Parliament and an easy stroll to the Chain Bridge and other locations. If you prefer a view of Old Town above the hotel request a high floor. the rooms along the river side offer spectacular views both during the day and at night. Either way, you will enjoy lovely views of the city.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Even though I traveled with a small roll-aboard case they offered to take it to my room. the room was somewhat small but immaculately clean and modern as was the bath area. The entire hotel is ultramodern in design. the one criticism is the heat is centrally controlled, so my room was too warm for comfortable sleep. I overheard other guests complaining about this, but apparently there is no way to control room other than open a window.

The dining room is on the Danube side and offers a beautiful view of Parliament at night. the food was very well presented and good quality. there are several Hungarian dishes offered and denoted by a small Hungarian flag next to the item. Breakfast is served in separate room and has a good selection of foods.

There are multiple small restaurants within a short walking distance for a variety. Overall, if you are looking for a reasonably priced, very modern hotel in an ideal location I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We purchased a 3 night package: breakfast buffet, wifi, and late check out (2pm) included. Found out wifi (basic as they call it) is included for all guests. Weekend nights are cheaper than weekdays. The hotel is modern and fun. it's on the Buda side across from Parliament which affords the rooms fantastic views of the Pest side. At first I was concerned about the location, but it was easy to get to: it's near Bethany Ter which is 2 stops from Deak Ter on the M2. Bethany Ter is also the HEV train station if you are going out to Aquincum or the like. From Bethany Ter, you can either walk down to the hotel (about 7-10 min) or take trams 19 or 41 1 stop. the hotel is across from that stop. To go up to Castle Hill, you can either walk out the hotel, make a right, make a right again onto the first street crossing and walk up Potony (steep street followed by many many stairs) to Fisherman's Bastion. Or you can grab the 41 or 19 and take them 1 more stop to the Chain Bridge where you can ride the funicular to the top of the hill. To get to Pest, just walk up to Bethany Ter and take the M2 (or take the tram up 1 stop). So location expedially for Buda is awesome.

There are 2 good restaurants nearby: Hunyadi Etterem (go for dinner on your walk down from the hill) and Carne di Hall (beside the hotel in a cellar).

The rooms are large and modern. We had a Danube view. The bathrooms are small (Euro size as I call it) but have everything you need. The room had a tub/ shower combo. The window was ceiling/ floor and you could open a "door" to it, but balcony railing crosses the whole window. My 8 year old and I enjoyed the room. The television only had English news channels if that matters to you.

The Internet connection was pitiful. it constantly dropped and would not load any apps--none of my banking apps not facebook would load. I bring this up because I wasn't trying to stream video--just check my account balance. Even email struggled to load fast. There's a message that you can buy faster speeds "business Internet" but that really was annoying. Even my cheapest hostels have had decent if not great connectivity and this nice hotel had the worst Internet of my 3 week trip. This would keep me from returning unless they changed it.

Finally, breakfast was large and varied. Good offering, but we had an incident. We were literally sitting at a table putting our plates down when 2 German men sat at our table (table had 4 chairs). They asked if they could. i said NO. There were tons of other tables. They did anyways. We moved and then I we t and got the guy managing the breakfast area. He winced a lot, said sorry. I asked him to address the 2 men. He said he would. I watched. He never did, so I went back to him. He said he didn't want to-he looked scared of confronting then. He had no ability to resolve conflicts. A woman walked up who also worked for the hotel. She said she would address it. I watched again-she did not. Luckily, it was our last morning. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester by the Sea, MA,US
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The location on the river is quite magical. We had a room at the back of the hotel and had a terrific view of the Old Town above, particularly nice at night when the buildings are illuminated. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel, food was good, the service was very good and the prices reasonable. The front desk staff were especially friendly and helpful, and impressively multilingual. Our room was fine, and it was our first time staying in a hotel where the art work was clearly unique, and thoughtfully chosen for the guest rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is a great hotel in a perfect location - right on the river front and with stunning views of the city.
Also very convenient - but this hotel is about the people rather than the building.
It has a nice friendly atmosphere and staff are genuinely helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms and those with a view over the Danube are particularly nice and worth a bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were in Budapest just for two nights anyway we enjoyed our journey and we hope to come back...
The hotel was nice, clean, very confortable and staff friendly and helpful .
Close to Metro station to the center. With a beautiful view of the Danubio. What else...nothing!!!

Good stay in Budapest!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Really great hotel with a perfect location for sightseeing by foot, we had a room with a view over the Danube which was wonderful and really great to wake up to. The hotel has a nice modern feel to it with excellent decor throughout our room was a nice size and had a suite feel to it, the chairs and table were great for sitting and just watch the world go by. The staff are so helpful and friendly and gave good advice on the tours available in the city and our room was kept spotless all through our stay. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of items and the staff were very attentive. The air conditioning was a little odd and sometimes when set on low put out warm air and it was difficult to keep the room cool, saying that it may have just been us misunderstanding the controls.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Address: Bem Rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#33 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#33 Family Hotel in Budapest
#37 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage art'otel budapest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.